ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Clinique Age Defense BB Cream SPF 30 Review

Updated on September 17, 2012
Clinique Age Defense BB Cream Broad Spectrum SPF 30
Clinique Age Defense BB Cream Broad Spectrum SPF 30

What is a BB cream?

During my quest to find the perfect makeup for extremely oily skin, I came across many products claiming to be "the best BB cream on the market." At first I knew nothing about BB creams. I didn't understand the excitement. Now, after doing a little research, I understand why so many believe BB creams are the answer to their many skin problems. Supposedly, BB creams do the work of five different products all wrapped up in one. Unfortunately, how do you know if it really works? With all the BB creams popping up on the market, how can you be sure? You take the risk and purchase one and cross your fingers it works.


History Behind BB creams

  1. BB creams became very popular during the 1980s in Japan and Korea.
  2. Initially BB creams were used to protect skin after laser procedures and surgery, while also providing light coverage. It was considered the "secret of Korean actresses."
  3. BB creams act as a moisturizer, primer, foundation and sunblock. Some also have anti-inflammatory benefits.
  4. In 2011, Western companies began developing BB creams such as Garnier, Clinique, Dior and Maybelline.


Although I wasn't ready to try every brand on the market, I was ready to try one; Clinique's Age Defense BB Cream Broad Spectrum SPF 30. Clinique products have worked well for me over the years so I trusted the brand with my oily/acne prone skin.

Clinique's BB cream only comes in three shades. Yes, that is correct, three shades. This product will not work for deeper skin tones. Here are the following shades:

  1. Shade 1- Very Fair
  2. Shade 2-Very Fair to Moderately Fair
  3. Shade 3-Moderately Fair to Medium

Complexions with very fair to pink undertones, use Shade 1. Very fair, moderately fair and golden undertones, use Shade 2. Moderately fair to medium complexions with golden undertones, use Shade 03. Usually I purchase makeup for medium/beige skin tones. Clinique's limited choices forced me to purchase Shade 3, but even that shade was too light for my slightly tanned skin. If you are considering purchasing this product I highly recommend trying the product first, especially during the summer months when you know you'll be out in the sun. I purchased Shade 3 with the intent on adding a little more blush on my cheekbones and around the edge of my face to give my features a healthy look (not a zombie look).

Clinique's BB cream does work. Even with the limited shade selection, which frustrated me at first, I can still honestly promote this product for the following reasons:

  1. Distributes well. Smooth texture. Does not dry cakey.
  2. Fragrance free. Allergy tested. Dermatologist tested.
  3. Oil-control formula.
  4. Skin looks brighter. Optics minimize wrinkles and fine lines.
  5. Prevents premature aging with SPF 30 protection.
  6. Can be used as a primer.
  7. Conceals minor skin imperfections.
  8. Evens skin tone.
  9. Will not cause acne.


However, this is not a miracle product. I received many compliments about my skin while using this cream, but I've had better results with other products for half the price, like Revlon's Colorstay Foundation. Before you consider purchasing this product, please consider:

  1. It is not a moisturizer. You will need to apply lotion to dry areas.
  2. Does not provide maximum coverage for major skin imperfections.
  3. This product is long-wearing, but not for extremely oily skin. If you have oily skin like me it will probably last 5 hours, depending on the weather and your daily activities. Five hours is a long time, but you really need makeup that lasts at least 12 hours to get you through most the day.
  4. Limited shade selection (I know, I just can't get past that).
  5. The price of this product will set you back about $37 for 1.4 oz. Seems a little steep to me.


I ended up using Clinique's BB cream for a few months, but I always added a touch of blush to minimize how pale my skin looked. I shelved the cream after my first trip to the beach. I didn't want to walk around with two different skin tones. However, I could see myself going back to this product during the winter when my oily skin is tamed by the cool breeze and my skin tone matches the shades available. I just might do that.

Conclusion: This makeup suits fair/light skin tones with a dry/normal complexion.


3 stars for Clinique Age Defense BB Cream Broad Spectrum 30

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • TeachableMoments profile imageAUTHOR

      TeachableMoments 

      6 years ago from California

      Anglnwu, thank you for taking the time to read my hub. Yes, BB creams are quite popular right now. I have read mixed reviews about Garnier's BB cream. Some people find Garnier to be too oily without enough coverage. Others like the more affordable price and believe it works well. I guess it all depends on your skin type. Perhaps I should try the product and write a review. =)

    • anglnwu profile image

      anglnwu 

      6 years ago

      I've yet to try BB cream, though it's the rage right now. Different people swore by different brands. Will be interested to know if the more affordable Garnier brand works? Thanks for sharing.

    • TeachableMoments profile imageAUTHOR

      TeachableMoments 

      6 years ago from California

      Thanks for reading my hubs! This BB cream works okay, but it is a little expensive. If you ever want to try one you may want to check out a different brand, like Maybelline or Garnier, who make BB creams and the price is more reasonable.

    • teaches12345 profile image

      Dianna Mendez 

      6 years ago

      Thanks for sharing this information on BB cream. I have not used it, but it looks like its very popular with others.

    • TeachableMoments profile imageAUTHOR

      TeachableMoments 

      6 years ago from California

      Hope it works for you. You also might want to try Revlon Colorstay Foundation. I am in love with Revlon. Just a thought...=)

    • His princesz profile image

      His princesz 

      6 years ago

      Thanks teachable! I just run out with my Maybelline BB Cream... I might try this. voted up!

    • Christine Miranda profile image

      Christine Miranda 

      6 years ago from My office.

      Good to know about the limited shade selection. For the price it is not something I would want to just "try out" to see if it worked.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)