jump to last post 1-9 of 9 discussions (9 posts)

Do they teach enough personal finance skills in school?

1. ilikegames profile image81
    ilikegamesposted 2 years ago

Do they teach enough personal finance skills in school?

It seems like despite a world that revolves around money (and how well you can manage it) there is no change in the amount of personal finance education given in schools. Topics like interest, managing your day to day finishes, budgets, investing. Do these things need more focus in the school syllabus?

2. Kara Skinner profile image84
    Kara Skinnerposted 2 years ago

Definitely. I graduated high school without knowing much about taxes buying a house or buying a car. I can sort of budget my income and I know about investments but that is from a lot of Internet research and less from school. Since a lot of kids go into college straight out of high school and immediately go into debt financial skills should be essential for school.

3. tsmog profile image81
    tsmogposted 2 years ago

I really don't know today what they teach. I learned to budget when I took a home economics class that was co-ed (I am of the male gender). I never considered things like budgeting, meal planning, and how to balance a checkbook until I took that class. I was not taken with surprise when I moved out. Plus, I gained real understanding of what my parents had to do financially.

4. fpherj48 profile image75
    fpherj48posted 2 years ago

Sarah....I'm not even fully aware of what's being taught (or not taught) in classrooms today.  I haven't had teens in school in over a decade.
    However, your question brings up one of my serious concerns about what SHOULD be taught.  "Financial Skills" is definitely one I would encourage all schools to add to their curriculum!   This has always been my opinion of a "no-brainer."