jump to last post 1-4 of 4 discussions (4 posts)

Can you give asperin to kittens about 7 months old for pain

1. profile image45
    mountainfyreposted 7 years ago

Can you give asperin to kittens about 7 months old for pain

2. Chatkath profile image78
    Chatkathposted 7 years ago

I asked my vet this about 6 months ago because my cat (not a kitten) seemed like she was in pain and I was bringing her in for a check up. He said no because cats process medication differently than people, even dogs (since I know many people who have given their dogs aspirin).
    I know this is old and you probably did whatever, but just in case anyone else has same dilemna. Hope your kitty did ok.

3. AnnieThePetNanny profile image59
    AnnieThePetNannyposted 7 years ago

If the cat is two years old or older it is an adult cat. If it's still under two years of age it is still considered a kitten. My suggestion to you (since having worked for vets as a vet tech myself) would try just half of a buffered aspirin. Buffered is a coating like Advil that won't hurt there stomach.

Start with half a pill. If still in pain then give other half. Best waiting period for the other half would be two hours. Not all vets are correct for I have come across a few that were wrong. Many do need to go back to school as a refresher. I'm not putting any of them down I respect the work they do, but there are new breakthrough's with animals and what they can or cannot handle.