ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Time Bandits. Best fantasy movie: Review

Updated on June 17, 2015
Time Bandits
Time Bandits | Source

Time Bandits: Fantasy and comedy, Monty Python style

Pythonesque and totally mad, this hilarious film was made in 1981 and is one of my favorites in the for-fun department of our DVD collection, Produced by Terry Gilliam of Monty Python fame, it also features John Cleese and Michael Palin - so already you know you're in for a treat.

Impressive cast

Not just impressive but just seeing a selection of the cast members below gives you some idea of the craziness of this film:

  • Sean Connery playing the part of a king from Greek mythology (oh so gorgeously, too)
  • Kathleen Helmond (remember her in Soap?) as the ogre's wife
  • Ralph Richardson as the supreme being
  • Ian Holm as Napoleon
  • Jim Broadbent as the TV game show host (similar to his role in Little Voice, really)
  • Sheila Fearn (from The Likely Lads) as mother

Oh and quite a few 'little people'. Ancient Greece, meets Napoleon, with and ogre and a TV show host? What madness is this?

Well, it's perfectly simple

Or maybe that isn't the word..... The movie starts in a suburban English home where a young lad called Kevin lives with his parents. One night, a bunch of six dwarfs tumble into his bedroom (did I mention that this film is very daft?) and Kevin joins them on their adventures as they travel through various time warps creating havoc and mayhem.

From the Titanic to Sherwood Forest

Yes, we travel with the gang on the Titanic, we visit Robin Hood in Sherwood Forest, calling in to ancient Greece, meeting Napoleon, the supreme being and evil along the way.

The wonders of Amazon

No, not the river, although by what I've told you above, I don't blame you for thinking I mean that we've now gone to Brazil. What I mean is that this, along with some of the finest films from the same era, are now true bargains on amazon.com. We're adding them to our collection and having a wonderful time.

See what's in store

  • Meet John Cleese as Robin Hood - and the 'leetle peeple'
  • Meet the supreme being - he's rather like a crusty old headmaster
  • Meet Sean Connery. Forget James Bond. Oh my goodness...

The videos below are just wonderful.

Monty Python's The Meaning of Life [Blu-ray]
Monty Python's The Meaning of Life [Blu-ray]

If you're like me and can't get enough of daft humor, you'll be please to know that this gem is also available at an excellent price. This film is decidedly bonkers.

 

© 2013 Jackie Jackson

Guestbook

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • BritFlorida profile imageAUTHOR

      Jackie Jackson 

      4 years ago from Fort Lauderdale

      @sousababy: That's great - thank you!

    • sousababy profile image

      sousababy 

      4 years ago

      Pinned to my British comedy board - thank you for so many contributions to my humour niche.

    • profile image

      slappywalker 

      4 years ago

      I used to LOVE this movie when I was growing up. I remember watching it on HBO with my sister back a very long time ago. It still ran through my head every once in a while, but I could never remember the name of it. I'm glad I ran across your review to remind me!

    • BritFlorida profile imageAUTHOR

      Jackie Jackson 

      4 years ago from Fort Lauderdale

      @DreyaB: Yep! That's what we had :)

    • DreyaB profile image

      DreyaB 

      4 years ago from France

      @BritFlorida: Sorry about that! Time for a curry? ;0)

    • tedwritesstuff24 profile image

      TedWritesStuff 

      4 years ago

      I paid good money to see this picture at the movie theatre many years ago..am still waiting for the refund of money and two hours of my life... I may be in the minority..but it ain't no Life of Brian...

    • BritFlorida profile imageAUTHOR

      Jackie Jackson 

      4 years ago from Fort Lauderdale

      @DreyaB: Thank you - coincidentally, I was just commenting on your curry recipe book review! I'm hungry now...

    • DreyaB profile image

      DreyaB 

      4 years ago from France

      Another Gilliam classic, not much more to say than that, he's a marvel! Cool page and review too btw. :0)

    • PaigSr profile image

      PaigSr 

      4 years ago from State of Confusion

      Amazing how you forget about movies until someone brings them up. Thanks for jogging the memory.

    • BritFlorida profile imageAUTHOR

      Jackie Jackson 

      4 years ago from Fort Lauderdale

      @LoriBeninger: Phew, yes!

    • LoriBeninger profile image

      LoriBeninger 

      4 years ago

      I love this film. Terry Gillian certainly likes to defy convention doesn't he? I would quite like a visit from Mr. Connery as a firefighter too.

    • Joebeducci profile image

      Joebeducci 

      4 years ago

      Always interesting how you pick a movie that I've never heard of before. Looks like a good one, again! Greets, Joebeducci

    • Tim Bader profile image

      Tim Bader 

      4 years ago from Surrey, UK

      I've seen this movie I don't know how many times.Having said that, it's been a while since the last time, so perhaps I'm due to see it once more.

    • Merrci profile image

      Merry Citarella 

      4 years ago from Oregon's Southern Coast

      Haven't seen it but want to now. Great lens.

    • BritFlorida profile imageAUTHOR

      Jackie Jackson 

      4 years ago from Fort Lauderdale

      @Max Globe: Enjoy!

    • Max Globe profile image

      Max Globe 

      4 years ago

      Great review! I'm going to watch it today

    • BritFlorida profile imageAUTHOR

      Jackie Jackson 

      4 years ago from Fort Lauderdale

      @boneworld: Thank you - it's lovely to know that other people remember it too.

    • boneworld profile image

      Jackson Thom 

      4 years ago from West of Left South Lucky

      Oh, man! I forgot all about this movie. I loved this when I was a kid. You just blew my mind. Now, I gotta see this. Great review!

    • BritFlorida profile imageAUTHOR

      Jackie Jackson 

      4 years ago from Fort Lauderdale

      @RoadMonkey: Sean Connery is absolutely gorgeous in this film:)

    • RoadMonkey profile image

      RoadMonkey 

      4 years ago

      Wow! What a collection of actors! I love fantasy and John Cleese and Sean Connery are two of my most favourite ever actors. Michael Palin is also very funny and very clever.

    • BritFlorida profile imageAUTHOR

      Jackie Jackson 

      4 years ago from Fort Lauderdale

      @tfsherman lm: Ha - we do the quote thing too!

    • BritFlorida profile imageAUTHOR

      Jackie Jackson 

      4 years ago from Fort Lauderdale

      @youthministry: Isn't it wonderful?

    • tfsherman lm profile image

      tfsherman lm 

      4 years ago

      We've watched this movie over...and over...and over. Quote the lines during family gatherings. The best.

    • youthministry profile image

      Paul Turner 

      4 years ago from Birmingham, Al.

      Love this movie.

    • BritFlorida profile imageAUTHOR

      Jackie Jackson 

      4 years ago from Fort Lauderdale

      @sousababy: Haha - I suppose it was inevitable :)

    • sousababy profile image

      sousababy 

      4 years ago

      I knew there had to be a Monty Python-type review coming from you at some point, Jackie.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)