ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Making money through Amazon's mTurk ~ A review

Updated on June 30, 2012
My Amazon Mturk dashboard.
My Amazon Mturk dashboard. | Source

Quick note before we begin..

Being a rather thrifty person, I've always been one to try and hunt down online money making places. I've tried surveys, websites with points systems, transcription and a few other things. So far I've found one that I really like and pays out fast. Amazon's Mechanical Turk. At first I was skeptical, not wanting to invest alot of time into something that wasn't going to pay off. However today is my 20th day on Amazon's mturk and I have pulled in just over 60 dollars.

What is Mturk?

From Amazon's mechanical turk website: "Mechanical Turk is a marketplace for work." Businesses, developers and universities post jobs know as HiTs to Amazon's mechanical turk website and workers compete the HiTs for a specified amount of money during a given amount of time.

What are HiTs?

HiTs - Human Intelligence Tasks - are individual tasks that you work on. So they could range from simple data entry, surveys, research studies to just about anything under the sun. They pay anywhere from $.01 to several dollars a hit depending on what's required to fulfill the task.

How do I get started?

It's very simple to get starting making some cash through Amazon's Mturk. Just start off at mturk.com and follow the instructions. There's lots of tips and blogs out there on how to maximize your time and profit through mturk. So sign up, do some light reading and start the dough rolling.

Overall opinion:

I love this site. I usually sit down in the evenings after the kids have gone to bed, click on the tv and start working. I usually work through the commercial breaks and take my time finding good paying hits. I enjoy the fact that I can have the money directly deposited into my bank account OR use it straight on the Amazon website from my payments account. One thing I had a hard time with was, the first 10 days your account is on hold. Your HiTs will get approved during this time, but you will not roll over to paid until the 10 days have elapsed. By the time my account hit the 10 day mark I had $30 sitting there waiting to roll over. Overall I only put about an hour or two a night depending on the quality of HiTs that are available during that day. I give the site a thumbs up and would recommend it to anyone with a bit of free time.



Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • tjdavis profile image

      Teresa Davis 

      6 years ago from Moscow, Texas

      Thanks for the info. I'm always looking for ways to make a little extra money. I will check into this site.

    • LaciKomula profile imageAUTHOR

      LaciKomula 

      6 years ago from Indiana

      Not a problem, good luck!

    • dwachira profile image

      [ Danson Wachira ] 

      6 years ago from Nairobi, Kenya

      This sounds like a good place to check. Thanks.

    • LaciKomula profile imageAUTHOR

      LaciKomula 

      6 years ago from Indiana

      Let me know how it goes! Like I said in the review, it does take 10 days until your payments go from Approved, pending payment to paid. So stick with it!

    • daisydayz profile image

      Chantele Cross-Jones 

      6 years ago from Cardiff

      Oh this sounds interesting, just nipped over and signed up, will take a proper look at it tonight. Thank you for letting us know about this, it will help towards the savings!

    • LaciKomula profile imageAUTHOR

      LaciKomula 

      6 years ago from Indiana

      Good luck! Hopefully you'll stick with it and atleast be able to cash out a few bucks!

    • hscchemistry profile image

      hscchemistry 

      6 years ago from Sydney, Australia

      that doesn't sound too bad! I will try it out myself later :) thanks for that :)

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)