ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Movie Review: "Halloween III: Season of the Witch" (1982)

Updated on August 24, 2014
1 out of 5 stars from 1 rating of Halloween III: Season of the Witch
Looks like somebody out there likes this movie.
Looks like somebody out there likes this movie. | Source

DISCLAIMER: This review may contain spoilers.

Unlike the first two movies, "Halloween III: Season of the Witch" is most certainly no trick or treat. It's just another proven example of why most sequels don't work the third time around. Notice how I say most, not all, but most. Call it the 'Curse of the Third' if you will. "Halloween III: Season of the Witch" is a boring, uninteresting, and forgettable sequel in the 'Halloween' franchise. It is in fact the lowest grossing one of them all.

The story this time ditches the franchise's main nemesis (Michael Myers) and instead revolves around a large corporation that's manufacturing some dangerous halloween masks that can kill people and a doctor who is determined to stop them at all costs. The death scenes are minimal and are more bizarre than they are gory and there's practically no connection at all to the other 'Halloween' movies -- with the exception of a TV commercial for the original "Halloween" movie in one scene.

Murder? What Murder?

So a murder is what sets off the catalyst for the film's story. In the beginning, a man is on the run from the evil Silver Shamrock Novelties corporation because he knows about their plans. He ends up injured and brought to the hospital where we meet with the film's main protagonist Dr. Challis (Tom Atkins), only to be killed moments later by one of the Shamrock associates.

We're then introduced to the victim's daughter who joins forces with the good doctor. The two of them decide pay the company a visit in the town of Santa Misa. They decide it's a good idea to get a hotel room together so that it would be more convenient for their local investigate activities.

I must say, for two people who are determined to solve a mystery, they sure don't do a whole lot of investigating. Other than a visit to the Shamrock factory, they mostly spend their time sitting around and waiting for stuff to happen and then they react to it. When nothing important is happening, they're usually engaging in foreplay or having sex. In fact, I think it's all that Dr. Challis thinks about in the entire movie -- First, he's manhandling one of his nurse friends, then he's making dinner plans with his medical assistant, and now he's sleeping with his dead patient's daughter. Mind you, he's also married.

This woman's father is dead, they're trying to find out what happened, I don't think this is the right time to be engaging in sexual activities. It's like they forgot that there ever was a murder, or maybe the screenwriter forgot. Maybe he was spending too much time in hotel rooms with his lady friends instead of focusing on delivering a good "Halloween" sequel.

Ah yes, the frustration of a "Halloween" movie without Michael Myers.
Ah yes, the frustration of a "Halloween" movie without Michael Myers. | Source

Adios, Michael Myers!

So this is perhaps the biggest complaint for this movie. The fact that there is no Michael Myers in it. For whatever reason, they decided to do the whole horror anthology thing with the "Halloween" movies. Kind of like "Night Gallery", whereas they would release a new movie every halloween season that would focus on a different aspect of the tradition. Well, if that was the intention, then why have Michael Myers in the second movie? Why is this being decided for the third entry?

Everyone loved Michael Myers, so why the departure? Instead of a slasher movie, we have a the whole mad scientist plot with themes of American consumerism. This is like celebrating Christmas without Santa Claus. How do you make a "Halloween" movie without Michael Myers? You're just asking for box office failure from the get-go, and look what happened -- they got it.

If anything, they could have rewritten Michael Myers into it as the main nemesis with Cochran and his Shamrock corporation as a secondary nemesis. Dr. Challis is up against Cochran and Myers is on neither side, he's just caught up in the mix, killing as he pleases. It would have made things a little more interesting if Michael Myers was somehow involved in the story.

Got Plot?

So Cochran (the CEO of the Silver Shamrock Novelties corporation) has a thing for witchcraft and wants to get his rocks off by administering this evil plan of his -- which consists of manufacturing masks that contain computer chips that hold a fragment of Stonehenge and selling them to all of the trick or treaters during Halloween week. The kicker is that when the company's sing-a-long commercial airs on halloween night, the computer chip is activated and kills the wearer as a result.

To top it all off, the CEO has a whole bunch of androids working for him. So what exactly is this guy's plan? I know he's into witchcraft and all, but why does he want to kill everybody? Was he trying to eradicate mankind and replace it with a race of cyborgs? This is never fully explained.

Even his grand scheme itself is flawed. So all of the mask-wearers have to be watching their TVs at 9pm on halloween night and Cochran plans to ship his products across the Atlantic. Doesn't he realize that there's four US time zones working against him? The other states are going to have a pretty big advantage once they find out people are dying from these masks.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Forever 

      3 years ago

      Thanks for the ingihst. It brings light into the dark!

    • profile image

      Laneta 

      3 years ago

      Now I feel stduip. That's cleared it up for me

    • priley84 profile image

      priley84 

      6 years ago from Warner Robins, Ga

      I agree 100% on this one. This movie was terrible.

    • Stevennix2001 profile image

      Steven Escareno 

      6 years ago

      Wow, this movie sure does sound lame. It sounds like the franchise just decided to reboot itself once it got to part III, so they tried to do a new concept. Unfortunately for them, it didn't pay off like you said. anyway, thanks for for the read.

    • mcrawford76 profile image

      Matthew I Crawford 

      7 years ago from Greeley, Colorado

      I agree with you, I also felt that Season of the Witch was one of the worst movies (not even worst sequals, but worst movies) ever made.

      It's been probably 20 years since I watched it, but I still hate it like I watched it yesterday.

    • FatFreddysCat profile image

      Keith Abt 

      7 years ago from The Garden State

      I have a soft spot for "H-III." It's ridiculous and there are plot holes you can drive a Mack truck thru, but on the other hand, I'd rather watch this one than many of the "Halloween" sequels that followed it with Myers back in the driver's seat...

    • downpourofwords profile image

      downpourofwords 

      7 years ago from Dallas, Texas, USA

      Good one. Voted up. I love watching thrillers and horror flicks.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)