ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Product Review - Philips Airfryer Deep Fryer Fries Without Oil!

Updated on September 23, 2014

The New Way to Deep Fry Foods

Philips Airfryer Deep Fryer
Philips Airfryer Deep Fryer | Source

New technology allows healthy deep fried foods! Without Using Oil!

Can deep-fried foods actually be healthy? Apparently, there is now such a kitchen item that “deep fries” food without using oil. How is that possible? Well, the Philips Airfryer, along with many of its customers, makes this claim. If you’re a fan of kitchen gadgets, this sounds like one that you just might have to check out.

While traditional deep fryers cover the food with oil, the Airfryer instead uses what is called “Rapid Air Technology” to quickly heat up the food from all sides. The food is bombarded by hot air, circulating on all sides at once. The Airfryer will deep fry potatoes, meats, vegetables, and more.

Can you imagine air-frying chips or French fries in less than fifteen minutes, having them come out crispy on the outside and soft on the inside? From all reports, the Airfryer does get the food crisp—with 80% fewer calories than traditional deep frying.

The Old Way to Deep Fry Foods

The old way of deep frying with oil
The old way of deep frying with oil | Source

The Airfryer doesn't stink and is easy to clean!

Another plus that customers claim about the Phillips Airfryer is that it leaves no oily smell lingering in the kitchen. With traditional deep frying, the oily cooking smell may hang around for days. The Philips Airfyer’s odor filter prevents these unwanted odors from leaking out into n the kitchen. Amazingly, many customers claim that there is actually no smell at all.

What about cleaning? One of my questions would be whether or not the Airfryer is hard to clean. Clean-up seems to be pretty easy, as many of the parts of this sleek, black Philips Airfryer are removable and dishwasher safe. Other parts are easily wiped off and cleaned, as they are coated with a Teflon surface. The Airfryer has an adjustable thermostat as well as a built-in timer. Another handy feature of the Airfryer is the food separator that it comes with which allows you to divide the fryer into two sections in order to cook two items at once. This feature sounds perfect for making fish and chips!

Try the Airfryer's Recipe Booklet!

Having never before heard of the Airfryer, I’m impressed with what it can do. Imagine making all your favorite deep fried foods without the messy and fattening oil?

Imagine making your favorite fried chicken and potato strips, fish, snacks such as fried pickles, and any other favorites--all without fattening oils!

How fun would it be to experiment with different recipes in this Airfryer? The Philips Airfryer comes with a recipe booklet that allows you to do just that!


Top 10 Foods to Cook in the Phillips AirFryer

1. Fried Chicken (Crispy!)

2. French Fries (Not greasy!)

3. Fish (and Chips!)

4. All Meats!

5. Roasted Asparagus

6. Baked Apples

7. Baked Eggs

8. Pizza! (Yes!)

9. Cake and other desserts (Believe it or not!)

10. Try lots of things!

How the Phillips AirFryer Works

Rate this product!

2.8 out of 5 stars from 54 ratings of Phillips AirFryer

Is the Airfryer worth the price?

While the Philips Airfryer is not cheap, its ability to deep fry foods quickly and healthfully may be worth the cost. This Airfryer generally retails at well over one hundred pounds, or over two hundred U.S. dollars. Currys, an appliance store out of the UK, sells appliances and electronics, large and small, including kitchen gadgets such as the Philips Airfryer, at reasonable prices, especially with vouchers that offer significant discounts.

By shopping online and using Currys vouchers, you can save more on small appliances such as this deep fryer. Shop around while you’re there and check out more of Currys voucher codesfor saving on all kinds of cool kitchen gadgets and appliances.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Victoria Lynn profile imageAUTHOR

      Victoria Lynn 

      6 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      I know, Melovy! Gadgets can overtake our kitchens. Yeah, deep frying seems like a waste of oil. The thought of having deep fried foods without oil is amazing! Thanks for reading and commenting.

    • Melovy profile image

      Yvonne Spence 

      6 years ago from UK

      I never deep fry anything because I’ve read you shouldn’t reuse oil and I can’t bear the idea of wasting it, so this sounds like something that could be a very useful addition to our kitchen - especially since I have a child who is French fry crazy. (I do them in the oven.)

      Very intriguing. Now, can I find space in my kitchen for yet another gadget?

    • Victoria Lynn profile imageAUTHOR

      Victoria Lynn 

      6 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      Bishop--Yes, it would be a great Father's Day gift. Looks like a really neat product! Thanks!

    • Bishopdown profile image

      Bishopdown 

      6 years ago from Tampa, Florida

      What a great invention!! I want one..hmm this would be an excellent gift for father's day gift!!@Victoria.

      awesome and great hub!

    • Victoria Lynn profile imageAUTHOR

      Victoria Lynn 

      6 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      Jon--I agree! Where do we get a demo? :-)

    • jonmcclusk profile image

      Jonathan McCloskey 

      6 years ago from Cinnaminson, New Jersey

      It seems to be something that you would see in the House of Tomorrow, haha, I'm going to have to see if I can demo this one.

    • Victoria Lynn profile imageAUTHOR

      Victoria Lynn 

      6 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      AA--The customers say it does. I want one!!!!

    • A.A. Zavala profile image

      Augustine A Zavala 

      6 years ago from Texas

      Fascinating! I wonder if it works...

    • Victoria Lynn profile imageAUTHOR

      Victoria Lynn 

      6 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      Vellur, I have read many reviews that say the fries are great--crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. We may have to try this one! :-)

    • Vellur profile image

      Nithya Venkat 

      6 years ago from Dubai

      I have checked this out, but my one doubt is, will the fries taste the same. Anyway health is more important, and this one really has it all, just imagine low calorie fries.WOW! Voted up.

    • Victoria Lynn profile imageAUTHOR

      Victoria Lynn 

      6 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      Jeff--No, I must admit I don't have one, but, after looking into it, I may have to look closer. I have an old fry daddy that has to be filled with oil. I think this thing would be awesome! Let me know if you get one, and I'll do the same!

    • Jeff Gamble profile image

      Jeff Gamble 

      6 years ago from Denton, Texas

      I may have to get one of the Victoria - looks like a good replacement for the fry-o-later. Do you have one?

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)