jump to last post 1-2 of 2 discussions (7 posts)

Healthylivingbox Content Theft

  1. Writer Fox profile image56
    Writer Foxposted 4 years ago

    The site healthylivingbox.net appears to be offline now.  I hope it's not just temporary.  It was another case of a plagiarist scraping the entire site and the owner is in Turkey (where hardly any English speakers live). This is the second time someone from Turkey has scraped huge numbers of articles from HubPages.  Perhaps it's time to block access from this country since only the scrapers speak English.

    1. profile image0
      calculus-geometryposted 4 years agoin reply to this

      Two points
      (1) Blocking access from certain IPs or a range of IPs doesn't stop scrapers since they can use a proxy to get around an IP ban.
      (2) Many Turks know English as a second language and search the web in English. Seni seviyorum Türkiye!

      1. Writer Fox profile image56
        Writer Foxposted 4 years agoin reply to this

        Hey, I love Turkey, too.  Seriously.  Turkey is the land of one of the greatest ancient kingdoms and will again rise to a high state of leadership in the Middle East.

        Except for the genocide of the Armenians (the Ottoman regime killed 1.5 million Armenians in 1915 and sent many others into exile), it tolerates many religious practices including secularism, has a separation of religion and government, and provides safe harbor and assistance to more than 200,000 refugees fleeing the upheaval in neighboring Syria. 

        But the fact remains that Turkey is the recipient of the highest percentage of webspam violations from Google.  The Turkish government is a signatory to the Berne Convention for the Protection of Literary and Artistic Works and has vowed to uphold international copyright conventions. But the government in Turkey will need to do more to improve its country's reputation in the online community.

        To the matter at hand, if you speak Turkish, can you translate this cache version of the website that plagiarized HP content?
        http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/s … rnek-sayfa

  2. tillsontitan profile image88
    tillsontitanposted 4 years ago

    As long as HP continues to have quality content and we continue to write it, there will be people stealing our work.  Frustrating?  Yes.  Maddening?  Yes...but in a way it is complimentary as well.  We just have to keep on our toes to get any copied content removed.

    1. Writer Fox profile image56
      Writer Foxposted 4 years agoin reply to this

      It's just so completely frustrating.  HP can identify from server logs when an IP address is visiting thousands of pages on the site.  It should be obvious that someone isn't rapidly reading that many Hubs.

      I noticed a Hubber with a 71 author score, seven featured Hubs and over 100K visitors in five months.  Personally, I think that's more than a little suspicious. I would think that HP would monitor suspicious visits since it is paying Hubbers based on CPM and since illegitimate traffic violates its TOS.

      1. LillyGrillzit profile image80
        LillyGrillzitposted 4 years agoin reply to this

        Something is very suspicious. We have a brand new Hubber who has zero attributions other than Internet. All of his content is stolen. His Hubs are in the spotlight. What happened to the filters? We are now required to monitor the site as unpaid administrators, while getting no support for stolen webpages and content. Weary of this...

    2. LillyGrillzit profile image80
      LillyGrillzitposted 4 years agoin reply to this

      http://stupidimage .tk/tillsontitan -on-HubPages
      http://www .juxtapost .com/site/permlink/25d3b4680edc3f48205ce7bf9fca4259/postsites /tillsontitan_hubpages _com/
      http://motivationalwallpaper .org/motivation -tillsontitan -on-hubpages.html
      Sorry to step on your toes tillsontitan - motivation wallpaper recently known as Liverpool wallpaper is making a killing on you and other Hubbers