jump to last post 1-5 of 5 discussions (6 posts)

Has anyone made regular and decent income out of stock market ? If yes, what are

1. Sundeep Kataria profile image74
    Sundeep Katariaposted 2 years ago

Has anyone made regular and decent income out of stock market ? If yes, what are the tips?

2. profile image55
    Juan Balcazarposted 2 years ago

I am a college student who has a couple hundred dollars invested in the stock market. From my experience, your income depends on three primary things.

1. The stocks you invest. Basically, not all stocks have dividends. And those that DO provide the income to investors ( dividends), are highly stable companies. In other words, investing in stable companies will be reliant, but you won't see huge peaks in profit . Therefore, it is very unlikely to make a lot of money from these dividend stocks. Regular, yes. But decent? well, that depends on your skill as an investor, and many other factors too complex to discuss now. But onward to the next point.

2. The nature of industry you choose. Stocks in technology are most reliable. While the gas industry is wishy-washy and the medical industry tends to be difficult to read and unpredictable. Of course, choose the industry with which you are the most familiar. But avoid unpredictable ones, and gravitate to industries that sell computers, devices, consumer electronics, or even retail those ( like Amazon etc. ) These tech companies offer decent dividends. In the long run, they pay up.

3. Thirdly, is the knowledge that you have as an investor. I am a college student; therefore, the gains I make on my stock are small since I don't have the breadth of knowledge and experience that others do. The longer you do this, the better you will become. Stocks are situational. That's why reading books about stocks is useless--- the author might advocate a stock that is now worth zero or doesn't even exist.