ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Black Bean Burger Recipe and Veggie Burger Review

Updated on June 1, 2018
My Bell profile image

Marcelle enjoys preparing delicious meals for family and friends. She especially loves creating original plant-based, vegan recipes.

So where’s the beef? You won’t find any in these meatless, veggie burgers but what you will find is some tasty options and, in most cases, a healthier burger. Check out reviews of a few commercial veggie burgers and make your own with a simple black bean burger recipe. If you have not had the chance to eat a veggie burger before, don’t judge it before you’ve tried one or two, or more. There are so many different variations, it’s just a matter of finding the right one for you.

Fast Food Goes Meatless

Rising interest in vegetarianism and meatless meals has spurred even the fast-food industry to respond. A recent survey by market research company Mintel, found that while just seven percent of consumers identified themselves as vegetarian in the survey, 36% of consumers said they use meat alternatives. Eat at a fast food or almost any restaurant today and you’ll find a variety of veggie burgers on the menu. Many fast-food chain restaurants, including Burger King, Denny’s, and White Castle, offer meatless burgers.

Are Veggie Burgers Healthy?

It depends. Veggie burgers are generally lower in calories and fat and provide a good source of fiber. Just as taste can vary, nutrition also varies between brands depending on the ingredients. Many commercially purchased veggie burgers have artificial ingredients and fillers and are heavily processed. They can also be quite high in sodium. Always read labels. Look for whole food ingredients on the label and little to no added salt.

Below is a review of a small sample of the many brands of veggie burgers that can be purchased at most grocery or whole foods stores. As you can see, the nutritional profile varies greatly.

Note: The Classic Luna Burger has limited availability but can be purchased online at www.lunaburger.com or (just found them) at Fresh Market.

___________________________________

Veggie Burger Review

 
Calories/Fat/ Fiber/Protein
Sodium
Artificial Ingredients
My Flavor Grade
Morning Star Grillers Prime
130/ 6g/ 2g/ 15g
260mg
Yes
C+
Morning Star Chipotle Black Bean Burger
190/ 7g/ 8g/ 17g
540mg
Yes
B-
Dr. Praeger's California Veggie Burger
110/ 5g/ 4g/ 5g
250mg
No
B+
Gardenburger The Original Veggie Burger
110/ 3g/ 4g/ 5g
490mg
Yes
C
Luna Burger The Classic
160/ 2g/ 6g/ 7g
250mg
No
A

Simple Black Bean Burger Recipe

Making your own recipe will keep whole food ingredients in your veggie burger that can drastically improve the nutritional profile and even the flavor. Try this simple and quick recipe at home.

I recommend using organic black beans, such as those from Eden Organic. Salt is not added to these beans, which keeps the sodium in check at just 15mg per a half cup serving (rinsing the beans will reduce this amount even more). Another benefit of Eden Organic beans and their other canned products is that their can lining is BPA-free.

4.8 stars from 4 ratings of this recipe

Cook Time

Prep time: 15 min
Cook time: 8 min
Ready in: 23 min
Yields: 4 Servings

Ingredients

  • 1 15oz can no-salt-added, organic black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1/2 medium onion, diced
  • 1/2 medium sweet red pepper, diced
  • 3 cloves minced garlic, or 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 cup sodium-free whole wheat bread crumbs, try Whole Foods 365 brand
  • 1 large egg, organic free-range
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • dash of hot sauce, optional
  • cooking spray

Instructions

  1. Combine black beans, onion, red pepper and garlic in a food processor and pulse several times or until beans make a thick paste. Alternately, mash well with two forks. Add breadcrumbs and stir in egg, ground pepper and hot sauce.
  2. With moistened hands, divide bean mixture into 4 equal portions (about 1/3 cup mixture per portion), shaping each into a patty. If the mixture is a bit too dry, add a small amount of canola oil.
  3. Heat a large skillet lightly sprayed with cooking spray over medium heat. Add patties to pan and cook, turning patties over once, until bottom edges are browned on both sides and cooked through, about 8 minutes total.

Easy Variations

  • Add 1 teaspoon grated lime rind, 1/2 teaspoon chili powder (salt free), 1/2 teaspoon cumin, and 1/2 teaspoon oregano.
  • Add 1-2 tablespoons Nutritional Yeast for a slightly cheesy flavor and some extra protein.

Nutrition Facts
Serving size: 1 burger
Calories 238
Calories from Fat27
% Daily Value *
Fat 3 g5%
Carbohydrates 41 g14%
Fiber 9 g36%
Protein 11 g22%
Sodium 32 mg1%
* The Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet, so your values may change depending on your calorie needs. The values here may not be 100% accurate because the recipes have not been professionally evaluated nor have they been evaluated by the U.S. FDA.

Dress Up That Veggie Burger!

To improve the nutritional profile even more, dress those veggie burgers up! Use whole-wheat buns and slap on some baby leaf lettuce, fresh basil, sautéed mushrooms, tomato slices, and/or avocado slices. The more healthy veggies, the better!

______________________________

______________________________

______________________________

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • MelangeSpace1 profile image

      Melange Space 

      2 years ago from Trinidad & Tobago

      Trying this one today!

    • My Bell profile imageAUTHOR

      Marcelle Bell 

      3 years ago

      Thank you so much, Ecogranny! I liked your FB page - lots of great whole food recipes! We both love to cook with fresh ingredients. I will definitely check out some of your recipes.

    • ecogranny profile image

      Kathryn Grace 

      3 years ago from San Francisco

      Thank you for the rating list! I have yet to find a commercial veggie burger I like, but I haven't tried Dr. Praeger's or the Luna Burger, so I will see if I can find those locally.

      I usually make mine from scratch, using black beans. Your recipe looks so good that I am posting it as the Recipe of the Day on a Facebook page I curate titled Cooking with Whole Grains & Whole Foods.

      Thank you for sharing the links, reviews and recipe. Much appreciated!

    • lambservant profile image

      Lori Colbo 

      4 years ago from Pacific Northwest

      I enjoy a good veggie burger but good ones, without junk in them are hard to find. I love the Praegers California ones but I can't always find them. I can't wait to make this.

      Thanks.

    • Martin VK profile image

      Martin VK 

      4 years ago from Copenhagen, Denmark

      The burger looks very nice :) gonna try this sometime

    • RWally profile image

      Ruth Walerstein 

      4 years ago from Palm Beach Gardens, FL

      I love veggie burgers, but they are so high in sodium. Your recipe sounds good, but the calories are way too high. The Boca Original Vegan veggie burger is only 70 calories, 5 fat calories, 0 cholesterol, and 280 mg of sodium. It tastes okay, but not great. I put mine in a Smart Pocket with ketchup, relish or pickle slices (of course pickles add sodium) and lettuce. Yummy!

    • My Bell profile imageAUTHOR

      Marcelle Bell 

      4 years ago

      That sounds like a good idea. I love mushrooms. Thanks Vvitta!

    • Vvitta profile image

      Kalai 

      4 years ago from Petaling Jaya, Malaysia

      I enjoy vegetarian buyers where thereat is repaved with these huge mushrooms that has been grilled in butter and topped with a grilled pineapple ring. Simply delicious. cam be done at home too. Try it all vegetarian friends.

    • My Bell profile imageAUTHOR

      Marcelle Bell 

      4 years ago

      Thank you, Flourish! I love that this recipe is flexible and you can vary it with different seasonings. The Luna Burgers are delicious too and made completely with whole foods from Ohio farms but you have to mainly order online with a certain quantity. I don't eat meat either!

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 

      4 years ago from USA

      Thank you for this! I don't eat red meat and have enjoyed Gardenburgers but few other brands. My grandfather was a vegetarian and had a great recipe for "Meatless Hamburgers" but it had nuts in it and I shouldn't do nuts due to allergies, so you provide a good alternative. I'm pinning this so I can come back to it and others can enjoy it, too.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)