jump to last post 1-6 of 6 discussions (6 posts)

Do HP earnings actually increase as the number of the hubs and/or followers incr

1. kalinin1158 profile image98
    kalinin1158posted 4 years ago

Do HP earnings actually increase as the number of the hubs and/or followers increase?

I know we're all doing it for the love of writing...ugh...yeah...but did anyone here actually quit their day job because they were making enough money on HP?

2. JamesAng12 profile image90
    JamesAng12posted 4 years ago

Logically speaking, your earnings would increase with your number of published hubs, followers and traffic. The more hubs you have, the more people will read them and the higher the chances of anyone clicking on your ads. But I don't think you can earn enough in HP to surpass your full-time job earnings. At least I've not come across anyone who does so far.

And yeah, I'm a university student, so I write as sort of a part-time job for me to earn some extra pocket money smile

3. chef-de-jour profile image95
    chef-de-jourposted 4 years ago

It's not so much the number of hubs but the quality and the 'market' you're aiming at.

You can for example write a shorter hub on a current 'hot' topic, or one which you'll know will be popular. Let's say the Soccer World Cup in Brazil 2014. You could write pieces for that nearer the time knowing that,once the event has ended, interest in your hubs will too!!
    You can earn some money this way in a short burst of activity. Be prepared for a sudden drop off once the excitement is over!

Write medium term hubs. These will be slightly longer than previous and on different topics that you are confident enough to handle. You may get regular traffic to these but only dribs and drabs.

Evergreen hubs will bring in traffic long term - at least that's the theory! It doesn't always work out like that but if you create 'sustainable' hubs they should bring in cash going forward. Quality is the key.

4. EricDockett profile image100