ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Books, Literature, and Writing

Arctic Island Mist 1 - Book Review

Updated on July 21, 2015
CrisSp profile image

CrisSp is your Emergency Specialist at 37 thousand feet. A writer without a niche. Wonderwoman consumed by wanderlust!

“Faith is the spark that ignites the impossible and causes it to become possible. When a person’s faith is activated, it sets in motion supernatural power that enables that person to do what he normally would never be able to do!” ~Rick Renner

Arctic Island Mist
Arctic Island Mist | Source
Source

The thought of a freezing wind smacked my face while reading this book. Arctic Island Mist is a transporting story that will allow us to deeply look back at our lives. Rolly Chabot, the author took us on a journey that teaches about hope and faith-faith in ourselves and faith in others and in serving other people in order to enrich our lives.

It is a story about the power of faith and love that will direct us to think and believe that everyone deserves a second chance, if we only accept the changes and acknowledge the blessings of our existence with a purpose and to work on it.

"A successful owner of a private airline who catered to the oil rich clients. He had it all. Nothing was missing."

“Todd Morris like many found himself caught up in a fast paced lifestyle. The owner of a once thriving airline company with a family and all that a man could ask for. His choices separated from all of which has become important to him."

However, Todd failed. His marriage failed-a broken family. His business went down. No career. No money at all. He was broke and completely broken. The people around him changed. His world changed. The unavoidable fact of life is that, we cannot avoid adversities. Todd was knocked down but his attitude in getting up after his downhill experience will inspire us to move on. It teaches us the importance of learning how to settle our lives with hopes and simply live it.

In the book, the author tells us the heartwarming story of a man who lost everything due to his addiction and alcoholism and of how people could easily judge us and act with superiority. He tells us about the compassionate story of a once lost soul and how he rose up back to life to reclaim his soul with grace through fellowship. The book tells us how an addict recovered with faith and what faith is all about when he was offered a job while on the road to recovery and how strangers and people he never ever met impacted his life.

Source

“Addiction and alcoholism took over Todd’s life but he took the second chance given to him...

...and turned his life all over again with love despite the pain and sufferings.”

It is a remarkable journey between two worlds: The first class world of greed and materialism and the world where people live with just the basics but are perfectly happy and contented and where there is abundance of love and peace.

“We do live day to day here. When we have nothing, we have everything.”

It also gives us a glimpse of the lives of the North American natives called the Inuit and their culture who live throughout most of the Canadian Arctic particularly around the Arctic Ocean.

Although some parts of the book could be described as graphics and not for the faint of heart, “ he took a slice of the liver and ate it raw” --the book also teaches us about the Inuit’s adventurous yet humble way of life, their native language and of the language of love, so powerful that no actual words are needed to actually say it. In the book, we’ll learn that it is indeed, sky is the limit and that love is all that matters. Love towards our fellow human being but most of all love of thy self.

“This place had changed him and he was beginning to like the changes within himself where he had come to set aside wealth.”

Added bonus from the book: Here you’ll find great survival tips in the wilderness and out in the cold.

Arctic Island Mist is a story of gentleness and patience through the harsh reality of life and how our past lives can connect us to the future. It invites us to explore what life is all about and encourage us to discover more from it. This is not a story of defeat but of the opportunity to get our lives right from the mistakes of the past. We all have a choice and this book by Rolly Chabot will make us think to choose the right angle on the reality of life.

“He had finally found a place where he found some peace. His surroundings were meager and yet fulfilling.”

In the end, Todd survived the many challenges of becoming an addict and overcame it. He has learned to navigate without a compass and go to the right direction in life. He no longer lives a miserable life. He's accepted the company of new friends and appreciates the loyalty of the old ones. He met a lovely Inuk and remarried. He was reunited with his own children and finally got his life back on the track.

How? You have to read the book to find out. So, get your copy now!

Quick Poll

After reading the review, will you buy the book?

See results

Copyright@CrisSp~TM/09-2013. Fearless but not Heartless!

© 2013 CrisSp

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Gymnastic 2 years ago

      I am exploring the Internet as I never have berfoe. I have more time since I reitred. There is quite a rich diversity of information in blogs so I am getting involved and commenting. I don’t understand everything that is in all the blogs that I read, but I like your presentation here in this website

    • CrisSp profile image
      Author

      CrisSp 3 years ago from Sky Is The Limit Adventure

      hawaiianodysseus: Awww...sweetness indeed Joe and I am one grateful Flight Attendant! Always happy to see you. What a coincidence! I was in Orlando last week too but only a return flight. I hope you had a great flight and that they treat you well. As I always tell the passengers in my zone...we're all VIP's. So, everybody's special!

      My last book review was written when I was still in school. Long ago, you see. Rolly's book is quite a story and since I haven't really done a book review on HP, I thought it's good try. Thank you for always being so generous and supportive of my endeavors.

      I'm sure you have a story to tell us while on board and at 30 thousand feet. Share please, hub it!

      Love from the sky~

    • hawaiianodysseus profile image

      Hawaiian Odysseus 3 years ago from Southeast Washington state

      Cris, first of all, hello, my friend, and I'm so happy to read more of your writing once again. My family and I flew to and from Orlando last week, and whenever I'm in an airplane being graciously served by the wonderful stewardesses and occasional steward, I think of one of my favorite HP writers--you!

      This is a "double scoop" ice cream cone--acknowledging a former Hubber and promoting his published novel (which definitely sounds like an autobiography). You did such a terrific job of researching and writing this piece. I know Rolly must be feeling so honored and grateful.

      Aloha and best wishes for a wonderful new week ahead, my friend!

      ~Joe

    • CrisSp profile image
      Author

      CrisSp 3 years ago from Sky Is The Limit Adventure

      Vinaya: You're welcome and thank you for stopping by here. :)

    • CrisSp profile image
      Author

      CrisSp 3 years ago from Sky Is The Limit Adventure

      My pleasure aviannovice. Say hello to our friends in the sky out there.

    • CrisSp profile image
      Author

      CrisSp 3 years ago from Sky Is The Limit Adventure

      DDE: Thank you. Love and light to you.

    • CrisSp profile image
      Author

      CrisSp 3 years ago from Sky Is The Limit Adventure

      Thank you Eddy. My pleasure to share. Sending you some love from the sky.

    • CrisSp profile image
      Author

      CrisSp 3 years ago from Sky Is The Limit Adventure

      Anna Haven: Thank you darlin'. Lovely to see you here.

    • Vinaya Ghimire profile image

      Vinaya Ghimire 3 years ago from Nepal

      I have read some of the works of Rolly Chabot on HubPages. Thanks for this wonderful review.

      PS: thanks for reading and leaving thoughtful comment on my hub.

    • aviannovice profile image

      Deb Hirt 3 years ago from Stillwater, OK

      This sure sounds like a great and uplifting book. Thanks, Cris!

    • DDE profile image

      Devika Primić 3 years ago from Dubrovnik, Croatia

      Sounds a great book and with such a brilliant review put together one would surely be interested in a purchase well done on this review.

    • Eiddwen profile image

      Eiddwen 3 years ago from Wales

      A great review and thank you for sharing.

      Eddy.

    • Anna Haven profile image

      Anna Haven 3 years ago from Scotland

      A full review which leaves the reader with burning questions. You gave away just enough to leave us wondering, and wanting answers. Nicely done :)

    • CrisSp profile image
      Author

      CrisSp 3 years ago from Sky Is The Limit Adventure

      justthemessenger: Thank you for reading and commenting. You've raised a very good question....I don't think a copyright is needed for that matter. The book is my personal copy as well as the photo. Any reviews (good or bad) is actually a way of promoting the product. In general, I don't think any author will raise a legal issue on that.

      Moving forward, make sure you're posting your original photos or give appropriate credit. I've posted quite a few photos of some books related to my hubs before and I never had any issues with HP. You should be okay.

      Goodluck and will look forward to reading your reviews.

    • CrisSp profile image
      Author

      CrisSp 3 years ago from Sky Is The Limit Adventure

      Hi Janet! So pleased to see you here and thank you for input. I'll see you around HP. Take care.

    • CrisSp profile image
      Author

      CrisSp 3 years ago from Sky Is The Limit Adventure

      Hi Bill, pleasure is mine. You're a superman already for all your contributions and inspirations here on HP, I'm sure dear Rolly will understand. Thank you for your never ending support (in and out of HP). All is well in my part of the world.

      Love from the sky~

    • CrisSp profile image
      Author

      CrisSp 3 years ago from Sky Is The Limit Adventure

      CraftytotheCore: Thank you. I personally love that line too.

    • CrisSp profile image
      Author

      CrisSp 3 years ago from Sky Is The Limit Adventure

      Hello Faith dearest! I'm sure you'll enjoy this one from our fellow hubber, Rolly. Thank you for your support and for voting and sharing. Hope all is well with you.

      Love from the sky~

    • CrisSp profile image
      Author

      CrisSp 3 years ago from Sky Is The Limit Adventure

      FlourishAnyway: It is indeed and so glad to have a copy of the book. I've been wanting to write the review but was caught up with my busy life outside HP. Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment. I very much appreciate it. Cheers!

    • justthemessenger profile image

      James C Moore 3 years ago from The Great Midwest

      The main character who goes through some type of change from what he/she was at the beginning of the story is a classic basic element to a good novel. You caught this aspect of the story. Good job.

      I am interested in doing book reviews also. Do you need copyright permission to photograph the book's cover and display it on Hub pages?

    • janetwrites profile image

      Janet Giessl 3 years ago from Georgia country

      A very well-written and interesting book review. This book sounds interesting. Thanks for sharing.

    • billybuc profile image

      Bill Holland 3 years ago from Olympia, WA

      Thank you for the review, Cris! I wish I had the time to read all of the marvelous books written by Hubbers.

      I hope you are well my friend.

      blessings and love from Oly

      bill

    • CraftytotheCore profile image

      CraftytotheCore 3 years ago

      This looks like a book I would definitely like to read! I love that first quote above by Rick Renner.

    • Faith Reaper profile image

      Faith Reaper 3 years ago from southern USA

      Hi lovely Cris,

      Thank you for this wonderful review of dear Rolly's book! I loved reading his writings when he was writing here on HP, and his book sounds truly fascinating.

      Now, I know what he has been up to ...

      This is just the type of book I love to read, so I must purchase and support a friend.

      Awesome!

      Voted up ++++ and sharing

      God bless, Faith Reaper

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 3 years ago from USA

      Sounds like a riveting book of survival and finding oneself. Thanks for the information and for not giving away too much!