ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Review of The Little Mermaid Ride at Disneyland Resort

Updated on November 2, 2012
Floor mosaic at the entrance.
Floor mosaic at the entrance. | Source

© 2012 by Aurelio Locsin.

“The Little Mermaid Ride isn’t working,” said one of the two Disney cast members guarding the guarding the stanchioned entrance.

I was still hoping for an explanation. But both of them added nothing to their annoyed expressions.

“When will it be ready?”

“We don’t know,” said the other before looking away.

The theme park used to be a place where the attendants were all happy, or at least, helpful. My partner and I were there to celebrate my birthday and this was one of the new rides we hadn’t ridden yet.

“Check later.” The first cast member said before looking away.

Their petulance could be blamed on frustration with a ride that wasn’t functioning as it should on a fairly crowded October morning.

Still, Disney himself would have fired them for their attitudes.


Entering the ride
Entering the ride | Source
"Under the Sea"
"Under the Sea" | Source
Ariel
Ariel | Source

The Ride

We did keep checking throughout the day since we were spending the whole morning at the California Adventure part of the Disneyland. Eventually, we encountered two different attendants who were overly joyful in welcoming us into a Victorian building reminiscent of San Francisco’s Palace of Fine Arts. The entryway floor was covered with mosaics and ornate globular lamps led us into the loading area.

We grabbed one of the pastel-colored clamshells floating by a mural of scenes from the movie. It entered the rear of an old-fashioned warship until we faced a talking seagull promising to relate the story of the Little Mermaid. We then “descended” into a flurry of bubbles until we entered the heroine’s undersea kingdom.

If you’ve seen the movie, then you’ll recognize the main characters as they sing and dance the highlights. If you haven’t, the colorful animatronics and the Menken/Ashman soundtrack will amuse and delight. The centerpiece is the calypso-tinged “Under the Sea,” which seems to have as many performing fishes, crabs, octopi, eels and seahorses as in the movie.

Acting as a counterpoint almost immediately afterward is “Poor Unfortunate Souls” rendered with gleeful evil by the multi-tentacled Ursula over a smoky crystal ball with a live feed to Ariel’s and the Prince’s life. As the villainess, she portends evil that is fully realized in the film but only hinted at during the ride. Those who haven’t seen the film may be puzzled by her unfulfilled malevolence.

Your shell eventually rises to the surface again so you can witness the couple live happily ever after with the blessings of Papa Neptune and all the undersea denizens. Strangely enough, Ursula’s shadow haunts the background of this occasion even though I believe she was killed in the original film. Perhaps they’re planning on bringing her back in a sequel?


Ratings

4 stars for Little Mermaid Ride

Recommendations

While lacking any thrills and spills, this ride is a wonderful five-minute journey into another world and a refreshing escape from the California heat and crowds. The animated characters are first rate and the soundtrack was good enough to earn the Academy Award for Best Original Score and Best Original Song, “Under the Sea.” You can bring the little ones on board because there are no height restrictions. But be aware that most of the ride is in the dark though I didn’t here any screams or weeping from the many kids brought in.


Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Peggy W profile image

      Peggy Woods 

      5 years ago from Houston, Texas

      I am enjoying hearing about these different Disney rides and entertainment from you. Belated Happy Birthday! Up, useful and interesting votes.

    • vespawoolf profile image

      vespawoolf 

      5 years ago from Peru, South America

      An excellent review. It makes me want to hop on a plane for Disney Land, despite the attendant's grouchiness.

    • ishwaryaa22 profile image

      Ishwaryaa Dhandapani 

      5 years ago from Chennai, India

      A well-written & detailed hub! I always wanted to visit Disney amusement park. Your description of your experience is engaging. Good to know that you had a nice ride. Belated Birthday wishes & Good Luck for your participation in this contest.

      Thanks for SHARING. Useful & Interesting. Voted up

    • alocsin profile imageAUTHOR

      alocsin 

      5 years ago from Orange County, CA

      I believe this ride is now at Disney World, mpropp.

    • alocsin profile imageAUTHOR

      alocsin 

      5 years ago from Orange County, CA

      It was great fun, billybuc. I definitely recommend it, if you ever get down here.

    • cclitgirl profile image

      Cynthia Calhoun 

      5 years ago from Western NC

      Happy belated birthday. Sorry that you didn't get the service you deserved. :\ But I am glad you finally got to have your five minute journey. :)

    • Michele Travis profile image

      Michele Travis 

      5 years ago from U.S.A. Ohio

      Wow, I remember being at Disneyland, but that was a very long time ago. It was a lot of fun. My daughter loved. You know when kids are very young they have so much energy they can make you so tired all you want to do is sleep for about a year. Then they grow up so fast.

      Voted up!

    • mpropp profile image

      Melissa Propp 

      5 years ago from Minnesota

      Sounds like a good time! I have never been to Disneyland, only Disneyworld in Florida (and that was 30+ years ago). I'm sure I would enjoy it as much, if not more, than my kids. I love that soundtrack. Nice review!

    • billybuc profile image

      Bill Holland 

      5 years ago from Olympia, WA

      What a cute ride for little kids. Looks like you had a blast there; well done and now I want to visit the Magical Kingdom.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)