ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Alice (in Wonderland) TV Mini Series (2009) Movie Review

Updated on September 29, 2013

Quick Facts About Alice the TV Miniseries.

Alice the TV mini-series is one that almost passed by me unnoticed when it aired on television in two parts on Sunday, December 6, 2009. A total of four hours of viewing, it premièred in two, two-hour segments.

This Alice movie is a modern interpretation of Lewis Carroll's books and as such, is an unusual look into Alice in Wonderland’s world, starring Caterina Scorsone, Andrew Lee Potts, Matt Frewer, Philip Winchester, Tim Curry and even features Kathy Bates in a guest spot.

The DVD and blu-ray discs were released on March 2, 2010 and are available right now, nicely discounted, ffrom Amazon.

Alice Miniseries Video Trailer

Buy Your Copy of Alice (2009 Miniseries) in Blu-ray or DVD from Amazon

The Story From This Television Version of Alice

This Alice is twenty-one years old. She meets a gentlemen who presents here with his family ring and then is kidnapped. Alice then finds herself facing a stranger known as the White Rabbit who promises to help. Alice enters Wonderland which, in this movie is a highly untypical underground city. Word circulates that Alice is in Wonderland and it turns out that the ring is the one that controls the power of the Queen of Hearts, the looking glass. Why did Jack, the son of the Queen, give Alice the ring? She’s soon to find out.

This movie is not for everyone, and some found it to be a bit lacking in character development and high plot points calling it 'decent.' It features some action sequences, a bit of romance and a good dose of surreality. It is an unusual movie that is definitely bizarre and quite unique. Many viewers found it entertaining and worth owning even after they had watched it on television, with 19 viewers giving it a five-star rating on Amazon even before they have the chance to own the DVD. Right now, it is too soon to review the blu-ray version.

Welcome To A Whole New Wonderland

Have you visited the Wonderland seen in the mini series, Alice?

See results

Does the television miniseries, Alice interest you?

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Yuno~ 

      5 years ago

      I love Hatter x3

    • profile image

      Denise 

      7 years ago

      I just borrowed the movie from the library and saw it last night, I thought it was great! An Alice in Wonderland movie for adults.

    • profile image

      Nomi123 

      8 years ago

      I watched it and found the Concept really fascinating but the acting was a little off, which later made sense when i learned it was a miniseries and not a full length movie (when i hired it from the video store it was still in the 'recent releases' section) the style of filming also makes sense for tv as apposed to film. All in all it was visually stunning and the integration of key characters and plot was fascinating! eg- the caucus race becomes the bidding for the emotions in the style of a stock market pit. or maybe that was just my interpretation...

    • TreasuresByBrenda profile imageAUTHOR

      Treasures By Brenda 

      8 years ago from Canada

      Tea, you've summed it up perfectly.

    • profile image

      tea 

      8 years ago

      I liked it it wasn't too bad. A bit more on the adult side of things but it was all together a pretty good miniseries

    • mulberry1 profile image

      Christine Mulberry 

      8 years ago

      I hadn't heard of this one. It does look like it has some interesting special effects.

    • Janet21 profile image

      Janet21 

      8 years ago from New York

      I also completely missed this movie. It does appear to be a new twist on the original story. Nice hub!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)