ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Health»
  • Alternative & Natural Medicine

Chakra Overview

Updated on January 27, 2014

What our Chakras are

Chakras are power points in the human body that circulate energy and are vertically aligned in the center of the body close to the spine. When the Chakras are unhealthy or blocked, it negatively affects our physical and mental health.

Below are the attributes of the seven major Chakras with their Sanskrit names. To work on a particular Chakra, you can carry or wear the associated color, gems, metals, or a combination of each. You should also be aware of the particular qualities of the Chakra and be aware of your thoughts and actions.

First Chakra

Root Chakra (Muladhara)
Location: Perineum at base of spine
Color: Red
Gems: Ruby, Bloodstone, Hematite
Metals: Lead
Qualities: patience, stability, security, the ability to manifest your dreams
Positive: The mother; Negative: The victim
**Remain positive and open to all possibilities**

Second Chakra

Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana)
Location: Two inches below the navel
Color: Orange
Gems: Cornelian, Tiger's Eye, Onyx
Metals: Tin
Qualities: sexuality, sensuality, pleasure, abundance
Positive: The emperor/empress; Negative: The martyr
**Find what is simple to create joy and pleasure, as complexity strips it away**

Third Chakra

Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)
Location: Between the sternum and stomach
Orange: Yellow
Gems: Topaz, Citrine, Amber
Metals: Iron, Gold
Qualities: self-worth/esteem, confidence, personal power, freedom of choice
Positive: The warrior; Negative: The servant
**Face challenges to develop inner grit and realize your internal will to go after needs and desires**

Fourth Chakra

Heart Chakra (Anahata)
Location: Middle of the chest
Color: Green or Pink (Green for protection, Pink for the heart itself)
Gems: Rose Quartz, Diamond, Peridot
Metals: Copper, Gold
Qualities: unity, peace, love, purity
Positive: The lover; Negative: The actor/actress
**Feed the heart with positive energy. The heart thrives on joy, openness, sharing, and touch**

Fifth Chakra

Throat Chakra (Vishuddha)
Location: Throat
Color: Light Blue
Gems: Turquoise, Blue Agate, Aquamarine
Metals: Mercury
Qualities: communication, creativity, truthfulness, integrity
Positive: The communicator; Negative: The silent child
**Be true to yourself. Speak your truth. It is a disservice to your integrity when you fail to honor your individuality**

Sixth Chakra

Brow Chakra (Ajna)
Location: Between the eyebrows
Color: Indigo
Gems: Sodalite, Sapphire, Tanzanite, Lapis Lazuli
Metals: Silver
Qualities: wisdom, intuition, imagination
Positive: The wise person; Negative: The intellectual
**Awaken your mind and question what has been taught to be true or false. Examine self-limiting ideas that deny the importance of your self-worth**

Seventh Chakra

Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)
Location: Top of the skull
Color: Violet or White
Gems: Amethyst, Alexandrite
Metals: Platinum
Qualities: beauty, serenity, oneness with all that is
Positive: The guru; Negative: The egotist
**Balance worldly activity with spiritual pursuits to remain grounded in life and to bring healing and transformation to our world. Enlightenment often leads us to reject what we have been, to pursue what we could become**

Meditating on the Chakras

Refer to to read about a meditation on Chakra balancing.


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.