ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Cheap Xbox Live Codes Website Review

Updated on June 16, 2011

Cheapxboxlivecodes.com Review

This is a review of cheapxboxlivecodes.com and is an honest review written by someone who has nothing to do with the company except placing an order with them.

Xbox Live is an awesome service but it is not worth buying Xbox Live Gold over the dashboard as it is more expensive, Microsoft makes it hard to cancel and auto renews it so you may be paying for Xbox Live when you have got rid of an Xbox - not cool!

I have already discussed where you can get cheap xbox live gold if you live in the U.S.A and other options for getting Xbox Live Gold.

The good news is many places sell Xbox Live gold subscriptions online and this is a review of one site called cheapxboxlivecodes.com

 Xbox From http://s2.hubimg.com/u/3100389_f260.jpg Originally from http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3411/4565561717_2207e64f9f.jpg
Xbox From http://s2.hubimg.com/u/3100389_f260.jpg Originally from http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3411/4565561717_2207e64f9f.jpg

Are they genuine?

The simple answer is yes they are a genuine site but it did take a lot longer for my code to come to my email than they suggested.  It took me over a day to receive the card but there were some problems as I shall explain.  

I ordered the card fine and paid only £26.99 for a 12 month Xbox Live Gold membership which is pretty good considering you pay £40 over the xbox dashboard.  Then after a while I received an email saying they had received my order but they needed to verify the time I ordered, the date and give a landline and mobile phone number.  This is what caused all the problems.  Apparently once you have done this you don't ever have to do this again.

The thing is the site does look genuine but with any site like this you do ask is this a scam and a real site. At this point they had took the money from my Paypal and I was starting to ask myself that question.  I did not really want to send them an email with my phone number but I did so anyway.

However then I would not let me send an email.  I tried again and again and again and no emails would get through.  At this point I thought the site was a scam.  I then saw on their website you could send an email under the contact us section and sent them a message saying that I could not send them an email from my email account and I would like to have my card now.  

Within a couple of minutes I got my card sent to my email address.  I quickly hurried to my Xbox 360 to make sure it worked and happily it did!


Would I recommend the site?

Probably not - the verification thing was a pain in the arse but the prices were pretty good and it turned out to be genuine.  I would rather personally order from Amazon.com and get it slightly cheaper than it would be from the dashboard and save myself about 2 hours of worrying!

Your views

See results

Have you used this site - give us your views on cheapxboxlivecodes.com

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Anton 

      5 years ago

      The site is a pain nowadays. I went on there to buy some MS points and XBL. I've bought stuff there before and it has always worked well.

      No on the other hand the have a verifications process which is both stupid and extremely slow. And it makes you feel that they want all your information.

      www.xboxliveuk76.com (here is a site you can use instead)

    • ns1209 profile imageAUTHOR

      ns1209 

      5 years ago from UK - England

      I would not never buy from independents but it is worth doing a bit of research on them before buying. Paypal should be able to help you anyway - good luck.

      I might update this if I get a couple more comments like yours!

    • profile image

      Leo 

      5 years ago

      Yeah, its been 9 days now and nothing. Even paypal contacted them and they have not responded. But I still have to wait until June 16 just for paypal to get to a decision. Never will I buy anything from an independent website again unless its proven legit.....

    • ns1209 profile imageAUTHOR

      ns1209 

      5 years ago from UK - England

      Oh dear. Guys that doesn`t sound good. While my codes arrived when I ordered with them I didn`t really like the site and it was not instant but to be fair they did arrive.

      Maybe they have become a scam website again!

    • profile image

      Leo 

      5 years ago

      I bought xbox gold live code and I have not yet received anything. Their ad says 3-5 days...its been 7 days now and I have contacted the verified email on paypal as well as contacted the website and both have not replied. Its been 3 days since I contacted them...I already filed a dispute with paypal. Hopefully, I get my money back or if, and that is a big IF, they are legit, they get into action and email me my codes...I will never buy from them again, legit or not.

    • profile image

      kirk 

      5 years ago

      Don't use this website it is a scam, i ordered my microsoft points, didn't receive them then got numerous emails stating that they will refund me. I still haven't received any refund that was 9 days ago, i have received numerous emails saying i will get refunded today, again that was 9 days ago.. Very dodgy company, and the correspondance from them is bad too, no explanation, and out of pocket, i strongly suggest you don't use this site unless you want no microsoft ppints or live, and out of pocket!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)