ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen Book Review

Updated on March 23, 2012

Sara Gruen's New York Times Bestselling Water for Elephants is a gritty and spellbinding story that weaves Jacob Jankowski's adventurous youth as a circus vet with his confined existence as an old man in a nursing home. The result is a book you won't want to put down. If you are a literary type, you will pull a lot of additional layers of meaning from this story. If you are simply looking for a great summer read, this book can do that for you, too.

Gruen presents with searing reality an exotic world full of intense, bright colors, sickly sweet smells, and cacaphonous noises. The graphic descriptions in this novel will undoubtedly offend some readers. After an afternoon lost reading this page-turning novel, I emerged from this book as if suddenly aroused from an intense dream, or perhaps a nightmare.

Aging isn't Graceful

Jacob Jankowski, the main character of Gruen's novel, is 90 or 93, and hates the nursing home his children have placed him in. He is a prisoner in a non-functioning body and detests being treated like a child in a kindergarten.

What do you see when you enter the cafeteria of a nursing home? Gruen explores this theme subtly; it is a launch point for an otherwise fantastic and fast-paced story about a much younger version of this man. But why include this angle at all?

The contrast between the story of Jacob's early life and his life as a nursing home inmate is startling. At what point does the vibrant, full-life we live in our salad days become non-existent in the eyes of the world? Is the idea of a glorious youth just a fiction, especially in this novel of gruesome details and shocking imagery?

In our first youth, it is plausible to run away to the circus, but what about in our second childhood? Read this book and decide for yourself.

Depressing Youth

Youth isn't all that it's cracked up to be. Sometimes it's more, and sometimes more is too much.

America during The Great Depression is not the place to lose your parents and all your money. Faced with these realities, Jacob Jankowski runs away to join a cut-rate circus. And it's not glamorous. In fact, the experience is gruelling, depressing, and outrageous. People are treated like animals, animals are treated less than beasts, and average Americans are hoodwinked and bamboozled at every turn. But wow, what a story he tells!

Gruen uses Jankowski's personal rivalries, lust (or love, if you can call it that), and some strong villanous characters to tell multiple stories at once. Jacob Jankowski's personal life story merges with that of the circus train. He works his way up from the gruelling early-morning work crew into the inner-circle of the performers, who experience a priveleged existence compared to everyone else. Life in a cut-rate circus is shady, suspect, and not exactly family-fare, but it does make for a page-turning novel.

Add in one jealous, wife-beating husband, his beautiful, but off-limits wife who is poor and mistreated, and a lug-headed Jankowski, who can't seem to find a girlfriend who isn't already married, and you have a very interesting story, indeed.

How much water does an Elephant drink? A lot more than you will find on a circus train. This fascinating book vividly depicts life in a circus, from sunup to sundown.

Your Opinion

What Did You Think of This Book?

See results

More Recommended Novels for Summer Reading

Comments

Submit a Comment

  • wannabwestern profile imageAUTHOR

    Carolyn Augustine 

    6 years ago from Iowa

    Thanks Jean, it has been about 2 years since I published this review, but I do appreciate the compliment. I remember this book was quite intense, but I enjoyed the characterization and author Sara Gruen's mastery of descriptive writing. It was a pleasure to read. Regards and happy reading.

  • Jean Bakula profile image

    Jean Bakula 

    6 years ago from New Jersey

    Hi,

    Nice review, even though I reviewed this book too! I think it was such an interesting story, and that it isn't getting the attention it deserved! Best Wishes.

  • wannabwestern profile imageAUTHOR

    Carolyn Augustine 

    7 years ago from Iowa

    Thank you so much Sherri!

  • SherriWell profile image

    SherriWell 

    7 years ago from North Carolina

    I read this one and absolutely LOVED it! Thanks for the great review!

  • wannabwestern profile imageAUTHOR

    Carolyn Augustine 

    8 years ago from Iowa

    Thank you! I look forward to reading it! This was a very entertaining book!

  • shellyakins profile image

    shellyakins 

    8 years ago from Illinois

    I loved this book! Great review. I'm liking this to my hub about writing effective book reviews as a good example.

  • profile image

    Water for Elephants Movie 

    8 years ago

    We will have a Water for Elephants Movie in 2011 with Robert Pattinson, I read that at

    http://water-for-elephants-trailer.blogspot.com/

  • Lupo profile image

    Lupo 

    10 years ago from Boston Area

    This sounds like a good book. Thanks for the review....I think I will read it!

  • marisuewrites profile image

    marisuewrites 

    10 years ago from USA

    I wanted to know about this book, I've been so tempted to buy it but delayed some as I thought it might depress me and right now I don't need that! I've put it on my buy later list. thanks for a great review!!

  • wannabwestern profile imageAUTHOR

    Carolyn Augustine 

    10 years ago from Iowa

    Thanks, you gals! I really enjoyed this book, but found the imagery a little more intense than I would normally be drawn to. The book had a fantastic, surreal feel. We're in the middle of moving, but I'll be hubbing big time soon.

  • In The Doghouse profile image

    In The Doghouse 

    10 years ago from California

    Western,

    Yes, another great book review. Thank you for your thoughts.

  • profile image

    pgrundy 

    10 years ago

    This sounds like a great read. I really look forward to your book reviews. Keep 'em coming, and thank you!

working

This website uses cookies

As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

Show Details
Necessary
HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
Features
Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
Marketing
Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
Statistics
Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)