ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

How to make money by writing product reviews?

Updated on August 7, 2017

How to become a Product Reviewer


The internet is flooded by information on how to make money online. Most people try to find content writing jobs or survey filling jobs but many aren’t aware of writing product reviews. This is a genuine way of making money online by working in your spare time. Some people have even made a career out of product review writing as today’s marketing and businesses are mostly conducted online. A friend of mine who is an engineer started writing reviews for products in his domain viz, software and electronics some time ago. He is now a renowned product reviewer and is sought after by many firms.

Skills and Knowledge: No specialized qualification is required for a product reviewer. But he/she must possess thorough knowledge of the product he/she is reviewing. In some cases technical knowledge of the domain is required. In other cases, thorough knowledge of the product is required. For example, if you are reviewing food supplements, you should have thorough indepth knowledge of the subject- pros and cons of taking food supplements, content of the product, its quality when compared to its competitors etc. If you don’t have knowledge of a product, you can slowly built by researching the product on the internet and gaining substantial knowledge over a period of time.

Investment: One need not invest or buy anything to become a product review. Many folks wonder if the product reviewer should buy the product first. In reality, if you have good knowledge of the product and the subject domain, it’s more than enough. In some cases, the company itself will provide the products to the reviewer for free. For example, Amazon Vine program offers products to the product reviewer to test and review them.

How to write product review?

A product review should be attractive to the viewer/user and should provide a fair idea of the product. It’s not necessary that reviews should always be positive. Companies will accept negative reviews as well. So it’s not that you will be sidelined if you provide an honest review of a product. In most cases, the company seeking product product reviews are e-commerce stores and the product may be supplied by a vendor. So the company will make sure that the vendor supplies the right product. If they sell a sub-standard product it will be harmful to their reputation. Hence they seek product reviewers.

A product review must enlighten the below:

  1. Pros and cons of a product
  2. If the particular product is suitable for the prospective customer
  3. Quality of the product and its ease of use.
  4. Alternatives in the market
  5. Your final review of the product. Whether it’s a worthy buy or not


How much can one earn?

Well, it all depends on the time and effort you are willing to put in. You may have to work hard in the beginning. But once you establish yourself as a renowned writer/reviewer, then you can make some good money. Many people make over $1000 per month.

There are many ways of generating revenue. One way is to become a reviewer for a particular company and make money through their affiliate program. eBay, Amazon etc offer such programs. Secondly, some companies directly pay product reviewers based on the number of reviews they write each month.


Create your own website or blog

The best method is to create your own website or blog and write product reviews. This way you can bring maximum number of people to your site. Over a period of time, people will identify you as an established reviewer. If a new product is launched, people will flock to your website to find a genuine review of the product.

Some reviewers use blogs and free social networking sites like blogger, Hubpages etc to write product review blogs. Wordpress.com is a better option as it provides more functionality and pages can be custom built. Web traffic is also better with wordpress.

Viewer Poll

Was this hub helpful to you?

See results

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Shizette 

      10 months ago

      Thanks for sharing, I write cooking blogs because I love to cook and share my knowledge, but I would also like people to be able to use the best ingredient for the recipe - and if it can be found on Amazon then that's even easier! I just don't quite know how to get started writing product reviews per say.

    • JvicIndia profile imageAUTHOR

      John 

      15 months ago from India

      You can start with Hubpages to get a feel and experience about product review writing. If you write quality reviews, Hubpages will bring you good traffic. People will share their feedback with you. You can later write on multiple platforms

    • Reginald Thomas profile image

      Reginald Thomas 

      15 months ago from Connecticut

      Nicely done. I never thought about this area and now because off your article I am thinking about writing reviews. Can I do them on Hubpages or is it not worth it?

    • JvicIndia profile imageAUTHOR

      John 

      16 months ago from India

      You are welcome

    • JvicIndia profile imageAUTHOR

      John 

      16 months ago from India

      Thanks for commenting. Reviewing depends on your subject of interest and the knowledge that you have in the subject. For instance, you could review a simple product like a beauty product viz, fairness lotion

    • passionatelearnr profile image

      passionatelearnr 

      16 months ago

      Enjoyed reading it.But you did not mention how to select the right product to review.

      I'd like to start a product review site but which products i should review.

    • ChitrangadaSharan profile image

      Chitrangada Sharan 

      16 months ago from New Delhi, India

      Excellent informative article !

      Your explanation about doing online product reviews and earning money in the process is very helpful and easy to understand.

      I understand that there are many opportunities to earn money online but this seems attractive. Of course one has to develop knowledge and expertise about this but that is true for any job.

      Thanks for sharing this information !

    • JvicIndia profile imageAUTHOR

      John 

      17 months ago from India

      My new hub on online entrepreneurship above- Writing product reviews

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)