ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Muppets Most Wanted Review: A Fun Family Movie Everyone Will Love!

Updated on November 5, 2014

The Muppets Star in a Global Crime Caper!

Muppets Most Wanted premiered this month and the movie adds to the long tradition of family entertainment produced by the Kermit the Frog, Miss Piggy, and all the rest of the gang.

Ricky Gervais, Ty Burrell and Tina Fey are on hand as the human foils of the Muppets, who become involved in an international crime caper aimed at committing the greatest heist in the history of the world.

If you or your children love the Muppets then you will be very satisfied with this movie. It's a great way to spend a few hours with your whole family.

Kermit and His Evil Counterpart, Constantine the World's Most Dangerous Frog!

The main villain in this movie is Constantine, the world's most dangerous frog, who escapes from a Siberian camp at the beginning of the movie. Because he is the mirror image of Kermit, he plans to impersonate the leader of the Muppets in a scheme that will lead to the theft of the crown jewels.

His accomplice is Ricky Gervais, who persuades the Muppets to hire him to arrange a world tour for their show. Gervais's name is Dominic Badguy, but he explains that ''Badguy" is French for "Good Man.'' Yes, it's a typical joke for a Muppet movie but most of the kids laughed.

Constantine replaces Kermit for the tour, and while the Muppets perform in Berlin, Madrid and Dublin the evil frog and Ricky Gervais commit burglaries. The burglaries are all part of the advance steps needed to steal the crown jewels from the Tower of London, where Constantine has arranged to marry Miss Piggy!

Kermit, meanwhile, has been mistaken for Constantine and returned to Siberia to serve out his evil counterpart's sentence. Needless to say, Tina Fey as the prison camp's commander falls for Kermit (he is the leading man, uh, frog, after all!).

Animal, Fozzie Bear and a newer Muppet named Walter figure out that Constantine is impersonating the real Kermit and travel to Siberia to break Kermit out of the prison camp.

The movie heads to its conclusion with Kermit and his friends racing to London to thwart the theft of the crown jewels and prevent Constantine from marring Miss Piggy.

I don't want to spoil the ending, but I don't think anybody would be surprised to find out that all comes out well in the end! It's a very pleasant adventure, and many of the Muppets do get a small scene or appearance to appease all the fans. I'm sure this will be a hit movie and will lead to another sequel in a few years.

Enjoy Some Trailers for the Movie Here!

Ricky Gervais, Tina Fey, Ty Burrell and Many Cameos

The Human Stars Generally Hold Their Own

Ricky Gervais is a talented comedian who plays it just straight enough that he actually engenders some sympathy when Constantine continually reminds him of his second-tier status as a villain. The two even sing a duet called "I'm Number One," in which the evil frog heaps put-down after put-down on his underling. At the end of the movie Gervais has a sight gag dressed in costume that is obviously meant to be a big laugh but I just thought it was silly.

Tina Fey has a couple of fun scenes, and she makes wearing a Russian uniform look quite attractive. Her early attempt at singing is amusingly cringe-worthy, and the final gag in the movie is at her expense (and it's a good one!)

Ty Burrell, from the TV series Modern Family, plays an Interpol agent who has one funny scene with Muppet Sam Eagle as they try to one-up each other with larger and larger badges, but otherwise isn't much of a factor.

And, of course, this movie continues the tradition that started in the very first film, The Muppet Movie, of having many stars appearing in cameos. Some are so fleeting they are barely noticeable, while others are more like supporting parts. The stars appearing including Lady Gaga, Tony Bennett, Ray Liotta, Usher, Celine Dion, Salma Hayek, Stanley Tucci and Sean "Diddy" Combs.

A Clip From Ricky Gervais's Duet With Constantine, the World's Most Dangerous Frog

The Muppets 2011

The Muppets 2011 was such a hit everyone knew there would be a sequel, and in fact the opening song in this year's movie is exactly that: an ode to the Hollywood tradition of making sequels to popular movies!

You don't need to have seen the 2011 movie to understand the current one, but if you enjoy the Muppets it's worth checking out the earlier movie.

The Muppets (2011)
The Muppets (2011)

This year's movie comes directly after the action of this movie.

 

Do You Like the Muppets?

Do You Like the Muppets?

See results

Ricky Gervais Discusses the Muppets in a TV Appearance

Who Are Goldenrulecomics?

For more about who we are and what we write about please see here:

Of Comic Books and Family Vacations: Who is GoldenRuleComics?
Who is GoldenRuleComics? Actually, the better question is who ARE GoldenRuleComics! I am the father of a teenage daughter, and we live in New Jersey. I hand...

Thanks for visiting and I hope you liked this review as much as we enjoyed the movie. Please share your thoughts on the Muppets, the movie or this review here.

Thanks again!

Now It's Your Turn!

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • tazzytamar profile image

      Anna 3 years ago from chichester

      You're never too old for the Muppets!!

    • tracy159 profile image

      Tracy Smith 3 years ago from Maryville, TN

      We just love the muppets. Nice review I haven't seen this one yet.

    • BodyHairRemoval profile image

      BodyHairRemoval 3 years ago

      Great review!

    • VioletteRose LM profile image

      VioletteRose LM 3 years ago

      Great review, thanks for sharing :)

    • profile image

      killop 3 years ago

      they look fun

    • CoolFool83 profile image

      CoolFool83 4 years ago

      The movie looks like a lot of fun!

    • Adventuretravels profile image

      Giovanna Sanguinetti 4 years ago from Perth UK

      Miss Piggy is my kinda gal! I love them all really - and oh, I had no idea Ricky Gervais is a Muppet too!! This is going to a fun film.

    • Brite-Ideas profile image

      Barbara Tremblay Cipak 4 years ago from Toronto, Canada

      just love Kermit!

    • bpratt lm profile image

      bpratt lm 4 years ago

      I haven't seen this one yet! I feel so behind :( I love the Muppets, and watched them religiously as a child. Great lens!

    • profile image

      GrammieOlivia 4 years ago

      Muppets rule, I loved them when they first came on th scene and still love them.

    • Rhonda Lytle profile image

      Rhonda Lytle 4 years ago from Deep in the heart of Dixie

      Love the muppets. Huge Piggy fan.

    • georgepmoola2 profile image

      georgepmoola2 4 years ago

      Great review! You can't go wrong with Muppetry!

    • MelRootsNWrites profile image

      Melody Lassalle 4 years ago from California

      Who can pass up a movie with an evil frog villain? This sounds like it will be lots of fun :)

    • profile image

      SteveKaye 4 years ago

      The Muppets are the only media personalities that make sense. The rest of the talking heads need to be run through a car wash.

    • smine27 profile image

      Shinichi Mine 4 years ago from Tokyo, Japan

      I absolutely adore the muppets. My favorite has to be kermit.

    • CherylsArt profile image

      Cheryl Paton 4 years ago from West Virginia

      Thanks for an informative and wonderful review. Pinned it to my movie board.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)