ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

The Grey- A Review of Liam's Newest Movie!

Updated on November 26, 2014

Skilled and cunning warriors clash!

This is not just another man vs. beast or nature movie.

I have gotten sick of all of the wild animal movies that Hollywood used to put out. There were so many alligator, and bear movies in the past and they seemed to be too much alike!

The Grey, fortunately was a bit better and the story went somewhere.

u hope you enjoy it!

The Grey Soundtrack

The movie is better than it looks!

Is this a must see? Tell me what you think.

The Grey-Rated R

I will start by saying I saw this film, liked it, and call it a should-must see. I can tell that some who reviewed this on other sites have not seen it yet. They are writing about the trailer and making false assumptions. That is easy to do because this one throws you many curves, and surprises.

This could have been an ordinary adventure/Man vs nature movie, but it wasn't. This was different from any other action movie that I have seen and reviewed. The hidden sub plots and the surprises at the end, make this worth watching. It was more psychological than it was action/adventure.

There are flash backs in the movie that are touching but do not reveal the real story until the end and that, really kept me tuned in. Plus the ending was different, and heart pounding as well. Yes, the wolves are viscous like the trailer suggests but they are just as clever as the hidden stories behind the main story.

Liam Neeson is supported by a great cast. He plays a wolf hunter and expert that finds himself in a plane crash with six (6) other survivors. They crash in the frozen tundra, with little food, little to keep them warm, and oh yes, a large, and nasty pack of canius lupus come calling. Though the title implies that this movie is about Grey Wolves, it appears that they used Black ones instead. That actually made the movie a bit creepier and more intriguing as the Black is bigger and has a more ominous appearance and look in their eyes, then the Grey do .

The action is good, and the story seems to be predictable, until the twists become revealed at the end of the movie. It is quite emotional and a bit surprising, as everything unfolds and a great European actor, rises to the occasion! It takes you to a place that you don't expect to go (unless some jerk you know ruins the ending. I hate that!), and then ...it gets interesting!

This isn't a movie that I will or anyone probably will forget.This one grabs you and holds on! I am still thinking about it more than anything else I have seen recently. The Grey is a smart and well planned out movie that drew me in more as it went along. And no, I won't forget the gripping climax! I suggest that when you see it, just relax clear your mind and get lost in it. That will enable you to enjoy the hidden parts of this modern day classic.

Go see it or buy it when it comes out!

I give this 4 1/2 bite marks out of 5!



Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • MikeSyrSutton profile imageAUTHOR

      MikeSyrSutton 

      6 years ago from An uncharted galaxy

      Thanks Rob. Let me know what you think after you see it.

    • Robwrite profile image

      Rob 

      6 years ago from Oviedo, FL

      Hi Mike; It's been interesting to watch Liam Neeson's career over time. He started off in action films (Excalibre, Darkman), made the switch to heavy drama (Schindler's List, Nell) but then moved back to an action hero again (Taken, A-Team, Unknown), and he does them both well. I'll probably see this movie next week.

      Thanks for the review,

      Rob

    • MikeSyrSutton profile imageAUTHOR

      MikeSyrSutton 

      6 years ago from An uncharted galaxy

      Thank you Genna! It's getting good reviews so, it should be in the theaters a while. Even though some movie goers are complaining, most like it! I hope you can see it on the big screen.

    • Genna East profile image

      Genna East 

      6 years ago from Massachusetts, USA

      I love Liam Neeson (OBE), and was very saddened when his wife, Natasha Richardson, died as a result of a skiing accident. He has always been one of my favorite actors (“Schindler’s List; Les Miserables,” etc.) He is still the action hero with a heart that always delivers edge-of-your-seat excitement…rather like the Irish version of our Harrison Ford. He has enormous range and does wonderful work in the theatre as well.

      This film looks as though there is more afoot than surviving the wolves…I look forward to watching it. Excellent hub, full of interesting info. :-)

    • MikeSyrSutton profile imageAUTHOR

      MikeSyrSutton 

      6 years ago from An uncharted galaxy

      Its different and I found it helpful to see it with no expectations and a clear mind about it.

      Thank you so much for the input Tammy!

    • tammyswallow profile image

      Tammy 

      6 years ago from North Carolina

      I really look forward to this movie. It looks outstanding!

    • MikeSyrSutton profile imageAUTHOR

      MikeSyrSutton 

      6 years ago from An uncharted galaxy

      Thanks tsc!

      Its worth it to catch this one on the big screen. I didn't think I'd like it but, obviously you can tell I did.

      I think you'll enjoy it. Some parts are hard to watch, but that is because this is so deep and well thought out.

    • MikeSyrSutton profile imageAUTHOR

      MikeSyrSutton 

      6 years ago from An uncharted galaxy

      Wolves have influenced Hollywood for almost a century!Every where from wild packs in the frozen tundra to werewolves in Europe, to cartoons like Balto.

      Let me know what you think of this and any of your favorite wolf movies!

      Thanks and keep howling.

    • tschaunerb profile image

      tschaunerb 

      6 years ago from Medicine Hat

      as I predicted excited to see this but waiting on the dvd. Voted up.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)