jump to last post 1-1 of 1 discussions (5 posts)

KNOWN ISSUE: minor spacing issue with italic parenthesis

1. Tenerife Islander profile image91
    Tenerife Islanderposted 5 years ago

I don't know if this has happened to other hubbers or how many of you even do this but, as a matter of course, I usually put scientific names in Latin in italics in brackets after the English manes of plants and animals I am writing about. Recently I discovered that in most of my hubs where I had done this there is now an unwanted space after the last letter in the brackets.
    This is really annoying because it means I have to meticulously go though all my hubs that have flora and fauna in them and edit top remove the spaces that I never put there in the first place! It makes me look as if I am a sloppy writer who doesn't check over his work which is not the case!
    If you are a writer that uses this practice of enclosing botanical and zoological names in brackets too I would check your hubs and see if you have the same problem as I do!

1. Matthew Meyer profile image73
      Matthew Meyerposted 5 years ago in reply to this

Do you observe this formatting issue only on existing Hubs or is a space being inserted in new Hubs that contain square brackets?

I wonder if it is a combination of square brackets and italics.

Do you have an example Hub I can look at?

Tenerife Islanderposted 5 years ago in reply to this

It is not with square brackets but with this type: ()
        Yes, the problem is only on already existing hubs but that makes it a big problem because many are about flora and fauna and it means I have to go through correcting them all.  Here is an example I left with the spaces showing: http://tenerifeislander.hubpages.com/hu … water-fish

1. Matthew Meyer profile image73
          Matthew Meyerposted 5 years ago in reply to this

Ah, so it is related to parenthesis () .