ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Time Bandits. Best fantasy movie: Review

Updated on June 17, 2015
Time Bandits
Time Bandits | Source

Time Bandits: Fantasy and comedy, Monty Python style

Pythonesque and totally mad, this hilarious film was made in 1981 and is one of my favorites in the for-fun department of our DVD collection, Produced by Terry Gilliam of Monty Python fame, it also features John Cleese and Michael Palin - so already you know you're in for a treat.

Impressive cast

Not just impressive but just seeing a selection of the cast members below gives you some idea of the craziness of this film:

  • Sean Connery playing the part of a king from Greek mythology (oh so gorgeously, too)
  • Kathleen Helmond (remember her in Soap?) as the ogre's wife
  • Ralph Richardson as the supreme being
  • Ian Holm as Napoleon
  • Jim Broadbent as the TV game show host (similar to his role in Little Voice, really)
  • Sheila Fearn (from The Likely Lads) as mother

Oh and quite a few 'little people'. Ancient Greece, meets Napoleon, with and ogre and a TV show host? What madness is this?

Well, it's perfectly simple

Or maybe that isn't the word..... The movie starts in a suburban English home where a young lad called Kevin lives with his parents. One night, a bunch of six dwarfs tumble into his bedroom (did I mention that this film is very daft?) and Kevin joins them on their adventures as they travel through various time warps creating havoc and mayhem.

From the Titanic to Sherwood Forest

Yes, we travel with the gang on the Titanic, we visit Robin Hood in Sherwood Forest, calling in to ancient Greece, meeting Napoleon, the supreme being and evil along the way.

The wonders of Amazon

No, not the river, although by what I've told you above, I don't blame you for thinking I mean that we've now gone to Brazil. What I mean is that this, along with some of the finest films from the same era, are now true bargains on amazon.com. We're adding them to our collection and having a wonderful time.

See what's in store

  • Meet John Cleese as Robin Hood - and the 'leetle peeple'
  • Meet the supreme being - he's rather like a crusty old headmaster
  • Meet Sean Connery. Forget James Bond. Oh my goodness...

The videos below are just wonderful.

Monty Python's The Meaning of Life [Blu-ray]
Monty Python's The Meaning of Life [Blu-ray]

If you're like me and can't get enough of daft humor, you'll be please to know that this gem is also available at an excellent price. This film is decidedly bonkers.

 

© 2013 Jackie Jackson

Guestbook

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • BritFlorida profile image
      Author

      Jackie Jackson 4 years ago from Fort Lauderdale

      @sousababy: That's great - thank you!

    • sousababy profile image

      sousababy 4 years ago

      Pinned to my British comedy board - thank you for so many contributions to my humour niche.

    • profile image

      slappywalker 4 years ago

      I used to LOVE this movie when I was growing up. I remember watching it on HBO with my sister back a very long time ago. It still ran through my head every once in a while, but I could never remember the name of it. I'm glad I ran across your review to remind me!

    • BritFlorida profile image
      Author

      Jackie Jackson 4 years ago from Fort Lauderdale

      @DreyaB: Yep! That's what we had :)

    • DreyaB profile image

      DreyaB 4 years ago from France

      @BritFlorida: Sorry about that! Time for a curry? ;0)

    • tedwritesstuff24 profile image

      TedWritesStuff 4 years ago

      I paid good money to see this picture at the movie theatre many years ago..am still waiting for the refund of money and two hours of my life... I may be in the minority..but it ain't no Life of Brian...

    • BritFlorida profile image
      Author

      Jackie Jackson 4 years ago from Fort Lauderdale

      @DreyaB: Thank you - coincidentally, I was just commenting on your curry recipe book review! I'm hungry now...

    • DreyaB profile image

      DreyaB 4 years ago from France

      Another Gilliam classic, not much more to say than that, he's a marvel! Cool page and review too btw. :0)

    • PaigSr profile image

      PaigSr 4 years ago from State of Confussion

      Amazing how you forget about movies until someone brings them up. Thanks for jogging the memory.

    • BritFlorida profile image
      Author

      Jackie Jackson 4 years ago from Fort Lauderdale

      @LoriBeninger: Phew, yes!

    • LoriBeninger profile image

      LoriBeninger 4 years ago

      I love this film. Terry Gillian certainly likes to defy convention doesn't he? I would quite like a visit from Mr. Connery as a firefighter too.

    • Joebeducci profile image

      Joebeducci 4 years ago

      Always interesting how you pick a movie that I've never heard of before. Looks like a good one, again! Greets, Joebeducci

    • Tim Bader profile image

      Tim Bader 4 years ago from Surrey, UK

      I've seen this movie I don't know how many times.Having said that, it's been a while since the last time, so perhaps I'm due to see it once more.

    • Merrci profile image

      Merry Citarella 4 years ago from Oregon's Southern Coast

      Haven't seen it but want to now. Great lens.

    • BritFlorida profile image
      Author

      Jackie Jackson 4 years ago from Fort Lauderdale

      @Max Globe: Enjoy!

    • Max Globe profile image

      Max Globe 4 years ago

      Great review! I'm going to watch it today

    • BritFlorida profile image
      Author

      Jackie Jackson 4 years ago from Fort Lauderdale

      @boneworld: Thank you - it's lovely to know that other people remember it too.

    • boneworld profile image

      Jackson Thom 4 years ago from West of Left South Lucky

      Oh, man! I forgot all about this movie. I loved this when I was a kid. You just blew my mind. Now, I gotta see this. Great review!

    • BritFlorida profile image
      Author

      Jackie Jackson 4 years ago from Fort Lauderdale

      @RoadMonkey: Sean Connery is absolutely gorgeous in this film:)

    • RoadMonkey profile image

      RoadMonkey 4 years ago

      Wow! What a collection of actors! I love fantasy and John Cleese and Sean Connery are two of my most favourite ever actors. Michael Palin is also very funny and very clever.

    • BritFlorida profile image
      Author

      Jackie Jackson 4 years ago from Fort Lauderdale

      @tfsherman lm: Ha - we do the quote thing too!

    • BritFlorida profile image
      Author

      Jackie Jackson 4 years ago from Fort Lauderdale

      @youthministry: Isn't it wonderful?

    • tfsherman lm profile image

      tfsherman lm 4 years ago

      We've watched this movie over...and over...and over. Quote the lines during family gatherings. The best.

    • youthministry profile image

      Paul Turner 4 years ago from Birmingham, Al.

      Love this movie.

    • BritFlorida profile image
      Author

      Jackie Jackson 4 years ago from Fort Lauderdale

      @sousababy: Haha - I suppose it was inevitable :)

    • sousababy profile image

      sousababy 4 years ago

      I knew there had to be a Monty Python-type review coming from you at some point, Jackie.

    working