ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

The cinema masterpiece Grand Illusion (1937)

Updated on July 6, 2014
Jean Renoir's Grand Illusion
Jean Renoir's Grand Illusion
Grand illusion main caracters; Rauffenstein, Boeldieu and Marchal.
Grand illusion main caracters; Rauffenstein, Boeldieu and Marchal.
Jean Renoir
Jean Renoir

Jean Renoir was born in Montmartre, France, in 1894. During his career, he made more than 40 movies and some of them are considered masterpieces. Among his best works, you will find La Bête humaine (The Human Beast) (1938) which was based on the novel of Emile Zola and La règle du jeu (The Rules of the game) (1939). The Rules of the game is considered to be one of the greatest movies ever made, along with Grand Illusion. The movie was banned twice by the French government and had to be massively edited before sent to theaters. The reason for it being banned was because the film portrayed the french upper class as self indulgent and capricious. It is now one of the greatest achievements in cinematography.

Grand Illusion

Grand Illusion is set during the World War I. French lieutenants made prisoners of war by Germany plot a scheme to escape the camp. They are Captain de Boeldieu (Pierre Fresnay) and Lieutenant Maréchal (Jean Gabin). They are shot down by german aviator Rauffenstein (Erich Von Stroheim) and they are moved from camp to camp until they are finally moved to Wintersbourn, a guarded fortress commanded by Rauffenstein, who was gravely injured in war. During their stay, they will share great bond and enthusiasm towards Rauffenstein. But that won't stop them from elaborating another plan in order to escape.

The movie itself depicts war but in such a blissful and human way. No one would ever see French prisoners and a german aviator have dinner and talk about women and social classes. Aristocracy is portrayed through Boeldieu and Maréchal as they talk about social classes. They talk about nationalism in which they don't believe in. It is now very easy to understand why this movie was banned by the Germans and, later on, by the Italians.

For those who have not seen the movie, I highly suggest you watch the restored edition Criterion made. It is the first restoration they made and the image and sound is crisp and does not sound like a movie from the 30's. You could always watch another version but Criterion's version is the best one yet and it will definitely improve your viewing of this mastepiece.

I did not enjoy the movie as much as I should have after my first viewing. I wasn't aware of the concept and the main ideas in the movies. After some research I gave the movie another chance and it was a joy to watch. I now own the movie and could not be much happier. I wonder why they don't show this movie in high school or in college history classes. I certainly would have enjoyed it more if I had a teacher to tell us what it was all about. Besides, this is considered to be one of the greatest movies of war so it would fit perfectly. I give this movie 5 stars out of 5; it's a wonderful masterpiece. Watch it!!


My final rating is 5/5 stars!!

Reception of the movie

Grand Illusion was nominated for an Oscar in ''Best picture'' category. Later on, a category for Best Foreign movie was established in 1956. It has been praised as one of the best anti-war movies ever made. The movie negatives were almost destroyed during war raids but thankfully they survived. Some later time after war ended, it was re-edited and shown in various countries where it was generally well acclaimed.

Grand Illusion trailer

Have you seen The Grand Illusion?

See results

Other interesting movie hubs

Due Date (2010): Movie review for comedy Due Date.

Sunshine: Movie review for movie Sunshine, by director Danny Boyle, who also made Slumdog millionaire and 127 Hours

The boy in the striped pajamas: Movie review for a movie about Holocaust. It's a really charming movie.

Best movie songs: A compilation of the best movie songs

What is a blu-ray steelbook?: Movie collectors now have a new of collecting their favorite movies. Steelbooks are beautiful and this explains you what exactly they are.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      juliafranceschini 

      6 years ago

      No I haven't seen that. Sounds interesting. Thanks for the recommendation.

    • The Reminder profile imageAUTHOR

      The Reminder 

      6 years ago from Canada

      juliafranceschini:

      Have you seen the movie ''Joyeux Noël''? It's about World War and the french, german and english troops on december 24th, decide to take a day off and celebrate Christmas together. Highly recommended!

      It's of the same caliber as Grand Illusion.

    • profile image

      juliafranceschini 

      6 years ago

      Cool review. I actually saw this film in a film history course. It was cool to learn history through films, otherwise I find history boring.

      I like that you touched on the human aspect of the film. It relates to that famous Renoir quote that "everyone has their reasons." In reference to this film I feel like Renoir tries to show the French and Germans as humans that have "their reasons" for fighting.

      The ending is sort of forced though, with the thrown in romance at the end.

    • The Reminder profile imageAUTHOR

      The Reminder 

      6 years ago from Canada

      James A Watkins:

      If you like movies you definitely have to check this one out. I am not too old (28 years old) ans am starting to appreciate old classics. Nowadays you see the same type of movies at the theaters and you have to dig deep to find true classics and this is one of them.

      I hope you will enjoy it as much as I did!

    • James A Watkins profile image

      James A Watkins 

      6 years ago from Chicago

      Thank you for this fine film review. I will check it out based on your five-star recommendation. I love movies.

    • The Reminder profile imageAUTHOR

      The Reminder 

      7 years ago from Canada

      THAT Mary Ann:

      I am a bit young but I am slowly catching up with classic movies. Grand Illusion is one of my favorites.

    • profile image

      THAT Mary Ann 

      7 years ago

      I love films from this era. Thanks for this thorough review.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)