ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Health»
  • Alternative & Natural Medicine

About Chakras and Healing

Updated on November 21, 2013

Chakra originates from the Sanskrit word Cakra


What is a Chakra?

The Term Chakras origninated from the Sanskrit word Cakra meaning wheel or circle . Chakras are circularly depicted energy centers within the body which process information related to our thoughts, feelings and behavioral signatures. There are seven major Chakras which channel in a path in alignment through the axis of the spine. They are part of the etheric body however recent scientific study has indicated a more physical prescence through the field of bioenergetics.

Chakras are described as being shaped as a wheel or circle


While there are many Chakras within the body, generally focus is given to the seven main Chakras. Chakras are most often described in the shape of a wheel, fan or flower (lotus). They are wide at the front and spin or rotate depending on the energy interaction. A color association also exhists for each Chakra which provides a tool for meditation. Chakras origninated from Eastern healing practices, namely, Hinduism, Tantric and Buddhism. They are a set of energetic systems in place similar to the Kabalas' Middle Pillar conceptually. They map the macro and micro to each pathway through the psychological/physiological connection. The ancient practice has become a popular new age concept and westernized to involve simple meditation and visualization which provides healing through a mind/body/spirit focus. According to the Tantras, each Chakra cooresponds to one of the elements known to make up the world. Namely: solidity, liquidity, the gaseous, the aerial, and the etheric or space. The Chakras regulate the flow of energy through our system. We control the functionality of these energy centers. Our thoughts and interactions directly affect how this energy is handled, stored and projected. Knowing the relationship between the seven Chakras allows us to focus on these pathways/channels and directly coorespond to our physical wellness.

7 Main Chakras


A Breakdown of the 7 Chakras


The first Chakra is the Root Chakra. It is located between the thighs and halfway between the knees outside the physical body. This Chakra connects to the Earth's energy and is a grounding force. The Root Chakra deals with Survival and is blocked by Fear.

Color Association: Red

General: Physical Connection, Earth, Physical Identity

Physical Blocks Manifested: Lower back, rectal, immune system, spinal column, kidneys, legs, feet, depression

Stored: instincts, familial beliefs, fear, security, physical pleasure or pain, goals, self esteem, survival.


The second Chakra is the Sacral Chakra. It is located in the center of the lower abdomen to the navel. This Chakra relates to the wants and needs of the body. It is also representative of human emotions. The Sacral Chakra deals with Pleasure and is blocked by Guilt.

Color Association: Orange

General: Emotional Connections, Sensations, Reproduction, Intimacy

Physical Blocks Manifested: Sexual Organs, Taste Senses, Pelvic, Urinary, Stomache, Liver, Upper Intestines, Gallbladder, Pancreas, Adrenal Glands, Spleen, Spine (middle)

Stored: Emotions, Sexuality, Intimate Relationships, Connection to Others, Food, Eating Disorders, Sensation and Pleasure, Sex, Blame, Guilt, Power, Money

Spleen Chakra



The third Chakra is the Solar Plexus or Power Center Chakra. It is located in the center of the body in the stomach. This Chakra is primarily related to the ego or self. It is the hub for self power and identity. This Chakra deals with Willpower and is blocked by Shame.

Color Association: Yellow

General: Self Esteem, Perfection, focus, Sight, Power, Control, Freedom, Personality, Life Force.

Physical Blocks Manifested: Feet, legs, digestion

Stored: recognition, longevity, immortality


The fourth Chakra is the Heart Chakra. It is located at the heart or center of the chest. This Chakra deals with love, relationships which connect us, touch and self love. It is based in Love and is blocked by Grief.

Color Association: Green

General: those close to the heart ie: children, parents, siblings; decisions

Physical Blocks Manifested: Skin, Hands

Stored: honor, humiliation, love, rejection, abandonment, compassion


The fifth Chakra is the Visuddha Chakra. It is located at the base or behind the throat. This Chakra relates primarily to expression as well as the ability to receive. It deals with Truth and is blocked by Lies (the ones we tell ourselves).

Color Association: Sky Blue

General: Listening to Intuition, communication, artistic or other expressions, creativity, manifesting, abundance, goals (fulfillment)

Physical Blocks Manifested: Thyroid, Ears, Mouth, Throat

Stored: trepidation, hearing, emotions, personal space, communication


The sixth Chakra is the Ajna Chakra. It is located at the center of the forehead between the eyebrows. This Chakra is also called the third eye as it relates to the subconscious, the spirit and also clairvoyance within all the senses. It deals primarily with Insight and is blocked by Illusion.

Color Association: Indigo, Midnight Blue

General: higher realms, spiritual connection, messages, intuition, insight, neutrality, cognigtion,

Physical Blocks Manifested: Pituitary Gland, Forehead and Temples

Stored: loneliness, spiritual growth, imagination, dreaming, psychic abilities, bliss, future, affection.


The seventh Chakra is the Sahasrara Chakra also known as the "I Am" Center. It is located above the head (top of cranium). This Chakra is related to our spiritual connections. It is considered the level of the soul. It deals with Cosmic Energy and is blocked by Earthly Attachments.

Color Association: Violet

General: Spiritual Connection, Consiousness, Creation, Inner Light, Higher Realms, White Light, Knowing.

Physical Blocks Manifested: Head, Brain, Nervous System, Pineal Gland

Stored: isolation, understanding, truth and reality, pure bliss, Life, Purpose, Faith

  By developing an awareness and knowledge of the 7 Chakras, an expansion of conscious awareness occurs.  The result is a quantative journey in which the ultimate goal is a sense of enlightenment, balance between the body, mind, spirit and an achivement of higher awareness regarding our universe in connection with ourselves.  Through meditation and removing past and present negativity these vessels begin to open and reveal insights into everyday life.  Removing blocks will not only aide in spiritual well being but will also assist the process of healing the physical body. 


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • dagny roth profile image

      dagny roth 6 years ago from Neverland

      Thank you Catsimmons!~

    • catsimmons profile image

      Catherine Simmons 6 years ago from Mission BC Canada

      Interesting hub and beautiful photos :-)