ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Apple iPad Review - The Advantages and disadvantages of the ipad

Updated on March 5, 2011

Apples New Ipad sells like crazy - But what are the iPads limitations?

User Review for the Apple Ipad with 32GB WIFI

This article is being written in hopes of educating the public about the new Apple iPad. I bought the iPad 3 days ago and have learned a lot since I took it out of the box. The primary purpose of this article is to help others decide whether the apple iPad's benefits will outweigh the costs.

Toward the end of the article I encourage readers to leave comments that will help to make this Review for the ipad as comprehensive as possible. I will approve all comments as long as they are constructive and informative, but my primary goal is to get the opinions of what other people think about the ipad.

Day 1: Bought the iPad and Opened the Box At Home

Well, I must say this was very exciting. When I went to the apple store it was very crowded and every ipad was occupied with someone playing with it. I made my way to a sales person to ask specific questions that would help me make my decision.

The questions I asked:

How would I transfer photos and music to my ipad?

For example if I used a digital camera to take a picture and wanted to transfer the picture to my iPad. Later on in april apple will be coming out with an extension that plugs into the outlet of the iPad, and from that extension you can plug in a micro SD card that holds your pictures and video. Although this is one solution, I did not want to pay for an extension for such a basic function. Luckily, you can also transfer photos or videos to iphoto on your computer and then connect your iPad to your computer, this will allow you to sync your photos and videos to your iPad. Alternatively, you could email photos to your email address and save the photos into your iPad.


How many apps are free for the iPad?

Apparently 2/3 of the apps for the iPad are free, I was told there are already 100,000 + apps out there for the ipad. However, after looking for apps to download on the iPad I have noticed that many of those apps are still in the process of being released. There are lots of apps, however I am not too confident about 100,000 that are ready for the ipad right now.

Is Typing difficult to do on the iPad?

I have tested out the iPad extensively when it comes to typing. I wanted to make sure that it would not slow down my productivity. I typed on the ipad at the store before I bought it and I have typed on it through personal use. The iPad screen is very responsive and works really well, the buttons are not too small for your fingers, and typing is relatively simple. I am happy with the typing format, the only slight downfall to typing on the ipad is the fact that you have to set it on a table to type or on your lap, alternatively you could just buy a wireless keyboard to solve that problem.

How fast is the iPad on the Internet?

The iPad does really well on the internet, I only have the WIFI version because I am usually in an area that supplies WIFI. It runs at a good speed for surfing the web, I was delighted by how easy it was to get on the internet and visit websites. The only time that it did run a little slow was on youtube, it was a high definition video and I believe that youtube's server was running slow at the time because it was a video that had gotten millions of views. Overall, I am very happy with the speed of the internet.

How Good is the Sound?

Incase you haven't held an iPad yet, let me tell you it feels small. Its very skinny, sleek and stylish. It could fit in a folder if you wanted to put it there. Nevertheless, I am satisfied with the sound quality of the iPad, it does get reasonably loud considering its size. I would describe its sound capabilities as being loud enough to irritate someone sitting at a table next to you if the iPads volume was on high.

Does the iPad have bluetooth abilities? (music etc)

The iPad does have bluetooth capabilities, my primary concern was being able to listen to my music through my ipad using bluetooth in my car. I have not tested this out yet, but I am excited to once I get the bluetooth setup in my car.

iPad Limitation - Flash video temporarily not available

I have tried watching certain videos on certain sites and sometimes the iPad will not play because I do not have flash player installed. I am sure there will be a free app for this soon, or apple will provide an update for the software that enables flash video. In my opinion, this needs to be taken care of, but after talking with a few techies I am confident that this will be resolved soon enough through a simple software update.

Battery Life

Battery Life is awesome, you can definitely get 9-11 hours with this thing. Very Impressive.  From what I hear the New iPad 2 will also get a long battery life, you can read this article if you want to learn more about the iPad 2.

Apple iPad: Steve Jobs talks about iPad

iPad Stress Test: Scratch Proof Screen

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Selen 

      3 years ago

      you're truly a good webmaster. The web site loidang velocity is incredible. It kind of feels that you're doing any distinctive trick. Furthermore, The contents are masterpiece. you have performed a great process on this topic!

    • profile image

      Heru 

      3 years ago

      That's a wise answer to a tricky quoiestn

    • mflemons profile image

      mflemons 

      6 years ago from Boston

      This is a very well-written hub, I am now following you! lol

    • imprezive00 profile image

      imprezive00 

      6 years ago from Boise, ID

      @dyamond douglas It is possible that the wifi signal is not outputting a signal that the wireless card can read. I don't know how to really explain it but certain router settings will not work with apple devices. I forget what the frequency is that won't work, I would look at the apple support pages for help with that.

    • profile image

      dyamond douglas 

      7 years ago

      Why can't I get wifi @ school where they have wifi?

    • profile image

      Prahant 

      7 years ago

      Thanks For very good review man....

      Can you please tell me wheather you can Read any PDF downloaded from internet.............

      does ipad supports reading ipad

      Please reply.

      Thanks .........

    • profile image

      Rachel 

      8 years ago

      I really like a lot of the features that come with the iPad. There are a lot of free apps and it really helps me stay connected with email and on Twitter too. I can't wait for more apps to come out that integrate social media

    • profile image

      Shelly 

      8 years ago

      I really like mine. Of course it is not a bullet proof device. But if you take good care of it like you would your laptop. It becomes a very useful tool

    • profile image

      Jake 

      8 years ago

      The man is the stress test video makes points why its isn't efficient then disproves them actually showing how great it is! The ipod seems like a good tool to have.

    • profile image

      Kim 

      8 years ago

      I was curious about what the new product Apple had out was. Thank you great hub, very informative!

    • Rose West profile image

      Rose West 

      8 years ago from Michigan

      This is a great review! It really helps to hear a first-hand experience. I was especially impressed by the battery life.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)