ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Religion and Philosophy»
  • Hinduism

Chakra Tones and Vowel Sounds

Updated on November 27, 2010

Many westerners know very little about chakras and what their purposes are. But even fewer people are aware that each chakra has its own vibration, its own individual musical tone and its own vocalization / vowel sound. (Although it's not always a proper vowel sound, so don't think it strange in a moment when I list all the sounds.) Many people meditate on their chakras with visualization techniques and that's fine -- but it's often far more powerful to do that along with chanting (nothing too crazy, don't worry!) You will feel the harmonizing effects quickly, whether you believe in "New Agey Mumbojumbo" or not. Seriously! And even if you think the whole idea is wacky, it certainly can't do any harm to just try it out and see how it goes. It doesn't take very long and it's very easy to do. So if you'd like to have a go at a proper Chakra Meditation for Healing and Balancing, read this first so you'll be more familiar with the process.

Copyright Gil Dekel
Copyright Gil Dekel

Chakra Tones

There are 7 basic chakras (although in reality there are far more) that people meditate on most often. Each of these chakras has it's own musical tone. If you're a musician, you can play these yourself on any instrument. You can find many meditation videos on the internet, but the problem with many of them is they use a very electronic-sounding tone, which can have a negative effect on some people -- like me. When I listen to these types of sounds I feel like I'm going to come out of my skin! The solution? I listen to natural, man-made toning for my chakra tune-up and they are wonderful.

  • The Root / Earth chakra's tone is C.

  • The Sacral / Water chakra's tone is D.

  • The Solar Plexus / Fire chakra's tone is E.

  • The Heart / Air chakra's tone is F.

  • The Throat / Space chakra's tone is G.

  • The Third Eye / Spirit chakra's tone is A.

  • The Crown / Infinity chakra's tone is B.

Chakra Toning Sounds

Each chakra has a specific tone that helps it open, heal and align properly. Anyone can make these sounds, and you don't have to do them with any great amount of effort. A soft, gentle toning sound is plenty. Just use the tone/note you hear in the meditation and make the following toning / vowell sounds while doing so.

  • Root Chakra: Uhhh (as in Uhhh.... what did you say?)

  • Sacral Chakra: Oooo (as in Ooooh, I'd love to meet Daniel Craig!)

  • Solar Plexus Chakra: Ohhh (as in "Ohhh say can you see, by the dawn's early light?)

  • Heart Chakra: Ahhh (as in "Open up and say AH!)

  • Throat Chakra: Eye (as in, "Stop poking me in the eye, Moe!)

  • 3rd Eye Chakra: A long "A" sound (as in "MAY the force be with you, Luke!)

  • Crown Chakra: A long "E" sound (as in "It's all about MEEEE!!")


Submit a Comment

No comments yet.