ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

What Are Scales And Keys?

Updated on June 6, 2012

When learning music theory, one of the most important things to know about is scales and keys. These are basically two words for the same thing, but used in different sentence structures.

A scale is a set of notes that fit together. But unlike chords, they shouldn't all be played at the same time. You use the different notes in the scale to compose a melody, compose chords or improvise a solo.

In this article you will learn some of the most commonly used scales. All scales are explained with C as the key note, but beware that you'll have to transpose the scales if you play in a different key.

You can learn about chords here

The Major Scale

The Major scale is the most commonly used scale and has a happy kind of sound.

The following notes are in the C major scale:

C, D, E, F, G, A and B.

Simple, right? Yes, this is the most simple scale of all because is only played with white keys on the keyboard/piano (meaning no '#'s and 'b's).

The Minor Scale

The Minor scale has a mood that sounds a little more sad.

The following notes are in the C minor scale:

C, D, Eb, F, G, Ab and Bb.

Here, you'll need to use three black keys on the piano. On guitar it will not matter what key you're playing in because it is much easier to transpose the scales and chords.

The Major Pentatonic Scale

The Major Pentatonic scale only consists of five notes instead of seven. It is based upon the regular major scale. We just remove two notes, and we have our pentatonic scale. It is much simpler, but can be used more effectively in some cases.

The following notes are in the C major pentatonic scale:

C, D, E, G and A.

The Minor Pentatonic Scale

The Minor Pentatonic scale is used in most classic rock music - well, just in rock music in general. It is based upon the regular minor scale in the same way that the major pentatonic scale is based upon the regular major scale.

The following notes are in the C minor pentatonic scale:

C, Eb, F, G and Bb.

The Blues Scale

The Blues scale is used in - you guessed it - blues music.

It is build just like the minor pentatonic scale, except you have to add an extra note between what in the C minor pentatonic scale is F and G (in D minor, this would be between G and A).

The following notes are in the C blues scale:

C, Eb, F, Gb, G and Bb.


Sometimes, you will have to play the above scales in other keys than C. Therefore, it is important to learn the intervals in the scale, so you don't have to transpose them manually. Intervals are the gaps between two notes in a scale.

1 note = two half notes.

Major: 1, 1, ½, 1, 1, 1, ½ (there is 1 note between C and D, a half note between E and F and so on)

Minor: 1, ½, 1, 1, ½, 1, 1

Major pentatonic: 1, 1, 1½, 1, 1½

Minor pentatonic: 1½, 1, 1, 1½, 1

Blues: 1½, 1, ½, ½, 1½, 1


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.


    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at:

    Show Details
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the or domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)