jump to last post 1-6 of 6 discussions (6 posts)

How can we make online education more effective?

1. Andrea Hildreth profile image57
    Andrea Hildrethposted 6 years ago

How can we make online education more effective?

Effective can mean: engages the student's interest, reduces the number of students who drop-out, achieves the academic goal, encourages further exploration by the student.

2. dansdrumlessons profile image37
    dansdrumlessonsposted 6 years ago

Hi Andrea,
    Thats a really huge question!

I've been teaching people of all ages for just over ten years and i have to say the older ones seem more interested to learn. I honestly believe this generation is becoming kinda lazy with everything just a click away for them i.e. 1,000 TV channels (I remember when there were only three) and computer games seem to be the distraction for most.
    As teachers we can only encourage but once the student(s) are back home they can do whatever they wat to, and practicing an instrument for example seems hard work to them but pressing play on their xbox or ps3 is much easier and far more enjoyable IN THE SHORT TERM.
    Going back a couple of decades and we would look forward to lessons and wanted to achieve more to become a better person but unfortunately it seems we cannot make them learn.
    It is however always nice when a student does shine through and want to do well but they are few and far between.

Thats just my two cents smile

3. lburmaster profile image82
    lburmasterposted 6 years ago

By being organized. I'm a student who loves online classes, when the teacher knows how to teach online that is. Some educators just can't teach online. It is not because they don't know the matterial, it is because they need a class room for their work.