ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Book Review: Drowning with Others

Updated on February 1, 2020
mygoblin profile image

Reading is a series of human emotions. Writing is the gift of sharing these emotions.

Summary

Ian and Andi Copeland are happily married. With three kids, businesses of their own, and a beautiful house in St. Louis, what else can they ask for? They are celebrated as the perfect couple in Glenlake Academy during their school years and up to the present time, everybody envies them for having a picture-perfect life. But then their so-called happy life goes down the drain as the remains of Dallas Walker is found in a submerged car from the bottom of a swimming hole near campus.

Dallas Walker was a writer and professor at Glenlake Academy who vanished 20 years ago during Ian and Andi’s senior year. Andi, the literary “It” girl was a teacher’s pet as everyone noticed, but just between her and professor Dallas, they were more than that; they were lovers.

Cassidy, Andi’s eldest daughter, is a resident of the same prestigious boarding school that her parents went to. Andi becomes anxious at the fact that Cassidy’s class is assigned to investigate on the case to find out if Dallas’ death was a suicide or murder. Ian has always hated Dallas and isn’t happy about the news either. As the Copeland couple strive to keep their past behind, it seems that their daughter is determined to resolve the mysterious case of Dallas Walker. In trying to solve the case, will Cassidy find out her parents’ secret from 20 years ago?

Review

Drowning with Others by Linda Keir is a mystery novel that’s hard to put down. I think the only time I stopped reading was when I had to pee. I enjoyed every page because of the author’s eloquence and smooth metaphors. Also, for writers or avid readers, when literature plays a big part in the story, it makes it a perfect read.

The story is told by switching between two timelines -- the present time and 20 years ago during Ian and Andi’s senior at Glenlake Academy. I love how the flow is suggestive of history repeating itself because Andi was a teacher’s pet and Cassidy seems to be the same because of Mr. Kelly, who has the same designation as the late Dallas Walker. Mother and daughter. Past and Present. Both are perceived as the literary “It” girls. Andi’s uneasy feeling towards the possibility of her daughter having an affair with her teacher just like she did two decades ago will give chills to readers who are parents just like Andi.

Overall, I am giving this 5 out of 5 stars. The ability of the author to write something that would stimulate the reader’s brain into speculating about what really happened to Dallas Walker made this novel a page-turner. This is highly recommended to readers who love mystery novels and I bet that even people with clairvoyance won’t guess how the story ends.

© 2020 Shey Saints

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment
    • mygoblin profile imageAUTHOR

      Shey Saints 

      14 months ago from Philippines

      Thank you for reading it!

    • Bushra Iqbal profile image

      Anya Ali 

      14 months ago from Rabwah, Pakistan

      Thank you for a helpful post! I'm always looking for good mystery novels to read.

    • mygoblin profile imageAUTHOR

      Shey Saints 

      14 months ago from Philippines

      Thanks, Umesh.

    • bhattuc profile image

      Umesh Chandra Bhatt 

      14 months ago from Kharghar, Navi Mumbai, India

      Good review. Interesting. Plot appears nice.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://maven.io/company/pages/privacy

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)