ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

My Bloody Valentine - Horror Movie Review

Updated on January 29, 2014

My Bloody Valentine Movie Reviewed

My wife had been going on about seeing this film for ages, as she is a massive fan of Jensen Ackles, so she just had to see this film, but she wasn't sure about it when it came out on the cinema as it was in 3D as she didn't want her eyes to go funny (telling jokes and the like!) so she waited until it came out on DVD and we watched it together....in the dark!

A bit about the story

The story starts off at a coal mine as some kind of incident goes off where some minors are killed in an accident and a survivor goes into a coma not long after, but when he comes out of the coma he kills everyone in the hospital and this is sort of like the story set up for later on as the killer returns with pick axe and kills a bunch of partying teenagers(A cliche I know!) but then when the killer is believed to have been caught and shot, everything seems to go back to normal, but not for long.....

The killer resurfaces, but is it the same man or not? well watch the film! I've got to admit there are some clever death scenes in this film and when you see the normal version of the film, you can spot the 3D bits as and when they arrive, one great scene when the pick axe is thrust into someones chin and the jaw just pops off and flies at you, a classic 3D moment indeed!

Jensen Ackles makes a good suspect as does Kerr Smith with both having many other TV credits to their names and it's great towards the end as you just can't work out who it is until the end.

The slasher horror genre has been done to death what with the Halloween films and the Friday the 13th films too, but this is great and one I would recommend for the 3D aspect if you get the chance, although wearing 3D glasses right through the length of a film is quite strange and can either make you sick or just make your eyes go funny.

Also the killers in these films all wear masks and in this one the gas mask gets a good old fashioned credit as the best and classic killer man design choice, although the film follows many cliched routes any film in this genre can take it does it with style and builds up tension between the key characters as the story plays out towards the end.

My Bloody Valentine 3D

My Bloody Valentine in 3D - watch that pick axe being thrown at you and just die!
My Bloody Valentine in 3D - watch that pick axe being thrown at you and just die!

My Bloody Valentine DVD On Amazon

Bloody Valentine Film

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      8 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      Yeah the height of the Valentine killer did offend me too, but the fact of it keeping me guessing right till the end of the film was just priceless, it certainly dragged on throughout the film with a few red herrings here and there to throw us off.

    • optimus grimlock profile image

      optimus grimlock 

      8 years ago

      It bugged me how the killer went from 5'10 to like 6'4 and back agin. the death scenes were gruesome but really cool!!!

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      8 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      Hahaha yeah I like the jaw popping bit, such a classic watch it in 3D and it's like the jaw is flying out at you!

    • mythbuster profile image

      mythbuster 

      8 years ago from Utopia, Oz, You Decide

      Nice review again, waynet...I thought this film was effective in making a few people almost hurl/spit their popcorn when I watched this with friends and no 3-D glasses. There are some way gruesome shots in this film.

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      8 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      Yeah it is a good film, with some gory deaths whoo hoo!

    • basilisk profile image

      basilisk 

      8 years ago from Southern California

      Your review makes me want to take a look at the film. Good work!

    • David 470 profile image

      David 470 

      8 years ago from Pennsylvania, United States

      I like the actor in this film who stars in "Supernatural"

      Never seen the movie but might be worth a watch

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      8 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      Cheers BNL!

      Twas a good film and judging by the end, If they do a sequel I hope that it isn't just a rehash of this one.

      This was the best 3D film I've seen and there haven't been that many!

    • profile image

      bloodnlatex 

      8 years ago

      I was surprised at how good this movie actually was in 3-D. I even watched it without the 3-D, and it was still a great movie. I was expecting a movie full of special effects and no storyline with a lot of bad attempts at 3-D thrown in.

      Great hub...

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      8 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      Tis great in 3D... cheers guys and gals!

    • profile image

      lyricsingray 

      8 years ago

      Way not cool! Yikes man I am such a chicken sh--! Thanks though-ps-need your email.

    • robertsloan2 profile image

      robertsloan2 

      8 years ago from San Francisco, CA

      Sounds fun! Yep, gas masks can be very chilling. Way cool.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)