ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Review: Television Show "Naked and Afraid"

Updated on November 11, 2014

The Discovery Channel has a new reality survival show, "Naked and Afraid" which the network described as the "Mount Everest of all reality survival shows". "Naked and Afraid" is composed of two people (one man and one woman) who have some knowledge and experience on survival skills. Some contestants are paramedics, former military, firefighter, adventurers, police officer, obstacle creators, stunt woman, outdoor authors, survival experts, and so on.


The man and woman become paired up with a perfect stranger, and they are forced to give up their clothes for 21-days. The contestants are placed in a harsh place somewhere in the globe (Costa Rica, Louisiana, the Amazon, etc.) and the only items they are given one personal item per contestant, a satchel, and a camcorder (a "diary cam" to give details and pictures when the producer's camera is not recording them). They are given a map, which depicts where they are to stay during the 21-days, and where they need to go to get "rescued" on day 21.


I am a former Marine, and I have been deployed to Iraq. I have gone to survival school, cold weather school, and I have even gone on a two-week dog sledding track in Duluth, Minnesota. I believe my education and experience gives me a unique perspective on this particular show.


Where to start? First, I understand that giving up your clothes can be difficult because not only does it give you protection from the elements, and helps you cool or hear your body as necessary, it also provides a sense of security, and covers your dignity so to speak. As a female, it must be difficult for both contestants to not have clothes on during their survival experience, but honestly, a woman being naked in a primitive and stressful situation around a man she does not know, and has to rely on having to be daunting.


Next, I find it amazing how when many of the men are in this Adam and Eve setup, they try to take the role as the head of household mentality, and ignore the woman's skills, as in one episode where the man refused to eat a fish his companion has captured with a pointy stick. The gentleman told his compatriot that "she looked like a man" when she hunted. I don't think that her name was Denny helped the situation. It was amusing when she told her partner that finishing the challenge was not a question of whether she was a woman, but rather, if she was woman enough.


The same patriarch is seen in every episode, and to see some of this is not unexpected, but in moderate amounts, many of these tough women would welcome help, any help. These tough women collect medicinal herbs for their partners sunburns, or special sap to put on his bug bites, or even building her partner a primitive version.


From the shows I have seen so far in season one of the show, the men that are "good ol' boys", have a much more difficult time with the course, and are more likely to start fights, and quit the challenge before the end of the 21-days. The only time they ever seemed pleased with themselves is when they kill something, and in one situation when one man's partner proclaimed "Billy, you are the mighty hunter!" Then when his partner nudged him, showing him there was another cottonmouth snake for him to kill, his face falls in defeat.


To me, the only way it seems like someone could complete this course, if the challengers had a meeting on what the other person can expect from them, what they expect from their partner. Without open and honest communication, the challenge becomes unbearable because the contestants don't want to work with each other.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Alli Rose profile image
      Author

      Alli Rose Smith 3 years ago from Washington, DC

      It does. It remind me of Adam and Eve, it's an interesting show. Thanks for the comment Tirelesstraveler!

    • Alli Rose profile image
      Author

      Alli Rose Smith 3 years ago from Washington, DC

      Thanks Esmonaco, it's a cool show!

    • Alli Rose profile image
      Author

      Alli Rose Smith 3 years ago from Washington, DC

      Thanks Grand Old Lady, it's an interesting show!

    • Alli Rose profile image
      Author

      Alli Rose Smith 3 years ago from Washington, DC

      That's interesting, Allan, I'll have to look into the other shows.

    • Alli Rose profile image
      Author

      Alli Rose Smith 3 years ago from Washington, DC

      I wouldn't mind doing the show....if I can keep my clothes on... Thanks!

    • rebelogilbert profile image

      Gilbert Arevalo 3 years ago from Hacienda Heights, California

      There placed in a situation that requires great cooperation from one another but it sounds like their temperaments are undefinite.

    • alancaster149 profile image

      Alan R Lancaster 3 years ago from Forest Gate, London E7, U K (ex-pat Yorkshire)

      This brings back the old adage: 'When Adam delved and Eve span, who was then the Gentleman?'

      We've had a few similar shows on UK tv, 'Castway' had a group of people on a Hebridean island; 'I'm A Celebrity, Get Me Out Of Here' has a group of people in an Australian jungle in Queensland amongst the creepy-crawlies and minus their vestments. They have tasks to do, like eating stuff you'd probably see in a zoo in the reptile or invertebrates house - yummy!

    • grand old lady profile image

      Mona Sabalones Gonzalez 3 years ago from Philippines

      This is an excellent review with keen observations. I think what makes it especially good is that you add your personal experience in trying to understand what is going on as well as the subtext in this reality of the show.

    • esmonaco profile image

      Eugene Samuel Monaco 3 years ago from Lakewood New York

      Very interesting, I have not watched this show, although I have seen some ads. Thanks for the review :) I may have to watch it after reading your review.

    • tirelesstraveler profile image

      Judy Specht 3 years ago from California

      Voted interesting. Sounds kind of dehumanizing. Especially since there are parts of the world where clothing has always been optional.

      Excellent review. The pictures were helped make me think I might watch this show.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is used to quickly and efficiently deliver files such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisements has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)