ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Flint River Ranch Dog Food Review

Updated on August 30, 2013

The market is flooded with all types of dog food: dry kibble, chewy bits, canned dog food, dog food in pouches, organic dog food, premium dog food, all natural dog food, a dog food for allergies…the list goes on and on. And if that doesn’t make choosing a dog food difficult enough, there are many different brands, too. A trip to the pet store or supermarket will provide you with a virtual cornucopia of dog foods. So which ones are really the best? Several make the claim that they’re the one most often recommended by veterinarians or breeders. So how does a concerned dog owner know which is the healthiest dog food to buy?

Lamb and rice dog food

One of the best dog foods on the market is Flint River Ranch dog food. Sometimes this brand is called River Ranch dog food, or simply River dog food. What’s so great about Flint River Ranch dog food? For one thing, it’s made with human-grade ingredients. In other words, this dog food is made of stuff that you would eat! It’s a free-range chicken, lamb and rice dog food. Flint River Ranch dog food contains no by-products, no unhealthy fillers of any kind, no color additives, and no synthetic preservatives. River ranch dog food is an all natural dog food, and there’s also an all natural puppy food available. Most veterinarians will tell you that a natural ingredients dog food is the healthiest dog food.

River Ranch dog food is a corn free dog food

Another great thing about River Ranch dog food is that it’s easily digested. Because it’s baked twice, the ingredients are more easily broken down by your dog’s digestive system. Also, the fact that the particles in River Ranch dog food are small makes them easier to digest. The grains used in River Ranch dog food include rice and whole wheat instead of corn, which many dog foods contain. This is important because corn is very difficult for dogs to digest, so a corn free dog food is much healthier. Plus, this corn free dog food is concentrated. This means your dog eats less to get the proper amount of calories, vitamins, and minerals. Why is this important? Because if your dog eats less, it poops less! Fewer doggie piles for you to have to clean up. This can be a pretty big deal when you have dogs of a giant breed like I do.

If you have a dog with a finicky digestive system, you’ll love this lamb and rice dog food formula. I have two Great Danes who will eat anything, so finding a dog food they like isn’t a problem. The problem is that many Danes are susceptible to bloat and other dangerous digestive conditions, so I have to be careful about what they eat. My harlequin male throws up his food often, but he’s never had any problems with Flint River Ranch dog food. I guess that’s because it’s so gentle to his delicate system. Ironic to think of a Great Dane as delicate, isn’t it? Unfortunately, it’s true! Part of my dog’s problem is that he doesn’t chew – he gulps. Even if the kibble is large, the big boy seems to swallow it whole, so it’s no wonder he throws up a lot. River Ranch dog food solves this problem with their small pieces. Even if the giant pooch barely chews his food, the Flint River dog food kibble is easy to digest, not only because of the ingredients, but also because the small particles mean more surface area.

All natural dog food - natural ingredients dog food

If some owners really knew what was in their dog’s food, they’d be very alarmed. These include potentially dangerous preservatives like BHA, BHT, and other chemicals that have possibly been linked to cancer, organ dysfunction, dental disease, and overall poor health. Dog food is supposed to help improve a dog’s health – not undermine it!

River Ranch dog food doesn’t have these chemical additives because it’s an all natural dog food, a natural ingredients dog food.

About dog food allergies

Just like humans, dogs can have food allergies. Dog food allergies are often due to chemicals added to the foods, and not the foods themselves. Since River Ranch dog food doesn’t use chemical preservatives or other synthetic additives, it largely eliminates the possibility of dog food allergies. River dog food is a great dog food for allergies.

Will your dog like it?

River dog food is highly palatable. In taste tests, it consistently scores in the 90s, while most other brands considered premium dog food usually score only in the 80s. Dog foods are scored on a scale of 1-100 for taste.

Buy dog food online

If you prefer to buy dog food online, you’re in luck. Flint River Ranch dog food can be purchased online and delivered fresh right to your door, with no shipping charges! How great is that? Buy dog food online instead of wrestling with the bags at the grocery store or pet store.

Flint River Ranch dog food comes in several flavor and formulas including those for puppies, adults, and seniors. It comes in 3-lb bags, 10-lb bags, and 20-lb bags. And remember, since it’s concentrated, you’ll feed less River dog food than you would other premium dog food.

Still not convinced? Buy a cheap sample of River Ranch dog food and try it. If you’re not completely satisfied, you’ll get your money back. That’s right! Flint River Ranch offers a 100% satisfaction guarantee.

Grendel loves River Ranch dog food!
Grendel loves River Ranch dog food!

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Gaudys 

      5 years ago

      That was AWESOME! The pictures are so fun and the kids look htalehy and happy. I love the music. I love to hear children praising the Lord but in another language it adds something even more special. Praise God for the work He is doing through you and the Kamaras. The children are blessed.

    • profile image

      Lineth 

      5 years ago

      For dry foods, I would suggest Innova Evo, Wellness Core or Nature's Variety Instincts. They are gnilraess which means they'll have less carbs and don't have any of the allergens found in most other dry foods (corn, wheat or soy).For canned foods, there are tons of good ones out there. One very good one is Nature's Variety Instincts. This is what I feed. It's $1.79 per can. I think it's one of the highest priced canned foods out there. Which DOESN'T mean it's the best, but it is very good and it has worked very very well for my problem child.See the What to feed link for other suggestions. This is a very handy link you can go to the sites and use the store locators to find where the food is sold in your area.I'm also linking you to my blog so you can learn more about identifying other good foods.EDIT: I think kanan meant to say that it's good you're switching to CANNED. LOL

    • profile image

      Teena Ford 

      6 years ago

      Hi this is a fantastic post.

    • elf_cash profile image

      elf_cash 

      8 years ago

      River Ranch dog food is a great product!

    • habee profile imageAUTHOR

      Holle Abee 

      8 years ago from Georgia

      Enelle, I'm honored! Thanks!

    • Enelle Lamb profile image

      Enelle Lamb 

      8 years ago from Canada's 'California'

      Great article! I hope you don't mind, but I have posted a link to your hub on my blog Dog Tails on blogspot.com - if it is alright with you, I will be back to link some of your other hubs (I also have a cat blog lol) as I think my readers would really enjoy them!

    • habee profile imageAUTHOR

      Holle Abee 

      8 years ago from Georgia

      Yep, Maita - River dog food has all the good stuff!

    • prettydarkhorse profile image

      prettydarkhorse 

      8 years ago from US

      very nice review habee and I like the way you explain it, and has chicken, lamb and rice on it LOL< Maita

    • habee profile imageAUTHOR

      Holle Abee 

      8 years ago from Georgia

      Robin, thanks for the info. I've never tried the cat food.

    • habee profile imageAUTHOR

      Holle Abee 

      8 years ago from Georgia

      MPG, I cook sometimes for my big boys, but it's usually just a snack or a little breakfast. They love scrambled eggs!

    • habee profile imageAUTHOR

      Holle Abee 

      8 years ago from Georgia

      Ethel, Grendel will eat anything, but everything doesn't agree with him.

    • habee profile imageAUTHOR

      Holle Abee 

      8 years ago from Georgia

      Audrey, notice that 100 was fleeting!

    • habee profile imageAUTHOR

      Holle Abee 

      8 years ago from Georgia

      Thanks, Sis. It sure helped Grendel!

    • habee profile imageAUTHOR

      Holle Abee 

      8 years ago from Georgia

      Thanks, HH. Always glad to hear from you!

    • habee profile imageAUTHOR

      Holle Abee 

      8 years ago from Georgia

      LOL! Sorry, Ann - I couldn't help myself!

    • RobinLC profile image

      RobinLC 

      8 years ago from Kentucky

      I use to use FRR dog food. My dog Kota loved it. Unfortunately since it had to be shipped I decided to switch when a TCS was built in my area. I still do recommend this brand though! For their cat food I don't recommend it unless they've changed their formula within the last year or so. Their focus is more on the quality of their dog food and their cat food suffered.

    • MPG Narratives profile image

      Marie Giunta 

      8 years ago from Sydney, Australia

      Sassie will eat just about anything but especially loves my home cooked foods, not leftovers I will cook something specially for her with rice, meat and vegetables. Good review Habee but not sure if I can get this brand in Oz, I'll have to try online.

    • ethel smith profile image

      Ethel Smith 

      8 years ago from Kingston-Upon-Hull

      Great image. What an awesome dog. All dogs seem to love rice

    • akirchner profile image

      Audrey Kirchner 

      8 years ago from Washington

      Great job - we have spent months finding the 'right food' for Griffin as he has been like a toxic cloud going off - he had Giardia when we first got him as a pup and his poor stomach parts have not been the same since! He is so totally ticked about the dog on the couch again though....I am going to have to restrict him (further) from watching the computer screen! Great hub - and congrats on being 100!!

    • Angela Blair profile image

      Angela Blair 

      8 years ago from Central Texas

      Thanks for this Hub -- I've got a Cocker with digestive problems and was not familiar with this dog food -- gonna try it! Best, Sis

    • Hello, hello, profile image

      Hello, hello, 

      8 years ago from London, UK

      You have done a good research. Well done.

    • Ann Nonymous profile image

      Ann Nonymous 

      8 years ago from Virginia

      Habee why did you put such a thought into my head? Now every time I go to the local grocery store I will be cruising down the pet isle and browsing through all the endless ‘flavors’ they offer to dogs thinking when I'll be put on the diet and preparing my mind and stomach for such an occasion, diet and lifestyle! Yikes...so not happening!

      I do find it fascinating that dogs and cats have such an abundance of choices though! Can’t wait until my next shopping spree!!! LOL

    • habee profile imageAUTHOR

      Holle Abee 

      8 years ago from Georgia

      Ya know, Chris, I think Grendel is the happiest dog I've ever known. He just seems so happy to be alive! He's a real clown.

    • habee profile imageAUTHOR

      Holle Abee 

      8 years ago from Georgia

      Not so quick, Ann! If the economy gets much worse, we might all be eating doggie chow! lol

    • carolina muscle profile image

      carolina muscle 

      8 years ago from Charlotte, North Carolina

      Well, that's one happy looking doggie!!!

    • Ann Nonymous profile image

      Ann Nonymous 

      8 years ago from Virginia

      If only I still had my dog! And as good as this stuff sounds, and as excellent as you are promoting it, Habee, I am not interested in it for MYSELF...LOL

    • habee profile imageAUTHOR

      Holle Abee 

      8 years ago from Georgia

      Thanks, Veronica! The grandkids have had a blast in the snow!! I hope there's still some around in the morning. It's so pretty, I hate to see it go!

    • Veronica Allen profile image

      Veronica Allen 

      8 years ago from Georgia

      This is a really good review habee. It never occurred to me that dogs could develop allergies as well - it makes a lot of sense though. By the by, I hope you and your family are enjoying the snow. :)

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)