ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Petrol in my Blood - book review of a true story

Updated on July 4, 2015
Petrol in my Blood by Eric Jackson
Petrol in my Blood by Eric Jackson | Source

Petrol in my Blood - by Eric Jackson

Have you ever read a really thrilling autobiography and thought 'yeah, right. I bet that tale has been embellished - that could never happen'?

Well, here's one which is full of adventure that I can really vouch for. Why? Because this book was written by Eric Jackson who, as well as being a pretty amazing adventurer, also happens to be my dad. So can you expect a certain element of bias in this review? Quite probably! But as the editor of the book (so blame me if you find typos) I have an absolute wealth of press cuttings, books, magazines and photographs to fully demonstrate that these exciting, true events really did take place.

Of course, there's also the fact that the majority of these adventures took place during my own living memory. This is my own father. I wasn't present when many of the events in this exciting book took place - I was safe back home in Yorkshire when my dad was lost in the Congo, or was en route to Timbuktu - but I knew, or have met - many of the people in the stories who were there at the time. If anyone can judge any book to be an accurate reflection, that person is me and that book is Petrol in my Blood.


Petrol in My Blood by Eric Jackson
Petrol in My Blood by Eric Jackson | Source
Source

The title of this book

I know that the author, Eric Jackson, agonized long and hard over the title but eventually chose this because it is so representative of his fascinating and unusual life.

My only problem with it is that it could give the impression that this book is of interest only to people who are interested in cars, motoring and motorsport. That is so far from the truth.

The autobiography covers eighty five years and yes, some of the craziest and most dangerous adventures are to do with various driving exploits (but only some) but let me give you an example.

During his life, my dad has been shot at in various countries throughout the world. Yet he was only shot (seriously) once. Where on earth in this wide world? In Barnsley, Yorkshire. After a chess game...

This book has had great comments from people who are interested in history - after all the narrative begins in 1924 and describes ordinary - and sometimes extraordinary - life for an average child, for a teenager before and after the Second World War.

It then goes on to describe a trip to New York in the 1950s and the reactions of two young men as they encountered gangsters, drug addicts and a New York American-Irish cop.

Oh, and don't miss the story about the attack in the men's room of a seedy Detroit bar...

Newspaper cutting from 1963
Newspaper cutting from 1963

Illustrations

I live in a tiny apartment and yet I have one closet that is full of memorabilia. I can hardly close the door.

Every time I open the door, newspaper cuttings, photographs and pages from the manuscript fall out. There are only a fraction of these that actually made it into the final publication - at just short of three hundred and fifty pages, the volume is pretty full and we couldn't cram more in.

They are fascinating though - a pictorial history in their own right. What's more, I can tell you that there are hundreds, probably thousands, of stories that didn't make it into the book. And that's not because they weren't exciting enough - just the opposite.

There's one story that I remember from my childhood and I asked my dad on the phone 'are you going to put that in the book?'

The reply was 'not bloody likely. I don't know how many years I've got left but I damned well don't want to spend them in an Egyptian jail'.

That gives you some idea of his 'literary style' - he writes the same way as he talks. There was another example that was a really funny story and that was banned too. He tells me that I can add the Egyptian story once he's 'pushing up daisies'. With this other, I apparently have to wait until a certain ex-Ford Motor Company employee and a certain lady have shuffled off their mortal coils. Should be fun.

He did what?

As you read through the book, which has been described as 'an adventure masquerading as an autobiography' you'll probably wonder if these things really happened. They did. Along the way, you'll meet:

  • Ken Chambers - Eric Jackson's co-driver on many exploits - urbane and sophisticated ... and an expert forger
  • The hotel manager in Monte Carlo - and his reaction to the rather naughty 'Guinness Girls'
  • Entertainer Liberace - and discover the English music hall song he was taught by my old man
  • His heroes - Jackie Stewart, Walter Hayes and Peter Procter
  • Jim Orr - an American con man, arrested in Florida thanks to my dad being wired up by the cops
  • Owen McCallum - the big game hunter with a huge.....
  • My stepmother Kathy - who had to put up with my dad in real life during the five years this book took to write
  • Oh, and quite a few celebrities ... lots of wild animals ... drunken boy soldiers with automatic rifles ... Somalian bandits ... armed guerrillas ... officious border guards in a gun-happy mood ... a bunch of cannibals ... and more

Ouch! Nine lives

Source

Actually,I've worked out that he has had quite a few more than nine lives.This was just one... this is what his rally car looked like after 'the big one'. In the book, he says:

'Well, it had to happen one day ... this old fart lost it and the car went end over end over end over end...'

We thought that after this one, he'd be paralyzed for life or at least have to spend the rest of his days in a wheelchair. He was in Odstock Hospital, in the spinal injuries unit, for what seemed like forever. But here's a quote about when he finally left the hospital - walking.

I walked past the beds at the hospital for the last time wishing the patients well but knowing that a number of them would never walk again. I felt very sad.

They say that if you fall off a horse you should get back on so I had one more go at rallying at the ripe old age of fifty - and they say that rally drivers are at their best when they are between eighteen and twenty years of age. I entered the World Cup Rally...

— Eric Jackson

Meet t'owd fella

A couple of years ago, three men decided to attempt a record-breaking attempt - yes, the record of driving from London to Cape Town - which my dad had held since 1963. This was to raise money for Help for Heroes; that fantastic charity that cares for servicemen and women who have been wounded in the service of the British Army. As an ex-army man himself, this was something my old man was happy to support. See him here:

Now this is where we argue

You see, my dad was all in favor of these guys breaking his record - mostly because of the charity they were supporting. And I shouldn't really argue ...

Think back, if you're old enough, to what a 1963 Ford Cortina was like. You're not old enough? Well, in those days, cars had no air-conditioning, they had hard metal dashboards, no carpets, no GPS, no four-wheel drive ... the two drivers had no computers, no cellphones, no diagnostic laptops ... no satellite tracking thingies ...

The three drivers who broke the record, in their four-wheel drive Land Rover, however plus plenty of ...

I'll stop now. If my dad sees this,I'll get told off.

Buy now!

If you want to order the book directly from the publishers use the link below.

You can order the book here

Paperback and hardback available and it ships worldwide.

This is the record that my dad broke (smashed, actually). Note that this car too had three drivers.They also had a film crew.

What do you think?

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Aladdins Cave profile image

      Aladdins Cave 

      5 years ago from Melbourne, Australia

      Very good lens. Plus it's a lot shorter than mine, which means more is not better. Great adventure, and hope you get plenty of sales via Squidoo. Cheers from DOWNUNDER

    • Kazee LM profile image

      Kay Collier 

      5 years ago from Australia

      What a Dad, and what a treasure you have in his autobiography...great lens

    • Gypzeerose profile image

      Rose Jones 

      5 years ago

      Excellent lens - and with a family connection! Cool.

    • Corrinna-Johnson profile image

      Corrinna Johnson 

      5 years ago from BC, Canada

      Oh, this sounds like a fantastic read! Your dad sure does know how to live in the moment!

    • OhMe profile image

      Nancy Tate Hellams 

      5 years ago from Pendleton, SC

      Your dad sounds like an amazing character, for sure! I think it is wonderful that he wrote his autobiography and am sure you treasure it. Thanks for sharing.

    • suepogson profile image

      suepogson 

      5 years ago

      @BritFlorida: funny! And so true!

    • DreyaB profile image

      DreyaB 

      5 years ago from France

      Love your page and this is just the sort of biography I like to read, though I guess I'm a little biased, Yorkshire background, motor racing and various foreign adventures. Your Dad sounds quite a character. :) I must get round to buying this when I have some spare cash; I'll put it on my Amazon wishlist if that's possible. Well done on another superb lens.

    • ecogranny profile image

      Kathryn Grace 

      5 years ago from San Francisco

      I didn't know what to expect when I saw the title. Was it about an oil baron? A victim of environmental poisoning? But now I'm thinking he was perhaps a race car driver? Whatever, sure does sound like a character who has lived life as big as anyone can. Nicely done.

    • BritFlorida profile imageAUTHOR

      Jackie Jackson 

      5 years ago from Fort Lauderdale

      @ShamanicShift: Thank you! It's very exciting and certainly full of adventures. And they were very dangerous, too. I'm so lucky that I've still got my dad - he certainly has nine lives, that's for sure.

    • Diana Wenzel profile image

      Renaissance Woman 

      5 years ago from Colorado

      I would enjoy your dad and would find it exhilarating to join in on an exploit or two. How many people have dads like this? I can't think of anyone but you! It would really be something to collaborate on a book like this.

    • profile image

      ShamanicShift 

      5 years ago

      Well, the title sparked my curiosity -- but I thought the book might be about a man's life of exploits in oil drilling. Still, I clicked on this lens because the book, no matter what, promised to be unusual and I'm drawn to true stories -- especially adventures.

    • BritFlorida profile imageAUTHOR

      Jackie Jackson 

      5 years ago from Fort Lauderdale

      @suepogson: Thank you so much Sue! Yep, (or should I say 'aye'?) there's nothing quite like a Yorkshire dad. Americans used to be amazed when my dad used to come here to Florida - we'd greet each other with 'ayup, then' and none of the kissy-huggy non-Yorkshire stuff :)

    • suepogson profile image

      suepogson 

      5 years ago

      This is a wonderful review - it really makes me want to read the book. As you rightly suggested, the title wouldn't inspire me to pick it up. I clicked on the lens looking for ideas to help my own book review. Now I really want to read the book! I hope this lens reaches a wide audience and promotes the book - your dad sounds amazing. Mine was a Yorkshireman too - can't beat 'em!

    • BritFlorida profile imageAUTHOR

      Jackie Jackson 

      5 years ago from Fort Lauderdale

      @RANADEEP: Thank you for visiting!

    • profile image

      RANADEEP 

      5 years ago

      Great stuff,nice lense!!thanks for sharing!!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)