jump to last post 1-7 of 7 discussions (7 posts)

How to make black icing

1. Fawntia profile image
    Fawntiaposted 8 years ago

How to make black icing

If I need black frosting for Halloween, what's the best way to do it? I'm afraid that mixing together different liquid food coloring is going to thin the icing too much or turn it an ugly (not black) color.

2. carriegoff profile image72
    carriegoffposted 8 years ago

Well, I'm no expert, but I have tried to make black icing before and couldn't do it. It was always a muddy brown and that much food coloring tastes bad.

My advice to you is to buy black icing. The other thing you can try is see if someone sells black food coloring. You can also buy super concentrated food coloring that is more intense than the liquid you get in the grocery store.

But as for me, I make EVERYTHING from scratch, and I buy black icing.

3. Specialk3749 profile image60
    Specialk3749posted 8 years ago

My daughter made a cake with black frosting.  She said to substitue Black Dutch cocoa powder for the cocoa in a chocolate frosting  recipe.  You can find the cocoa powder at the King Arthur Flour website.  She wasn't sure about the exact website, so you will have to search it.

4. pageantgirl31413 profile image82
    pageantgirl31413posted 8 years ago

Wilton sells black frosting concentrate that you add to your frosting. A little goes a long way. I usually use wiltons food colorings.  People say you can start with chocolate frosting and add the four colors from the food coloring. However, I always make mine from scratch so I use the concentrate. Here's the site for you http://www.wilton.com/store/site/produc … D538D55E2B . That goes directly to the icing colors.

5. andyizeluk profile image54
    andyizelukposted 8 years ago