ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Books, Literature, and Writing»
  • Books & Novels»
  • Nonfiction»
  • Biographies & Memoirs

Flavor Flav: The Icon. The Memoir. The Book review

Updated on December 17, 2012
PDXKaraokeGuy profile image

Justin W. Price, AKA PDXKaraokeGuy, is a freelance writer, blogger, and award-nominated author based out of Juneau, Alaska.

The Vitals

Flavor Flav: the Icon, the Memoir by Flavor Flav

228 pages, 2011 Farrah Gray Publishing (US)

Total Rating: 31/35

author and icon, Flavor Flav
author and icon, Flavor Flav
Public Enemy
Public Enemy

Flavor Flav: the Icon, the Memoir

A review

By Justin W. Price


(a slightly modified version of this review will be in eFiction Humor)

Flavor Flav: Self-proclaimed “Greatest Hype Man of all time”, inventor of the term “gee” and “the most sampled voice in the history of music”. These, and other outrageous claims,are only a few of the gems you’ll find in this entertaining and scathingly honest memoir. While it’s certainly hard to refute—or confirm—many of these claims, it’s this braggadocio and confidence that makes this book such a satisfying and enlightening read.

William Jonathan Drayton (AKA, Flavor Flav) pulls no punches in this autobiography. He’s frank about his addiction to crack cocaine, his domestic violence, his love life (seven kids, from three different baby mamas) and not so public feud with fellow Public Enemy member, Professor Griff. The fact that it took three paragraphs to even reference his tenure with one of the most popular and influential hip hop groups of all time shows the diversity of his life and this book.

You’ll discover the origins of the ever present clock, of the name Flavor Flav, what really happened between he and Brigitte Nielsen, behind the scenes of Flavor of Love and of Public Enemy itself. This memoir has one of the strongest voices I’ve ever read in a memoir. It would be impossible to read this without hearing Flav talking to you. It’s very conversational and chock full of Flavor’s famous vernacular (“n’aw mean?” “A’ight”, “Hee hee, har har”) and supreme confidence.

You’ll discover that he is an incredibly loyal and loving person and deeply religious. He takes you as honestly no holds barred through the ups and downs, the funny and the tragic, the sexy and the sacred, often in the same chapter. To close the book, he also gives you some of his recipes. These alone are worth the cost of purchase.

Whether or not you’re a fan of Public Enemy or Flavor Flav, this book is a must read. It’s a fascinating, honest look at one of the most recognizable celebrities of our day.

Writing/Editing Quality: 7/10

Entertainment quality: 19/20

Originality: 5/5

Total Rating: 31/35


Thanks for Reading.

PDXKaraokeGuy, also known as Justin W. Price, is the managing editor at eFiction horror. Husband to Andrea, father to two dogs. writer.poet.baseball fan. tattooed. He is am amateur theologian with a rabid sweet tooth. He resides in a suburb of Portland, Oregon.He has a poetry book available for Amazon Kindle, and also maintains a blog, FirstBlog. His work has been featured in the Crisis Chronicles, efiction Magazine, The Hellroaring Review, the Bellwether Review, eFiction Humor, and the Rusty Nail. Please visit his profile page for more information. Thanks!


Public Enemy "I Can't Do Nothin' For Ya Man"

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • PDXKaraokeGuy profile image
      Author

      Justin W Price 5 years ago from Juneau, Alaska

      Thanks frank :-) Love or not, he's an interesting character! That cannot be denied, imho

    • Frank Atanacio profile image

      Frank Atanacio 5 years ago from Shelton

      PDX very good clear and well put together.. I can't stand Flav o flav.. but you I like :) voted up and awesome!!!!

    • PDXKaraokeGuy profile image
      Author

      Justin W Price 5 years ago from Juneau, Alaska

      Thanks Ardie... the book is everything you could imagine from flav. You won't be disappointed.

    • PDXKaraokeGuy profile image
      Author

      Justin W Price 5 years ago from Juneau, Alaska

      Thanks so much, deborah!

    • PDXKaraokeGuy profile image
      Author

      Justin W Price 5 years ago from Juneau, Alaska

      Sue, thanks for reading anyway... and if you decide to pick it up, you won't regret it!

    • Ardie profile image

      Sondra 5 years ago from Neverland

      Okay, you got me. From your review alone I will be buying this book. I admit it...I adore Flavor Flav! I can only imagine the type of book he would put out. He's such a character =) Great review Justin

    • Deborah Brooks profile image

      Deborah Brooks Langford 5 years ago from Brownsville,TX

      This is a great review... voted up

      Debbie

    • profile image

      Sueswan 5 years ago

      Hi Justin,

      Great review but I can't see myself reading this book.

      Voted up and awesome.

      Take care :)

    • PDXKaraokeGuy profile image
      Author

      Justin W Price 5 years ago from Juneau, Alaska

      Till, it's a quick and fascinating read. Well worth your time!

    • PDXKaraokeGuy profile image
      Author

      Justin W Price 5 years ago from Juneau, Alaska

      Thanks Gypsy!

    • PDXKaraokeGuy profile image
      Author

      Justin W Price 5 years ago from Juneau, Alaska

      Michael, it's certainly a good memoir and so easy to read. I actually find celebrities fascinating, though i try to stay away from the rags.

    • tillsontitan profile image

      Mary Craig 5 years ago from New York

      Normally I wouldn't be too interested about Flavor Flav's book but since I saw you had written the review I wanted to read it. Once I did, you have convinced me that I should read the book. You've made it sound interesting and 'honest', a good combination.

      Voted this hub up, and interesting.

    • Gypsy Rose Lee profile image

      Gypsy Rose Lee 5 years ago from Riga, Latvia

      Voted up and interesting. Great review. Thanks for sharing.

    • CloudExplorer profile image

      Mike Pugh 5 years ago from New York City

      Nice hub here PDX on Flavor Flav's new book, you definitely got me thinking about his memoir of his life.

      Thanks man for sharing this cool info about it all, and even though I don't like reading about superstar's and all maybe I might take a look at this one, I will see. Voted up and out!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)