ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Entertainment and Media»
  • Music

Holy Moses Disorder of the Order: A Forgotten Album

Updated on December 23, 2017
CELEBSFAN78 profile image

Ara is currently an Accounting student at Glendale Community College in Glendale. CA. His main goal in life is the enjoyment of it.

Disorder of the Order European Cover


Track Listing for Disorder of the Order

  1. Intro
  2. We Are At War
  3. Disorder of the Order
  4. Break the Evil
  5. Deeper
  6. Hell on Earth
  7. I Bleed
  8. Blood Bond
  9. 1,000 Lies
  10. Princess of Hell
  11. Verfolgungswahn
  12. Heaven vs. Hell

Introduction to the Album and Significance of the title

German thrash metal band Holy Moses entered 2002 looking for a fresh start. This group of Germans was on a hiatus from 1994 to 2001. Their 2002 album Disorder of the Order is pretty darn good! The Intro features some atmospheric sounds similar to English band Cradle of Filth. It is only less than a minute and a half and it is about a person that is trapped in their own mind as the darkness fills their day and life. Although this album is not a concept album, you get the feeling that one song leads into another. The heavy song We Are at War makes reference to the global war on terrorism. Sometimes when a catastrophe such as this hits a nation, the question of what to do remains a difficult question to answer. The word disorder implies that there is a chaotic situation that is taking place. This kind of disorder can happen to a person, a company, or even a country. That’s one of the words that is in the album title. Holy Moses probably wanted to inform the world that it is in a mess and justice has to be served.

The Song Called We Are At War

A Few Photos of Sabina Classen one of heavy metal's leading ladies

Sabina sure knows how to sing and growl with passion!
Sabina sure knows how to sing and growl with passion!

The Album and the Significance of Sabina Classen

At this point in the band’s career, we start to see that Sabina Classen’s voice starts to get rougher. In 2005’s Strength, Power, Will, Passion, her voice becomes so rough that it sounds like a death metal voice. At first listen, some of you may think that Disorder of the Order is a generic thrash metal album. But it is not generic. Sabina in addition to her rough vocals also sounds raspy and in this case, it benefits the album. Having variety in your vocals can attract more fans who will check out your music. The medium fast song I Bleed starts with some heavy guitar riffing. The song is basically about someone that has been torn apart because their lover has left them. Even though they pray to GOD, they cannot find a resolution to their anguish. This song is different from the others in the sense that there is a lot of repetition by Sabina. Blood Bond has some Slayer influenced guitar riffing. Next comes the very catchy song 1,000 Lies. This is one of those songs that you may find yourself playing over and over again. The main riff is pretty memorable. In a world full of lies and deception, this song is trying to send the message that there can be the potential for a strong romantic love if we find a person that is able to show us the right path. Disorder of the Order came out a year after Arch Enemy’s Wages of Sin album. Prior to the emergence of Angela Gossow, Sabina Classen may have been the only female thrash metal vocalist to have gotten so much fame. Sabina has been providing rough, aggressive vocals since 1984 and she’s been doing a heck of a job! Disorder of the Order is a very good comeback album by one of the greatest German thrash metal bands ever.

Deeper is a song that not only shows the band’s heaviness but Sabina shows us that her voice is a precursor to how it would be on the band’s 2005 album Strength Power Will Passion. This album is an album that may be forgotten by some fans because it lets them know that Holy Moses is back in full force!

The Catchy 1,000 Lies Song

The Song Called Deeper


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • CELEBSFAN78 profile image

      Ara Vahanian 15 months ago from LOS ANGELES

      This comment makes the day better! THANK YOU! I try to provide interesting reviews of these albums.

    • Cee-Jay Aurinko profile image

      Cee-Jay Aurinko 15 months ago from Cape Town, South Africa

      I agree with you on the whole thing of artists, whether it be singers or rappers, should strive not to sound the same on every song. Thanks for a wonderful hub Ara Vahanian!