jump to last post 1-5 of 5 discussions (9 posts)

Does that www.lumosity.com site really help improve your brain?

1. Laura Schneider profile image91
    Laura Schneiderposted 4 years ago

Does that www.lumosity.com site really help improve your brain?

I see all these ads for "Lumosity" and how good it supposedly is for you, making your mind sharper and helping you think and learn faster. Has anyone tried it? Does it work? Have any scientific studies been done by unbiased 3rd parties (i.e. not the company that makes Lumosity) on a statistically significant number of people with statistically significant results? Thanks!

https://usercontent1.hubstatic.com/6041540_f260.jpg

2. duffsmom profile image59
    duffsmomposted 4 years ago

I tried their free trial and while I am no expert at this kind of thing, it seemed to me no different than playing games on Facebook --simple, uncomplicated guessing games.  It was fun but not worth the subscription fee in my opinion.

Laura Schneiderposted 4 years agoin reply to this

Thanks, duffsmom! That was my impression, too, but I wanted some other inputs before recommending/not recommending it to my aging parents. Cheers!

3. Dr Billy Kidd profile image92
    Dr Billy Kiddposted 4 years ago

Nothing works better to improve mental functioning than fish oil (omega 3 fat) along with an enzyme capsule (to aid digestion). Brain neurons are composed largely of DHA, which is found in fish oil. Also, serotonin (5 HTP) capsules help the hippocampus grow. That allows short term memory (what we remember about the immediate present) to translate better into long term memory.

Luminosity, on the other hand, is a composed of mind games that help you to keep track of things. I tell people to do the fish oil and enzymes, along with the 5 HTP, and then enroll in an online degree program (if they need some great mind games that actually lead somewhere).