jump to last post 1-6 of 6 discussions (8 posts)

What is the biggest writing blunder you have ever read?

1. MarleneB profile image96
    MarleneBposted 5 years ago

What is the biggest writing blunder you have ever read?

Whether content on the internet or in a hardback book, what is the biggest mistake you have ever read? For instance, one time I saw a paragraph repeated twice in a hardback book.

2. ackman1465 profile image61
    ackman1465posted 5 years ago

When I graduated high school, our class photograph was on the cover of the local paper..... It was the class, on the stage with a banner overhead which read,  "Forward ever, backwards never."    Unfortunately the banner was so wide, that the words "Forward" and "Never" didn't appear in the picture....

MarleneBposted 5 years agoin reply to this

Oh, that's a serious blunder! Thank you so much for sharing.

3. netraptor profile image59
    netraptorposted 5 years ago

I read a book once where half of chapter 3 was repeated in chapter 8. I was extremely confused until I figured out what had happened. Then I was disgusted. Was the editor not there that day?

Storywise, I read a book once where the heroine's father died. Then late in the book, she inexplicably walks into his office and asks his advice. It wasn't like he was a ghost. It was like the author forgot the dad had died and never read back through his own book.

MarleneBposted 5 years agoin reply to this

Thank you for sharing, netraptor. It amazes me when I see things like that and, I wonder (like you) what happened to the editor.

4. Eric Calderwood profile image82
    Eric Calderwoodposted 5 years ago

Read any online news article.  They are full of blunders!

5. Pennypines profile image60
    Pennypinesposted 5 years ago