How do you scold kittens and cats that works?

Jump to Last Post 1-6 of 6 discussions (13 posts)
  1. misslong123 profile image82
    misslong123posted 9 years ago

How do you scold kittens and cats that works?

We have tried water spray bottles, spanking, yelling, putting her in time out, rewarding good behavior, talking things out with her but she doesn't learn!!! We are out of ideas.

2. tlmcgaa70 profile image60
    tlmcgaa70posted 9 years ago

i have been rescuing cats (and dogs) for some 13 yrs now, and one thing i use to discourage a kitten from doing something i dont want them doing is to either hiss (first warning) or that sound you hear between two cats fixing to fight. sometimes they ignore the hiss...they never ignore the yowly growly sound (sorry but i cannot describe that sound). it is easy to make but hard to describe. from the kittens reactions i would have to say it is telling them something dangerous is affot, and they immediately stop what they are doing, hunker down and look around, then slink run to a place of hiding...which is usually to me. once they have stopped whatever they were doing, i will pick them up and tell them what good little kittens they are and give them lots of comforting affection/snuggles. after several (or many, depending on how stubborn your kitten is) such episodes, they quit doing that unwanted thing totally. if what you wish to discourage is rough play/biting, the best trick is to tell them be gentle, (first warning) NO, be gentle, (second warning)...then put them away from you and walk away r in some other way, just ignore them. as soon as they settle down, you may gently and slowly stroke them and tell them what a good baby they are. mind you, some kitties are very independent and or stubborn and it takes a lot to teach them manners. what works for one may not work for another. but the methods i have here described usually work pretty well for me.

misslong123posted 9 years agoin reply to this