ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Charles Shaw Chardonnay Review

Updated on July 16, 2007

Two Buck Chuck Takes the Prize

I am not a big fan of white wines, particularly two buck chuck white wines, but I felt compelled to give the Charles Shaw chardonnay another chance after learning that it won the top prize at a California State Fair tasting competition. As with movie reviews, I'm not one to blindly follow other people's opinions, or tastebuds, without trying something out for myself--which is why I decided to give this wine another try.

The Wine Goof's Rating System

Here is a quick break down of my fingers-around-the-glass rating system:

  • Five Fingers: Serve it to your neighbor who used to run a winery.
  • Four Fingers: Go ahead and serve to friends and family as a decent table wine.
  • Three Fingers: This is completely drinkable, but nothing to really brag about. Use caution when drinking, a common side effect of this wine is an extreme headache.
  • Two Fingers: A mixer wine: you can handle it if you add some juice, or some other masking beverage, to it. Really, only drink it if you need a cheap buzz.
  • One Finger: Your grandma is hopped up on painkillers, has no sense of taste, and partially blind? This is the wine for her!
  • Zero Fingers: Don't even touch the container it comes in. Use extreme caution, this substance is flammable, and may detioriate any material in comes into contact with.

The Wine Goof's Review

This wine is fresh and fruity, but needs to be crisply cold when you drink it. If it warms up even a bit, it definitely becomes a two, maybe one and a half, finger wine. It hints with the taste of apples and is sweet.

My suggestion is to pop two or three frozen strawberries in the glass--not for flavor, but to help keep the wine chilled. Plus, you get to eat the wine soaked strawberries once the wine is gone.

At first, I thought it was a typical white wine, nothing special (remember, I'm not a white wine fan). However, the flavors of the wine change depending on what you eat. First, I tried a slice of sharp white cheddar cheese with the wine. This was pretty tasty and brought out the apple flavor. But, by far, I was impressed with how fruity-licious the wine became after a morsel of dark chocolate. Even if you don't particularly enjoy white wine, give this combination a try.

So, it might have been judged the best by more experienced wine drinkers, but this common wine sipper gives it:

Three Fingers

Bear in mind, this wasn't an easy decision to make. If it isn't ice cold, it definitely doesn't deserve three fingers. Also, the dark chocolate really boosted the score.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      george courtney 

      8 years ago

      The wine (if you want to call it that) is not even worth $3. I drank a whole bottle of it in one night & didn’t even get a buzz.

      It tastes like water with a white wine flavor. & by the way, I didn’t even see the alcohol content on the bottle either.

    • profile image

      yakmommy 

      10 years ago

      I buy it by the case!!!!!! The best "every day" chardonnay I've had.

      JW Morris isn't so bad, either.

    • Stacie Naczelnik profile imageAUTHOR

      Stacie Naczelnik 

      10 years ago from Seattle

      I hadn't noticed. I'll check it out.

    • profile image

      Ted  

      10 years ago

      Has anyone else noticed that the 2006 tastes more astringent than the 2005? I enjoyed the 2005 more than the 2006.

    • profile image

      burn-calories 

      10 years ago

      I love chardonay

    • Stacie Naczelnik profile imageAUTHOR

      Stacie Naczelnik 

      11 years ago from Seattle

      I'm interested in what you think of it livelonger, give us your own finger review after you try it.

      cgull: the chocolate makes a world of difference, who knew dark chocolate and white wine went together?

    • cgull8m profile image

      cgull8m 

      11 years ago from North Carolina

      Great review, I will definitely try this, with a chocolate it can't go wrong :)

    • livelonger profile image

      Jason Menayan 

      11 years ago from San Francisco

      Will definitely have to try this...I was *not* impressed with their Sauvignon Blanc, but the Chard will get a try.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)