ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Does The Apple Patch Diet Make The Grade?

Updated on March 8, 2011

The Name

Contrary to the impression you might get from the name, the Apple Patch Diet makes no use of transdermal patches whatsoever. In fact, the product this company markets is a diet pill. Says the official site:

"Simply take two Apple Patch Diet capsules in the morning with a full glass of water... THAT'S IT!"

If only weight loss were that simple... If you're one of the many people struggling with weight, chances are you've come across at least one diet scam in your life (if you haven't, take a moment to scroll through the hundreds of dissatisfied customers on my hub about Wu-Yi tea). Everyone's looking for that magic bullet, and unfortunately, it eludes us with the Apple Patch Diet, as with so many other products that promise such impressive results.

The Claim

The ingredients of the Apple Patch capsules are pretty standard, as far as weight loss aids go: Hoodia, Yerba Matae, Green Tea Leaf Extract, Guarana, White Willow Bark, etc. So what are they claiming is so special about this particular pill? On the "Why It Works" section of the website, the company extols the virtues of Hoodia in particular, citing a BBC report by correspondent Tom Mangold, stating that after eating a piece of hoodia the size of half a banana, his hunger was completely satiated for a full 24 hours.

The Game

Now, according to the Hoodia Company, a 1/4 tsp of hoodia powder weighs approximately 400 milligrams. The pills the Apple Patch diet is selling each contain 500 mg of hoodia. I'm no mathematician, but the difference between a quarter of a teaspoon and a half a banana seems rather large, and would lead me to believe that there's a lot less hoodia in these capsules than demonstrated the miraculous effects Mr. Mangold reported on his visit to the Kalahari. All this, assuming that the hoodia included in the Apple Patch pills is genuine Hoodia Gordonii, which, as you can read on my hoodia hub, you can't always be sure of.

Another red flag is raised by the Apple Patch Diet's affiliate program. Unlike a large number of affiliate programs on the net, which are happy for the free publicity, the Apple Patch Diet requires that affiliates pay to promote their product. Google "Apple Patch Diet," and the complaints of unsatisfied affiliates on FriendsInBusiness.com message boards are the number two result, second only to the official Apple Patch Diet website itself.

All in all, my opinion is that affiliates and dieters alike would do well to steer clear of the Apple Patch Diet, and focus instead on getting in that apple a day, as part of a healthy diet.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Fivestar 

      10 years ago

      thanks for the summary, thought it looked too good to be true.

    • rolandfrasier profile image

      rolandfrasier 

      10 years ago from San Diego, California, USA

      Interesting hub. Did you figure out why they call it a "patch" diet? If there is no patch involved, I am kind of curious? Cheers, Roland

    • fakonig profile image

      fakonig 

      10 years ago from Cape Town

      Diet pills don't work, changing your eating habits does. Diet pills are the refuge of the not so commited to make themselves feel better, at least you are trying fools talk. LOL!

    • Patty Inglish, MS profile image

      Patty Inglish 

      10 years ago from USA. Member of Asgardia, the first space nation, since October 2016

      Great information that everyone needs to have, Maddie!

      The only pill I know personally that eliminates appetite is Ritalin in some of my students when they weere in elementary school! Diet scams are a buig business and people keepo thinking. "Maybe the NEXT one will work." They need to realize for what good that money could have been used instead of pills.

      Thanks for these reviews. :)

    • skatoolaki profile image

      skatoolaki 

      10 years ago from Louisiana

      So many scams, so little time to weed through them all! Thanks for the info and heads up!

    • Jason Stanley profile image

      Jason Stanley 

      10 years ago

      Once again - you hit a bulls eye!

      As a professional in the weight loss arena, I agree, There is no magic bullet. And certainly there will not be a magic pill- no matter what the guy wanting your money says.

      Thanks for your insight and willingness to honestly address these issues.

    • Sapristi! profile image

      Sapristi! 

      10 years ago

      Thanks for debunking another nutrition scam! I love reading your posts.

    • Rob Jundt profile image

      Rob Jundt 

      10 years ago from Midwest USA

      I always thought this was a scam. Thanks for the insight.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)