ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Sports and Recreation»
  • Team Sports

ICC World Cup 2011 - Champions India

Updated on August 29, 2014

ICC World Cup 2011 Champions

The International Cricket Council (ICC) trophy for world cricket champions
The International Cricket Council (ICC) trophy for world cricket champions

India Won the ICC World Cup 2011

The last smile in Mumbai Wamghade cricket stadium was that of Indian Captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni when he flew the Malinga Delivery to the galleries to over come the 275 target raised by Srilanka in the ICC World Cup 2011 Final. The final touch of the cricket carnival by the best captain in the championship gave India a memorable victory in cricket. After 1983 India won the ICC World Cup or Cricket world cup beating Srilanka by 6 wickets.Score Srilanka 275/6 in 50 overs. India 277 /4 in 48.2 overs.The dream of 121 crore Indians fullfilled by winning the ICC World Cup 2011.

The high light of the match was the remarkable century of Srilankan Vice Captain Mahela Jayavardhane eventhough the whole ground and its spectators were against him. But the final century in ICC World Cup 2011 championship became vein when India overcame the score on the shoulders of captain Mahendrasingh Dhoni and Goutham Gambhir. For first time in this world cup champiuonship Dhoni's bat roared for Indian triumph and he was not out with 91 runs in the final match with an innings of real captain. Another man who scored for India's dream world cup victory was Goutham Gambhir who lost the century in ICC World Cup final just for 3 three runs. Since India won the match Gambhir will not have the disappointment of century loss in a narrow margin.

Whole Indians were eagerly looking to Sachin Tendulkar due to many reasons. The important among them was the 100th century by Sachin in international cricket. The second thing watched was his performance in his home ground in Mumbai. The third was his desire for a world cup in his hands. But the much expected century of Sachin Tendulkar didn't came in. Also he couldn't reach near his real performance in Wamghade stadium. Sachin was out at 18 runs. But Dhoni and all the Indian team members can proudly say that they had given the best farewell to the master blaster. Sachin Tendulkar can kiss the ICC World Cup just as a poetic justice of the cricket.

When the opening batsman of India as well as the vice captain of the team, Verendra Sehwag was out just before scoring it was expected that India will lose just like in many previous final matches in different cricket championships. But Gambhir faced the challenge very cool and Dhoni completed it with classic touch. Congratulations to the whole team members.

Wamkhede Stadium , Mumbai , India
Wamkhede Stadium , Mumbai , India

Which is your favourite cricket team ?

See results

Srilankan Innings

Winning the toss Sri Lanka elected to bat. But they were constrained by the good line and length balls from Indian pacer Zaheer Khan. In his first spell of five overs three were maiden and consumed only 6 runs and claimed one wicket! The fielding lead by Yuvaraj Singh with Suresh Raina and young brigade Virat Kohli also restricted the Srilankan batting. When captain Sangakkara and vice captain Mahela Jayavardhane met in crease they began to consolidate the innings with fine batting all over the ground. At this time India lost the driving seat of match. When the Srilankan innings ended at 274/6 Mahela was not out with 103 runs from 88 balls.

Indian cricket team Captain - Mahendrasingh Dhoni
Indian cricket team Captain - Mahendrasingh Dhoni

Indian Innings

India really stunned when its vice captain Virender Sehwag was trapped LBW for a duck in Lasith Malinga's second ball of Indian innings. The legend of cricket Sachin Tendulkar whose presence itself is a nightmare to opponents were also marched to pavilion at 18 runs in Malinga delivery. But the youth icons of Indian cricket team Virat Kohli and Gautam Gambhir recovered the team from initial shock. After Kohli's dismissal captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni came in who really showed how the innings of a captain should be in such a crucial match. The only disappointment in this partnership was Gambhir's dismissal by Thisara Perera at 97, just three run behind a world cup final match century. With Yuvaraj Singh captain Dhoni lead the team to victory and the winning shot against Nuwan Kulasekara was to the gallery !!He was not out with 91 runs from 79 balls and selected as the man of the match.

The captain's innings in this ICC world cup final remembered India's previous cup victory. There also captain Kapil Dev drived the team to the cup with a century innings. India's chasing of 274 runs in final match of ICC world cup became the highest successful run chase.

ICC worldcup 2011 Indian Squad

Name of Player
Local team
Mahendra Singh Dhoni ( Captain )
Virender Sehwag (Vice Captain )
Gautam Gambhir
Sachin Tendulkar
Yuvraj Singh
Suresh Raina
Uttar Pradesh
Virat Kohli
Yusuf Pathan
Zaheer Khan
Harbhajan Singh
Ashish Nehra
Munaf Patel
S. Sreesanth
Piyush Chawla
Uttar Pradesh
Ravichandran Ashwin
Tamil Nadu

The world cup victory in one day international cricket had raised the proud of the country. Also it had ended its fall in final match as occured in many previous crucial final matches. This triumph will lead India to more victories through the self confidence that the team had got.


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • skmania2 profile image

      skmania2 6 years ago

      india winsssssssssss

    • dinkan53 profile image

      dinkan53 6 years ago from India

      yea, congratulations INDIA