ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Gothika: a Confused Reviewer Responds

Updated on July 29, 2013
PDXKaraokeGuy profile image

Justin W. Price, AKA PDXKaraokeGuy, is a freelance writer, blogger, and award-nominated author based out of Juneau, Alaska.

I had high hopes for this film and wanted to see it for years. I love psychological thrillers and, with the impeccable cast, I figured it would be a can't miss thrill ride of chills and thrills.

But, did it live up to my own self imposed hype? Read on to find out...



Gothika, 2003
Gothika, 2003

First the Good:

Great cast. The film stars Halle Berry, Penelope Cruz and Robert Downey Jr. The film is well acted. The direction of Mathieu Kassovitz, who also masterfully told the tragic story in Munich does enough to keep the viewer intersted in the film. Good selection of camera shots, decent editing.



Now the Bad:

A very convoluted plot. The film starts out as a psychological thriller and turns into your basic catch me if you can flick. The basic premise is intersting but way over done (think Shutter Island a half a decade before Shutter Island and with horrible screenwriting. How Sebastian Guttierez of Snakes on a Plane fame continues to get work is beyond me.) and the film relies too much on special effects and cheap scare tactics. The dialogue is trite, cliche, unrealistic, ineffectual, yadda yadda yadda. Even the brilliant talents of Halle Berry and RDJ couldn't keep this dialogue from falling flat on it's face.

The Gist

Like most critics, professional and amateur alike, the film simply isn't very good. That's not to say, however, that it's not entertaining. if you're looking for a film that will entertain you and maybe scare you a little (and I mean a little) then it's worth watching. The film suffers from poor screen writing, but it's very watchable behind Kassovitz's direction and the star power of Berry, RDJ and Cruz. The scares are cheap and the film tries too hard to get in your head. The special affects are overdone but at times effective.

Still, if a movies' purpose is to entertain, then the movie succeeds. I was entertained and don't regret taking an hour and a half out of my life to watch this film. Unlike other Pysho thrillers, including Shutter Island, this film is instantly forgettable and does not warrant repeat viewings, though i do reccommend seeing it if psych thriller/ghost stories are your thing. Prepare to be confused and a little aggravated, but also prepare to enjoy yourself.


5.5 stars/10

My Poetry Collection

Thanks for Reading.

A FREELANCE WRITER, HONORS STUDENT AND GOVER PRIZE FINALIST, JUSTIN W. PRICE (AKA, PDXKARAOKEGUY)IS A POET, SHORT STORY, BIOGRAPHY AND HUMOR WRITER. HIS POETRY COLLECTION, DIGGING TO CHINA, WAS RELEASED FEBRUARY 2ND, 2013 BY SWEATSHOPPE PUBLICATIONS AND IS AVAILABLE ON AMAZON.COM, BARNES AND NOBLE AND THROUGH YOUR LOCAL BOOKSELLER.

HIS WORK WILL ALSO BE FEATURED IN BEST NEW Writing (2014 EDITION), AND HAS APPEARED PREVIOUSLY IN THE RUSTY NAIL, EFICTION, THE CRISIS CHRONICLES, THE HELLROARING REVIEW, BURNINGWORD, THE WHISTLING FIRE, SEE SPOT RUN ANDTHE BELLWETHER REVIEW.

HE WORKS AS A FREELANCE WRITER, EDITOR, AND GHOST WRITER, AND IS WORKING TOWARDS HIS PH.D. HE LIVES IN A SUBURB OF PORTLAND, OREGON WITH HIS WIFE, ANDREA, THEIR LABRADOODLE, BELLA, SCHNOODLE, SAUVEE AND BLACK MOOR GOLDFISH, HOWARD WOLOWITZ.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • PDXKaraokeGuy profile imageAUTHOR

      Justin W Price 

      6 years ago from Juneau, Alaska

      It had so much potential and a decent cast... but one of the worst screenwriters in history

    • Jeannieinabottle profile image

      Jeannie InABottle 

      6 years ago from Baltimore, MD

      I think I hate blocked this movie out of my memory. This was pretty bad and I am a big horror movie fan. Interesting hub and voted up!

    • PDXKaraokeGuy profile imageAUTHOR

      Justin W Price 

      6 years ago from Juneau, Alaska

      Nikki, I agree that the film was entertaining and well directed, but I did find the plot and especially the writing to be very convoluted. I love horror movies too. Thanks for stopping by!

    • Nikkij504gurl profile image

      Nikki Wicked 

      6 years ago from Louisiana

      I loved Gothika. I thought it a very good movie. and arent most movies like this meant to be entertaining or for scares? It wasnt just a pychological thriller because the ghosts she saw was real and were leading her to the truth about her husband. I found the story, the screenplay and the writing to be very good. Ive watching it more than once, i havent watched in a while but i remember most of it pretty well and i love movies of the horror genre and such so i am a bit biased but i will tell you if a movie just flat out sucks and this is not one of them. a movie can still be good even if some parts arent as good as they could have been. and everyone has their own opinions of course.

    • PDXKaraokeGuy profile imageAUTHOR

      Justin W Price 

      6 years ago from Juneau, Alaska

      Sub and War, thanks for reading. I'm glad you found my review helpful. Sub, the new shows this season aren't that great, but, the New Girl starring Zooey DeSchanel is quite charming.

    • SubRon7 profile image

      James W. Nelson 

      6 years ago from eastern North Dakota

      Well, PDXKaraokeGuy, watching the trailor I got hit with a case of chills and goosepimples four times, but I do agree with what you said. Some movies and TV shows appear to be made just to fill space, and I guess that's necessary. I've watched ABC's "Once Upon A Time" only once and I applaud it, but it's the only new offering I've watched this year, and will stick only with my old favorites.

      Thanks for the follow.

    • Wrath Warbone profile image

      Terry Chestnutt 

      6 years ago from Cleveland, Ohio

      I guess I'll skip that flick. Thanks for the warning.

    • PDXKaraokeGuy profile imageAUTHOR

      Justin W Price 

      6 years ago from Juneau, Alaska

      Thanks for reading Feenix. This film was interesting review because the film, artistcially is not that great, but yet it's entertaining. I did more indepth anaylsis of the film "the birds" if you wanna take some time to check it out. Thanks so much for stopping by and for taking the time to comment

    • feenix profile image

      feenix 

      6 years ago

      Hello, PDXKaraokeGuy,

      Thank you for writing and publishing this useful and interesting hub. The manner in which you present your critique of the film is very informative and professional.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)