ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Book Review: Darkfever (Fever Series, Book 1) by Karen Marie Moning

Updated on April 11, 2011

Darkfever is the first book in the urban fantasy Fever series by New York Times bestselling author Karen Marie Moning

The plot

Darkfever begins with twenty-two year old Georgia native MacKayla Lane learning of the death of her sister, Alina, who went to Ireland to study at Trinity College in Dublin. When the police can't find any leads and the case is closed, Mac decides to go to Ireland herself to pursue the one somewhat dubious clue her sister left: a cryptic message telling Mac that she had been deceived, there was something they needed to find, and that Mac didn't even know what she was.

Upon her arrival in Ireland, Mac discovers that what she is, is a Sidhe-seer - someone who can see faeries, both light (Seelie) and dark (Unseelie). As a Sidhe-seer, she's able to see through the glamours (disguises) that the Fae use to walk among regular people in the regular world. The object that needs to be found is the Sinsar Dubh or "Dark Book" - an ancient faerie hallow of immense power. When Mac encounters rich, mysterious Jericho Barrons, owner of Barrons Books and Baubles, and discovers that he too is a Sidhe-seer - and possibly more - the two work together to find the Sinsar Dubh before the Fae get their hands on it and create hell on earth.

What I thought of Darkfever

This book didn't quite live up to its potential in my opinion. The basic storyline is good, and the different kinds of Fae - not your typical fairytale faeries - are interesting and unique. Basically, there's no such thing as a good faerie, even the Seelie (the 'light' kind). What stops this book from reaching its potential is the main character, Mac. She's unambitious, with no goals in life other than to look pretty and stay tanned (which she talks about a lot through the entire book). She resents being compared to Barbie but with her long blond hair, big breasts, 'tanned shapely legs' (again, something she mentions a lot), the fact that almost everything she owns is pink, plus the fact that she's pretty much a ditz, it's hard not to make those comparisons.

One of her few redeeming qualities is that she obviously loved her sister very much, as evidenced by her willingness to leave her sheltered life in small-town Georgia and travel all the way to Ireland on her own to solve the mystery of her sister's murder. On the other hand, this also kind of proves her stupidity - traveling to a foreign country, alone, when she's never traveled before, and heading straight to the city where her sister was brutally murdered. If she had been a strong, independent, intelligent character, it would have been more believable.

There are also few redeeming qualities in Jericho Barrons. He's aggressive, obnoxious and even brutal. At first, his main way of dealing with Mac is grabbing her or shoving her around. Even after leaving her bruised from nearly crushing her ribs, this doesn't keep Mac away from him, or stop her from eventually developing a somewhat grudging attraction to him. His attitude toward her improves slightly near the end of the book, and he wants to keep her safe, but his reasons are self-serving. I'm sure that as the series continues, a romance will develop between the two, or if not a romance, at least a physical relationship.

Call me curious, or simply a bear for punishment, but I'm going to read the second book in the series, Bloodfever.  I want to find out what happens, and being the eternal optimist that I am, I'm hopeful that Ms. Moning has put a little more effort into developing her characters, and that Mac will mature and grow into the type of strong-willed, determined person she needs to be to deal with her sister's murderer and the Fae, who are threatening life as we know it.

Thank you for reading

Thank you for reading Book Review: Darkfever (Fever Series, Book 1) by Karen Marie Moning.  If you enjoyed this article and found it useful, please vote it up, rate it, and/or leave a comment - you don't have to be a member of HubPages to leave comments. If you'd like to learn more about me and read my other articles here at Hubpages, you can visit my profile page. I love writing for HubPages, and would recommend it to anyone who's interested in writing online. If you'd like to join (it's free to join and a great way to make money online), you can sign up here.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • katpetersdorf profile image

      katpetersdorf 

      6 years ago from Washington, USA

      I think I automatically fell in love with Mac, because I own a tone of pink and look all frilly like Elle Woods but at the time same time I am a really strong, tough buisness woman. I read it and knew right away that Mac would turn into an Elle Woods (Legally Blonde) a pink barbie who is tough and can take on the world, in six inch heels no less.

    • SweetMarie83 profile imageAUTHOR

      Marie Landry 

      7 years ago from Ontario, Canada

      Keith, a lot of people tell me that it gets much better and that Mac matures a lot and actually becomes a likable character. I think I'll try to read the next book for the paranormal reading challenge I'm hosting next month.

    • Keith Worth profile image

      Keith Worth 

      7 years ago

      I agree with you 100% on how annoying Mac is in the first book. The foreshadowing keeps hinting that she'll grow to be a force with which to be reckoned though, so I'm sure I'll eventually read the rest of the series.

    • SweetMarie83 profile imageAUTHOR

      Marie Landry 

      7 years ago from Ontario, Canada

      Thanks for the comment KellyVial! I've heard that the series gets better and that it's quite addicting the farther you go. I have the rest of the books on my list, it's just sort of a matter of making time to read them!

    • profile image

      KellyVial 

      7 years ago

      I loved this series! The first book takes a little time in getting into but once you get into it, you understand Moning's style of writing is different and it's easier to follow along. I have the first 4 of the books in the series and became quite addicted to the story as a whole. I would have to read the last book to remember what the ending was, but hope that she continues writing about the different fae. Great review, I voted up on this one!

    • SweetMarie83 profile imageAUTHOR

      Marie Landry 

      7 years ago from Ontario, Canada

      Thanks Chasuk! I'm glad you liked the series, I have the next book on my ever-growing to-be-read pile.

    • profile image

      Chasuk 

      7 years ago

      I loved this series. Great review!

    • SweetMarie83 profile imageAUTHOR

      Marie Landry 

      7 years ago from Ontario, Canada

      Thank you so much Fay, that means a lot to me!

    • profile image

      Fay Paxton 

      7 years ago

      SweetMarie you do excellent book reviews. up/useful

    • SweetMarie83 profile imageAUTHOR

      Marie Landry 

      7 years ago from Ontario, Canada

      Thank you Cogerson!

    • Cogerson profile image

      UltimateMovieRankings 

      7 years ago from Virginia

      Great review, I will have to check this out...voted up

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)