ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

This Bird Flew Away Book Review

Updated on February 16, 2011

Lynda M. Martin. Those of you who follow her here on hub pages know her as Immartin; a generous teacher, writing coach and advocate of abused children. She is also an author and just published This Bird Flew Away, the first of a trilogy of novels about her heroine, Bria Connelly.


I was fortunate to read bits and pieces of this novel before it was published by Black Rose Writing. I ordered my autographed copy the day it was published and fully expected a good read. What I got instead was an excellent novel that is well crafted, professionally presented and emotionally charged.


The trials, tribulations, horrors and joys of Bria Connelly are brilliantly chronicled in this first novel. The author shines a beacon of truth and reality on child-abuse, alcoholism, familial love, hurt and healing. Based on twenty-five years as a cop, I found the book to be the most real piece of fiction I have found.


This Bird Flew Away follows Bria's life from the age of nine in 1967 through tragic episodes and personal triumphs to the end of the book in 1986. Often, it is a hard trip on a very bumpy road. The message here is optimistic, pragmatic perseverance and Bria Connelly is the poster child for the "I Am Woman, Hear Me Roar" crowd.


Don't get me wrong. This is not some woman's lib, man bashing, piece of chick lit. It is a realistic, thoughtful and entertaining narrative about men, women and children and how they behave toward one another in circumstances often beyond their control.


Okay, This Bird Flew Away is not the kind of shoot em up I normally read. Hey, everyone needs to broaden their horizons a little and this book will certainly do that.


SHOULD YOU READ THIS BOOK?


Well, if you're a woman, yes. If your daughter, granddaughter, sister, wife, girlfriend, aunt, niece, cousin or next door neighbor is a woman, yes. If you know any women or ever hope to, yes. So, in my humble opinion, anyone other than Worf from Star Trek, The Next Generation will find it beneficial.


To use a barrel racing analogy, Lynda and Bria have rounded the first barrel (This Bird Flew Away) and are thundering toward the second (Fly High, Fly Blind)! You don't want to be left at the gate. Get your copy today from Amazon.com, Barnes & Noble or from Lynda at the link below.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • resspenser profile imageAUTHOR

      Ronnie Sowell 

      7 years ago from South Carolina

      Thanks, Lady E.

    • Lady_E profile image

      Elena 

      7 years ago from London, UK

      Thanks for the interesting Review.

    • resspenser profile imageAUTHOR

      Ronnie Sowell 

      7 years ago from South Carolina

      Marshacanada,

      Thanks for the compliment. An interesting review is much easier when it's about an interesting book!

    • marshacanada profile image

      marshacanada 

      7 years ago from Vancouver BC

      Thanks Ron for this interesting review. I want to write a book review and your is a good example.The book sounds interesting and relevant.

    • resspenser profile imageAUTHOR

      Ronnie Sowell 

      7 years ago from South Carolina

      Lynda,

      First "word fail me." That's BS, they never have, never will! LOL

      There is much more I could say about the book but readers deserve to get the story firsthand, I think.

      Many of us here on hubpages owe YOU for your help with our writing. I am one of those. You teach by example.

      You're very welcome.

      Ronnie

    • lmmartin profile image

      lmmartin 

      7 years ago from Alberta and Florida

      Oh. I'm speechless (for once.) First, thanks Ron for your insight along the way, not just on This Bird Flew Away, but on Fly High, Fly Blind and Finding Emily. Your insight based on police procedures and reality was so very helpful -- particularly in Finding Emily. So glad you liked the finished book and thank you for this review. I feel like I should say so much more -- but words fail me. Thank you. Lynda

    • resspenser profile imageAUTHOR

      Ronnie Sowell 

      7 years ago from South Carolina

      rachellrobinson,

      Thank you for reading. Trust me the book is a thousand times better than the review.

    • rachellrobinson profile image

      Rachel Woodruff 

      7 years ago from Southwest Missouri

      Interesting review thank you for sharing.

    • resspenser profile imageAUTHOR

      Ronnie Sowell 

      7 years ago from South Carolina

      Thanks, Tammy. Somehow, TBFA is even better in it's finished form. Thanks for reading and sharing my review of Lynda's book.

    • profile image

      Tammy Lochmann 

      7 years ago

      Hi Ron looks like I got here first. I don't think I have ever been the first to comment on someone else's post. I can't wait to get my copy and read it again. Great job!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)