ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Technology»
  • Computers & Software»
  • Computer Buying Guides

A Review of the In-Car Apple Siri Service

Updated on July 22, 2012

Introduction to the In-Car Apple Siri Service


It was only a matter of time before Apple would get involved in the car market. The Apple Siri service for cars is fulfilling this ambition. The brand is not showing any signs of nervousness about its popular personal assistant software which has been voice-enabled. Cars represent the future and in this review we assess how far the Apple Siri service has come and the kinds of promises that have been made on its behalf.

Specifications: The latest in-house Maps service from Apple was the precursor of something that would definitely suit a vehicle. Apple Inc. is not limited to dominating our offices and personal lives. They also want to get into our cars and show us the way to wherever we are travelling. Here are some important highlights that we picked up in this review:


  1. A free navigation feature: Have you ever imagined Apple giving you turn-by-turn instructions when you are driving? Well…that is exactly what they have done with the Siri service. Using real time traffic updates, the company has been updated to covert its information into formats that are understandable to the iPhone. For all intents and purposes you are getting a rather practical navigational device. This is in response to the popularity of the Google Inc. Android gadgets and their capabilities.
  2. Eyes-free features: Naturally road safety campaigners are concerned about the potential distraction that drivers face when they are on the road. The feature allows drivers to communicate with the Siri network. This is achieved by tapping a practical button on the steering wheel. The naysayers are already arguing that the iPhone will represent a real danger to drivers since they will be too busy trying to play with the controls. However the truth of the matter is that this is the future of driving and there is very little that they can do about it.
  3. Taking over Google Maps: At the moment Google has the edge by sheer numbers. It has a large catalog of images that were taken over the past few months and is also experienced in terms of developing navigational technology. However Apple is also responding by making the iPhone much more responsive to this specific market segment. Essentially they are ensuring that consumers are embedded deeper and deeper into their app echo system. Anything goes after you become an Apple addict.


The potential for collaborations with Apple are virtually endless. We already know that the Siri service is being extended to famous brands such as Honda, BMW, Audi, GM, Mercedes and Toyota. In the future Apple Inc. could become the sole producer of this sort of technology given the success that they have already enjoyed with the Apple iPad. The button that is proposed has another function in as much as it allows you to use the iPhone as if you were holding it in your hands. That means that you can listen to and respond to electronic text messages. It offers direct support and music access. In fact you can plan your diary in this way.

Start My Car with Apple Siri


Highlights: The ability to community with your iphone without letting go of the steering wheel is a mighty bonus. Likewise the directions are to be an essential aspect of driving in developed countries. That is why Apple is attacking this particular sector with relish. Siri and the iPhone are going to be the conduits for their takeover.

The Good: Judging from the kind of technical input that was used in the Apple iPad, it is reasonable to expect that the combination of Siri and the iPhone is going to be given high priority. That means that you can expect accurate and concise delivery of data. For drivers, this is manna from heaven.

The Bad: I am not entirely sure that the Siri service or the iPhone are going to spell the end of car entertainment/navigational systems. Apple is a long way from acquiring the kind of clout that Google enjoys in this sector. However we are of the view that the two might end up working together by producing complementary products. For example Apple could provide the iPhone and other hardware while Google delivers the information and software package. Who knows…we will have to wait and see.

Editor Rating: Based on the glorious reviews that the Apple Sir Service has received so far, it is safe to say that the iPhone is likely to transform our driving experiences. Nonetheless I would not offer it more than 3.5 stars out of 5 before seeing the real thing in action. Prototypes are all very well until they fail to deliver.

Resources:

  1. P. Gupta,” Apple's Siri gets behind the wheel. Who should worry?”, 12th Jun 2012, Reuters

Have Your Say

Would You Consider Including the In-Car Apple Sir Service if You Were Buying a New Car?

See results

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • mperrottet profile image

      Margaret Perrottet 5 years ago from Pennsauken, NJ

      Great review - voting up!

    • Johnkadu123 profile image
      Author

      Johnkadu123 5 years ago from Toronto, Canada

      Thanks for the hub. Drivers will have to be careful in as much as they are supposed to be paying attention to the phone rather than their iPhone or iPad. Perhaps the driving tests will have to be modified.

    • Johnkadu123 profile image
      Author

      Johnkadu123 5 years ago from Toronto, Canada

      Thanks for the comment Kashmir56. It remains to be seen whether users will be careful when using these facilities. In England there are very many complaints about a similar SATNAV service which routinely misleads drivers.

    • kashmir56 profile image

      Thomas Silvia 5 years ago from Massachusetts

      This is a well thought out and written hub with all great information on this technology . If it will benefit the driver and not distract him than that is something useful.

      Well done ! Vote up and more !!!

    • Johnkadu123 profile image
      Author

      Johnkadu123 5 years ago from Toronto, Canada

      Thanks for the comment tobusiness. Yes I believe that poor planning is going to be a major hindrance to the implementation of this technology. You just wait until they start having accidents everyday. That is where the authorities will kick in with their reactive policies.

    • Johnkadu123 profile image
      Author

      Johnkadu123 5 years ago from Toronto, Canada

      They said that they are trying to consider the safety of passengers but the problem is that you do get distracted by all the things on the dashboard. Of course we are hoping that it is nothing like the SatNav drama where drivers used to go straight to a ditch. Thanks for the comment tobusiness.

    • tobusiness profile image

      Jo Alexis-Hagues 5 years ago from Lincolnshire, U.K

      Technology can sometime be like a run away train.

      I believe the more gadgets they add to the dashboard, the more dangerous the road becomes, unless of course, the gadgets will do the driving and we can play games to pass the time. :-)

      A brilliant piece of work. Well written and presented. Voting up

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)