ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

10 Book Series similar to the Hunger Games Trilogy

Updated on October 10, 2012
The Hunger Games Poster
The Hunger Games Poster | Source

The Hunger Games

No doubt you will have heard of The Hunger Games - although it may be the film that has made more of an impact on people than the book itself (I loved the Books!) The trilogy of books has been a massive world wide success. I'm not going to go into a review of the book or even the plot itself as there are 100 other hubs and articles that do that, what I will say is that I think part of its success has come from being able to appeal to a hugely varied audience. Although it was originally marketed to teens, it has been a hit with adults too (alot like the Harry Potter series).

The storyline is gripping and unusual to most other books, a refreshing original idea. And the characters are more mature than those portrayed in most other 'teen' novels making it appealing to people of all ages. The idea of fighting against society (ruling class) is nothing new but the way this story depicts ideologies and the zeitgeist of the capital is so interesting and different. Having a femal hero (heroin) is also a change.

I know the length of a book really shouldn't matter too much, but in all honesty they are all a really good length. There is enough descriptive work and story details to make each installment interesting but not too much flowing, rambling prose to make the story drag at any point. They are fairly easy reads, meaning you can get through them at a good pace and that they are appealing to more people, even those who are reluctant or not so avid readers.

So with all that said if you haven't read The Hunger Games yet, then you should. And if you have read them, and loved them just as I did, you might be wondering what to read next? Where do you go from The Hunger Games if you like the Teen Dystopia Novel? (Dystopia is the idea of another way of society from our own, a different cultural ideology from anything in the world now, just incase you were wondering). On this hub you will find a list of other books which fall into the teen dystopia novel genre. I can't confess to have read them all, but I am working my way through them and they all come recommended via friends on Goodreads. Although they are all very different from The Hunger games, and from each other, they all fall into the teen dystopia genre and the idea of fighting society, similar to The Hunger Games - although I have yet to read one quite as brutal and hard hitting.

Birthmarked Trilogy - Caragh O'Brien

This series is made up of Birthmarked, Prized and Promised. Following the character of 16 year old Gaia. Set in a time when the world has been baked dry and supplies are limited. The rich and privileged live inside the walls of the enclave, while everyone else lives outside. Gaia is a new midwife and as such must deliver her quota of newborns to the wall to be advanced in society. But she soon find out there is a little more to it than that.

You can see my full review of Birthmarked here. But just to say that I really like the series and am just waiting to get my hands on the last part. I think it is directed more towards girls, but women of all ages will find something compelling within it.

Divergent Trilogy - Veronica Roth

This series is made up of Divergent, Insurgent and a 3rd yet to be named book due out Out 2013. Set in a future where society is separated and live their life according to 5 virtues. 16 year old Tris makes the huge decision to change her whole life, but is shocked by the level of brutality her new life brings. It turns out society isn't working quite as she thought and there is a lot more going on than anyone knows, and sadly she is one of the only people who can stand in the way of society completely falling apart.

You can see my full review of Divergent here. I really love this series, the concept is great and very different from anything else I've read. Cannot wait for number 3 but I've got ages. This will suit guys and girls although I wouldn't advise it for young ages as some parts are a little brutal.

Matched Trilogy - Ally Condie

This series is made up of Matched, Crossed and Reached. Cassia has always trusted the Society to make the right choices for her. After all they control every aspect of everyones lives, from where you live, who you marry, what you do for a living, who your friends are and when you die. But when there is a problem with her matching she starts to question whether the Society are right after all. But speaking out and disagreeing has it's consequences - for everyone involved.

See my full review of Matched here. This is another girly series and although I didn't love Matched, Crossed is brilliant it builds on the first book well and makes the story far more interesting. Waiting to get my hands on Reached now to finish the story.

Uglies Series - Scott Westerfield

This series is made up of Uglies, Pretties, Specials and Extras. Based on a futuristic society that believes you are 'ugly' until you undergo surgery to make you 'pretty' at the age of 16. Where you then can become a pleasure seeking 'pretty' and live a fulfilling fun life. Tally is an adventurous 'ugly' who becomes friends with rebellious Shay. But when Shay goes missing to the rebel land of The Smoke, Tally is forced by authorities to follow Shay, infiltrate the rebels and betray them or never undergo her 'pretty' surgery.

Delirium Series - Lauren Oliver

This series is made up of Delirium, Pandemonium and Requiem. Lena is happy in the safe government controlled society and hasn't had any problems with the idea that her husband and career will be chosen for her. She is actually looking forward to turning 18 and being given the cure to 'love'. But when she starts to fall for a boy and finds out about people living 'uncured' outside society she is forced to reconsider the way her society is run. Does she take the cure and never feel these amazing feelings again, or risk her life to find the other society.

Maze Runner Series - James Dashner

This series is made up of Maze Runner, The Scorch Trials and The Death Cure. When Thomas wakes up in a lift, all he can remember is his name. But when the lift’s doors open, he realises he's not alone. Thomas finds himself in the Glade—a large, open expanse surrounded by stone walls and full of other boys in the same boat. None of them remember how they got there or what came before. All they know is that every morning the stone doors to the maze that surrounds them have opened. Every night they’ve closed tight. And every 30 days a new boy has been delivered in the lift.the day after Tomas arrives a girl arrives, the first girl ever. And more surprising yet is the message she delivers. The boys must try to remember what has happened and figure out what to do next.


The Giver Series - Lois Lowry

The books in this series are called The Giver, Gathering Blue, Messenger and Son. Based around the life of 12 year old Jonas, who lives up until now has lived a normal conformity and contentment. This all changes when he is given his life assignment and has been chosen to be the Receiver of Memory, a highly prestigious role where he will be the only person to receive the memories of the past. Only then does he begin to understand the dark, complex secrets behind his society and life as he knows it.

Shadow Children Series - Margaret Peterson Haddix

This bumper series is made up of Among the Hidden, Among the Imposters, Among the Betrayed, Among the Barons, Among the Brave, Among the Enemy and Among the Free. HAving only 2 children is the law, 3rd children are forbidden and must by handed over to the Population Police to be disposed of. Luke is a 3rd child, but his parents have kept him hidden as a Shadow Child. He doesn't know the world outside and no one knows of his existence. That is until he sees a little girl in the window of a neighbours house, a house that he know already contains 2 other children as well. The risk their lives to venture out and meet only to find out there are more shadow children and they must fight against the society and the Population Police.

Under the Never Sky trilogy - Veronica Rossi

This trilogy is made up of Under the Never Sky, Through the Ever Night and Into the Still Blue. Following the story of Aria who lives inside the protective dome of Reverie. She has never ventured outside or thought about what might be there. Only when her mother goes missing does she realise she will have to venture out into the wild to find her. Finding the outsider Perry means she will at least last a little longer and maybe they can help each other find the answer to their questions.

Have any other suggestions?

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • donnah75 profile image

      Donna Hilbrandt 4 years ago from Upstate New York

      I hear Divergent is great. Thanks for this list. It is always good to have title suggestions on hand. Voted up and pinned.

    • daisydayz profile image
      Author

      Chantele Cross-Jones 4 years ago from Cardiff

      Divergent is really good! I loved them, just waiting to get the last part now!. Thanks!

    • profile image

      Giselle Maine 4 years ago

      Awesome! I will have to check out some of these books. I loved Maze Runner and I'm currently in the middle of reading the Uglies series. I found that Divergent and Under the Never Sky were fine but I personally didn't get hooked enough to be reading their sequels. I'm excited about the Birthmarked trilogy, as I had never heard of it before - or the Giver series, so I'm really looking forward to those. The Delirium series also sound fascinating!

      Thanks for a superb hub, very well written and well researched. This is very timely as I am running low on books to read. Now thanks to you I have plenty of great options ahead!

    • daisydayz profile image
      Author

      Chantele Cross-Jones 4 years ago from Cardiff

      Oh glad to hear Maze Runner and Uglies is good I am about to get the first of both. I like Divergent lots, number 2 is better than the 1st one. Thank you for the compliments, I'm glad it'll help you!

    • Docmo profile image

      Mohan Kumar 4 years ago from UK

      This is a great compilation of worthwhile series that deserve more exposure. Thanks for doing your bit here daisy - your list and succinct summaries are really helpful. Off to read a few of these.. I'm currently reading ' Knife of never letting go' from the Chaos walking series by Patrick Ness.. it is excellent!

    • daisydayz profile image
      Author

      Chantele Cross-Jones 4 years ago from Cardiff

      Thank you, and thanks for the tip I will have to have a look at it. I am slowley working my way through the different series on here!

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 3 years ago from USA

      Great list. My teen loves to read and really chews through novels quickly, so this provides a number of options for her. Looks like summer reading!

    • daisydayz profile image
      Author

      Chantele Cross-Jones 3 years ago from Cardiff

      I am slowly working my way through all of these too, but been so busy with work recently I havent had a chance to pick up a book.

    • cpaldridge profile image

      Christy Aldridge 2 years ago from MS

      Great hub! Thanks for the list! I am definitely an not-so-young adult that loves the young adult books. I think I am still a teenager at heart because I love young adult books and a good teen flick. Being a sucker for romance, I loved the Matched Series and Divergent (the first 2 books - did not like how the series ended!) which focused a little more on the romance angle. Looking forward to trying some of the others on this list.

    Click to Rate This Article