jump to last post 1-4 of 4 discussions (10 posts)

Dumb automotive question

1. IvyCrenshaw profile image60
    IvyCrenshawposted 7 years ago

If gasoline was put into the brake lines on a vehicle, how long would it take before the problem became evident? 

An acquaintance is claiming that this was done to their car when they had the brakes serviced.  They drove the car for more than a week and more than 100 miles after the car was serviced, before they had any problems.  I am really hesitant to believe them, as I think gasoline in the brake lines would cause big problems and turn up quickly, but I am not a mechanic. 

Any thoughts?

1. Norah Casey profile image67
      Norah Caseyposted 7 years agoin reply to this

Well... that sounds absurd. Without knowing if the car has ABS or not, I guessed that it does and did some research.

Brake fluid is basically hydraulic fluid. One of the properties that makes braking systems work is the fact that the fluid is not easily compressible and its density remains fairly consistent despite temperature. As you can imagine, gasoline does not have these properties.

Kinematic viscosity is a measurement of a fluid's internal stickiness while in motion. This is an important aspect that allows brake fluid to function.

The kinematic viscosity of Diethylene glycol, commonly found in brake fluids, is 32.00 and in gasoline, it is 0.88. Not only would the car not stop, I'm not sure that the gasoline would not escape the brake lines almost immediately.

They may have put something wrong in the brake lines, but gasoline is quite a stretch.

1. IvyCrenshaw profile image60
        IvyCrenshawposted 7 years agoin reply to this

Thank you so much Norah.

2. MikeNV profile image72
    MikeNVposted 7 years ago

No mechanic could mistake the two.  It's not possible.  Gasoline is not stored in Brake Fluid Cans.  The smell alone would be an immediate trigger.