Gun Laws in Alabama
Because firearms can be a very dangerous tool in the hands of the wrong person, every state has their own gun laws and regulations. For the state of Alabama, the laws are considered more liberal when compared to the laws of other states.
Before you get caught for unlawful gun possession, you want to make sure that you are aware of and understand the laws in your state.
Purchasing and Possessing Firearms
In the state of Alabama, you must be over 18 years old to purchase a rifle or shotgun from a licensed dealer in any state, but if you're purchasing a handgun, you must be at least 21 years old. Minors are not allowed to posses or carry a handgun.
If you're trying to determine the what is considered a rifle or shotgun, Alabama deems any gun without a shoulder stock to be such firearm.
When trying to purchase a firearm, Alabama has various restrictions other than age that may pose a restriction on whether or not you may be able to purchase a firearm.
- History of violence or convicted of a violent crime in the state
- History of disorderly conduct
- History of alcohol or drug-related problems
- Considered legally mentally unstable
- Have a felon on your record
Penalties for Illegal Purchase of Firearms
Handguns are restricted for individuals over 18 years old who are of a sound mind and are not legally restricted from possession. If this restriction is violated, fines may total of $50.00 to $500.00.
If you alter, change, or erase any identifying markings on a firearm, you may be convicted of a Class B felony if done with the connection of another crime, otherwise the offense is a Class C felony.
Penalties for Illegal Possession of Firearms
It is a state violation to be caught in possesson of a sawed-off shotgun (short barreled shotgun), and you may face a Class C felony charge.
If you are caught with a firearm while attending a public demostration or within 1,000 feet of one, you may be punished with a misdemeanor.
Carrying a concealed weapon without a permit, may be punished with a fine of $50.00 to $500.00, as well as potential for imprisonment in the county jail or a sentence for hard labor for the county for up to 6 months.
When it comes to carrying firearms, Alabama law is fairly open; the main concern is that it is against Alabama law to carry a concealed handgun without a permit. You do not need a permit to posses a firearm, but you do need a permit to carry a concealed weapon.
Alabama requires a gun permit to carry concealed a pistol, firearm, or airgun, which means without a permit, it is illegal to carry a pistol hidden on your body or concealed in a vehicle. If you are on your own private property, you may carry a concealed weapon with/without a permit.
In Alabama, you may not carry a rifle or shotgun walking cane.
If you are not a resident of Alabama, you may carry a handgun as long as you can provide proper documentation that you are qualified to carry the weapon in the state to which you reside.
Places You Cannot Carry a Firearm
Even with a permit to carry a concealed weapon, you may not carry firearms into airports, courthouses, public buildings, to public gatherings (sporting events, parades, political events, etc.), or any city, state, or federal facility.
You may not carry a firearm into or around any location that specifically states that firearms are not allowed. If you have a firearm with you, you may be asked to leave, and if you refuse, you may be charged with tresspassing.