jump to last post 1-6 of 6 discussions (10 posts)

What factors contribute to a child developing Narcissistic Personality Disorder?

1. bethperry profile image92
    bethperryposted 4 years ago

What factors contribute to a child developing Narcissistic Personality Disorder?

A neighbor's adult child (32 years old) was recently diagnosed with Narcissistic Personality Disorder after being charged with harassing and stalking others online. Symptoms include:
        Exaggeration of their own abilities or achievements.
        Sense of entitlement.
        Exploitation of others.
        Lack of empathy.
        Envy of others.
        An arrogant, haughty attitude.
    The couple's child lived at home with the parents and is known to be intelligent though he held no job. I am just curious as to what homelife or child-rearing factors contribute to a child developing such a disorder?

2. Paradise7 profile image85
    Paradise7posted 4 years ago

Good question, and though I'm not a professional in this field and thus can't give a definitive answer, still, I have a very basic opinion about these types of personality disorders.  I believe a person is born with certain personality tendencies which develop as a child grows. Good parenting can gently discourage unacceptable or antisocial personality traits in their children; also, the parents setting a good example is always a mitigating factor in a situation where the child has or is developing some unattractive or unacceptable personality traits; still, I believe firmly that a person's most basic personality type is born not made.