ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Doghouse - Zombie Horror Movie Review

Updated on October 7, 2013

Doghouse - A Funny Zombie Horror Film

 Doghouse, almost missed this one and I'm usually up to date with all the latest horror films, but this one slipped past me, but I saw it in the end and I'm glad I did as it was a kick ass zombie film with just women as the zombies after an army involved experiment test(always the case!!)goes wrong for a group of blokes on a fun weekend in the town of Moodley after one of them is trying to get over a divorce and so they head off to a remote village in the country side for a fun time for the lads and there are supposedly women there too which is true but they is all zombified maniacs who have been infected with a virus.

The film plays it for laughs with the lads against the women and one of the blokes cracks out a joke that it could be bird flu, although the horror comedy is funny there are some good horror moments in the film too which break up the comedy, but I laughed out loud at this one when three of our heroes dress up as women to try and get past the zombie women, classic!

I liked this film and it was a good film that was very much like Shaun Of The Dead which was another funny horror film that struck a nice balance between horror and comedy and the zombies nearly all carried weapons of some sort, but sadly no chainsaw, although there was a tiny electric turkey trimmer that featured in the film and not to mention the busty goth zombie woman that was a right hoot too, if you looked closely you could see them jiggle!!

Like any films of this type it was very gory and that was something I always like about these, like the moment when they first arrive and son notice that there are a few nutty women walking around as there is an army soldier with his chest all ripped out and his heart still beating and then moments later his head is split in half by an axe wielding woman zombie who is probably on her period.

The film plays at a cracking pace and the dialogue between the characters is funny as hell, even when things go bad there's always a hint of humour in the air with some right classic one liners.

The endings so so, but I felt that there was no conclusion to it, I mean I had this thought in the back of my head if this virus had turned all of the women into these zombie creatures then wouldn't the blokes who survived be the carriers of the virus and take it back to central London, but as the film closed I realised no the director Jake West took the easy way out and ended on a high and this didn't matter as I thoroughly enjoyed this film and it's up there with other classics like Evil Dead and Braindead for being funny and not too overly serious.

Watch out for the granny with her walking aid and the dental nurse with goofy teeth, horror comedies like this should be on the worldwide national health just to cheer us up.

Go and buy it or watch it now, you won't regret it!

Doghouse On DVD and Blu-Ray

Doghouse

Doghouse - Can I cut your bush? granny wants a piece of the action!
Doghouse - Can I cut your bush? granny wants a piece of the action!

Hello Gorgeous!!

This chubby zombie woman eats finger food...ding dong!
This chubby zombie woman eats finger food...ding dong!

Doghouse Zombie Movie Review

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      car-insurance-pro 

      7 years ago

      The ending was anti-climatic, but I enjoyed it. I believe the director is Jake West, who also did "Evil Aliens" & Razor-blade smile" which I strongly recommend.

      Even a Yank like me got and enjoyed the bird flu joke.

    • profile image

      ruffridyer 

      7 years ago from Dayton, ohio

      At first I thought your were talking about Stripper Zombie's. The charactor that infected the strippers was named, Birdflu. I recomend Fido. It is Zombie's in Leave it to beaver World. The fence seperating the Zombie's from the living is so lame a 8 yr old could push thrugh it. A nice hub.

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      8 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      It was a good, I reckon you should watch it!!

      Cheers now!

    • bat115 profile image

      Tim 

      8 years ago from Los Angeles, CA

      I never even heard of this but after reading your review, I must seek it out. I love a good zombie/living dead type film & I love Horror/Comedies.

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      8 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      Twas a good film and I enjoyed it very much for a british film and these zombies were slightly different but still they was a good threat that created a laugh!

    • jycmba profile image

      jycmba 

      8 years ago from Los Angeles CA

      I think I've seen articles on this - does look pretty off-beat before the recent much-hyped Zombieland with its bigger budget.. but it's not size that matters, right!

    • robertsloan2 profile image

      robertsloan2 

      8 years ago from San Francisco, CA

      That does sound fun! Thanks! I'm way too busy with Nanowrimo to watch any movies this month, but come December I'll be back in the real world to enjoy them.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)